Career change emotions, alterations, and harvesting new materials!

DSC_0018.JPG

Dearest Needleworkers and passionate slow-fashionistas,

I am reeling emotionally, and finding my feet practically, whilst multiple changes unfold within and around me.

DSC_0008.JPG

I finally am fully, embodied-ly, acknowledging that my 'career' in Art. is not my main focus, and that I am dedicating my energies now to a) working in fabrics, b) selling my home and relocating to a more rural and natural location, and c) shifting my identity from Art-maker to Un-designer of clothing and accessories.

DSC_0009.JPG

I hadn't considered what a deep emotional release would come, from effectively putting down my paintbrushes and clarifying with my special folks that I am no longer painting full-time. You can see a video I made about this for my Patreon, here.

DSC_0010.JPG

I am planning new videos around introducing my sewing practise: the intuitive use of recycling and reconstructing natural materials into beautiful new functional, durable very special clothing items. My working tagline is 'Making Clothing Magic Again'.

DSC_0013.JPG

I worked on some small jobs throughout the week - like the above buttons and button-loops for this glorious silk embroidered top from the 50c stall... which I completed in a 3 hour session with my brilliant Hive friends over on our Co-Creation Session - join us each Wednesday if you need some company. - the post will be update with a new link, as Shani will be hosting via Zoom.

signal-2023-09-11-113044_002.jpeg

I also worked this week on another pair of knickers, which needed to be widened:

signal-2023-09-11-113044_003.jpeg

They're quite a rigid pair, with a strong elastic, and as well as having put a wee bit of weight on in recent years, they were quite tight when I bought them. At that time, I was much more tolerant of tighter undewear, but this past decade in particular, since doing a lot of pelvic healing and suchlike - I absolutely will not have any garment cut into my lymphatic system - or any other aspect of my beautifully naturally functioning bodymindspiritcosmos!

signal-2023-09-11-113044_004.jpeg

It took me AGES to find the right colour and texture of new strip of fabric to bridge where I was cutting the sides of these knickers open.

signal-2023-09-11-113044_005.jpeg

These are two strips cut from a big silk dress (always from the 50c stall!), and which are not particularly elastic, but I wanted a lovely feeling of softness of these sides - instead of seams which can nip a little.

signal-2023-09-11-113044_007.jpeg

The process of prayer, stitching, blessings and release of any energies that wanted to come out, which had been put into these knick-knacks - this was a wonderful experience.

signal-2023-09-11-113044_008.jpeg

Maybe it is part of my intense catharsis and the huge move into needlework rather than brushwork, but I loved getting really into the details: even sewing the new seam into the silk strip side of the new form, so that it would press less into my skin.

signal-2023-09-11-113044_009.jpeg

In fact; the knickers are still a tad on the tight side - so I will probably only wear them for an hour or two at a time. Often, I don't wear knickers, anyways.

signal-2023-09-11-113044_010.jpeg

I had some fun photographing them, without affecting my modesty!

signal-2023-09-11-113044_011.jpeg

I am pleased with the outcome: now I have at least two pairs of functioning knickers!! Heheheheh!

signal-2023-09-10-193155_002.jpeg

And this is the second sewing job that I am being paid for this month! Foreigners who live in this Italian town where I'm based, have been sharing word-of-mouth about my skills - and several are asking me to make alterations to their garments. Above is the dress of a good friend, who needed new buttons and button-holes, for closing the front properly.

signal-2023-09-10-193155_003.jpeg

We salvaged two smaller buttons from another of her dresses, and I moved one of the bigger buttons up from the bottom, so overall there were 3 new button-holes needed - plus some reinforcing of the original button-holes. It is very interesting how poorly-reinforced button-holes can be - even on a relatively expensive dress like this from the Amalfi Coast. Above is my hand-sewn button-hole, which should last the lifetime of the dress. When I am professional enough to be selling garments, I will be making sure that every detail is very precise and long-lasting!

Okay, I am off to finish making humous for lunch.

Many blessings indeed to you all, and I very much look forward to checking in with everyone to see what you're creating!

LovE!

Clare.signed.JPG

www.claregaiasophia.com

blockofimages.png

Sort:  

Sounds like many exciting projects ahead!!
Funny no, how we think we find "our" thing just to turn it all upside down again:) But I guess that is a wonderful (and difficult) but very exciting part about life!
Oh and I love your button holes and buttons with the slightest detail all in place!!:)
...and the way you call it: "un-designing" and "making clothes magic", wonderful!!

Thank you most sincerely for this beautiful supportive sharing dearest friend @kesityu.fashion - this buoys me as I reel some more around this huge decision - at the same time as feeling a breaking point in wanting sooo much to move house... Your great bicycle adventures have been helping me feel my way into this 'should I or shouldn't I??' dilemma! Things will be less intense once the heat of this second summer subsides... I so look forward to cosy winter days and longer walks under the lower sun... Much love and I can't wait to hear about your next leg of journey....

💛