What “KNOTS”

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Innovative, fun draping is part of the essence of fashion design. Every now and then a style surfaces that lends itself to manipulation in a way that allows designers to incorporate the idea into their own pieces; the twist knot is one such design. However, fashioning (hehe) this drape is no walk in the park. There’s a lot of information online, but none that I found actually explained effectively how to draft the pattern for this design.

Eventually, I decided to experiment, use my own knowledge of draping, and rely on logic to get the result I was looking for. I had several failed attempts (hehe), but each attempt allowed me to see the flaws in my planning, so the effort wasn’t a waste.

The first draft of the skirt had a “boomerang-shaped” side piece for the knot that bunched nastily when I threaded it through. I worked out that the piece had to be cut straight. The new straight piece worked like a charm.

The top required a lot more work. I made the top multiple times before deciding to slash and spread the pattern at the knot point and divide it along the knot line. The final result in the image below is okay, but I still want to adjust the pattern so that the neck area is less exposed and the facing doesn’t fall behind the knot (because it makes the knot a little too bulky). That said, I think I’ve achieved the “look” I’m after.

Now I think I can turn these designs into digital patterns for my pattern range. What do you think??? 🤔


Images and video are my own shot using my iPad and manipulated using InShot Video and Art Studio.

Music: Mystic
Musician: Jeff Kaale


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

It is so stylish and very flattering @itsostylish! You must have loads of patience, but the end result is so worth it, gorgeous! I love the colours you used, very pretty.

I’m so glad you like my pastel colors. I get a bunch of flack over my love of pale shades, especially pinks. Most serious designers like black and grey because those colors are dramatic. Unfortunately, I can’t change who I am and what I prefer. 🤗❤️🤗❤️💕💕💕❤️

This is so cool, @itsostylish! I wish I had your skill with fabrics and patterns. I love how these knotted garments turned out!

I’m so glad you like my crazy @jayna ❤️💕😁😁😁🤗

Ah, wonderful, a pattern you've worked out yourself - it's always nice when you get something like that right by trying it out and adapting it. Well done!

At some point I had the problem of wanting to sew something triangular into a dress and had to play origami to solve the puzzle of how to make the seams match up well and neatly (and not create super thick seams).

Here, have a look, I've started a channel where I publish my sewing projects. I'd be delighted if you took a look :)

https://www.youtube.com/@real_time_sewing

I love to fiddle and work things out. Thanks to reading ❤️💕

Wow this is so beautiful, I wish I have one and the colors are so flash, I know must have gone through a lot of stress sorry but is normal thing, I definitely love it

👍 ❤️ Upvoted ❤️ 👍

Love this look!

I actually tie an old jersey around my waist to look like this skirt :)

If you wouldn't mind dropping the link to the pattern here when it's uploaded, please?

Now you must upload images of how you tie that jersey to look like a knotted top! That’s so cool!
I assume that you’re a size small from your pics so I made a personalised PDF downloadable pattern for you. You asked for it so now I expect to see you upload a garment that you’ve made form these digital files I’ve made for you! Hehe! 😜
You sent me pics of yourself since you’re not smoking. Are you keeping it up? I haven’t had a cigarette in 42 days. Yay. I’m looking better
Here are is your pattern to download:
https://itsostylish.com/Knot/

Wave Media

Good lords and ladies, woman!!

I can't sew. Yet ;)

Actually have it on today!! :D

2 mins please

Here ya go.

Not as slick as yours 😔

But still... it covers my old ass ;)



No. I relapsed at a smoker friend's house when I stayed there for a few days. And now I gotta stop again 🙄

I havet started again with the full on though. But it does seem to accelerate...

It's better not smoking. Stick with it and marvelous. Well done!! It stinks. And it sucks.

Proud of you!!!

And look at you :)

You're beautiful ❤️💥😊

Your pattern

Wave Media

You're amazing! Thank you!!! 😀

This is a contract. You asked me to make a sewing pattern for you. I except you to make the garment and I will follow up!

Oh gods

Okay!

Let me just fix my laptop, fix my car, find steady part time work so I can be here more, finish the blanket for my daughter (yeah. I LEARNED TO KNIT!), find a new home because shit got weird here (stupid boys will be boys again), stop smoking (!!!), launch the t-shirt stall (finally), do the housework and laundry, get yoga fit again, feed the child and sort my taxes out! 😎

And then I shall learn to sew!

Hey... these would be gorgeous in a knit btw. I'd be more than happy to drop ship them for you off my website as well.

I'm really honored by your gift, you amazing woman. I've bookmarked it (twice!) because I shall use it!

And thank you :) ❤️

And I’d send you real great stock for your stall free of charge

Nope. No free rides.

When you hear more about why I think you'll understand ❤️

But thank you :)

Anytime you’d like to live in a real house and have a life let me know. You’d be welcome to

Otherwise, don’t do shit you won’t b proud of

I’m so disappointed in you

On we go.

Hope you're okay.

Why would you ask me to give you a sewing pattern that you have no way of sewing?

Loading...

oh wow, you're amazing, my Stylish. So freakin' talented!! I can't wait to meet you for real one day hehe. !LUV you 🥰💗

@samsmith1971 sent you LUV 🙂 (1/10)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Ho Ho Ho! @itsostylish, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

It's the Christmas season: give your friends a gift

Wow, I love to see step by step of sewing and arts and crafts. So talented. I just wanted to stop by say again, "Thanks for the delegation" and your support all of 2023. I truly appreciate it.

Have a good holiday and a happy, healthy, and prosperous new year. Take care.

!ALIVE
!LADY

Apophysis-XmasOrnament-2023GeneralComment2.png

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @itsostylish and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/17 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@itsostylish! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ justclickindiva. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.