Assisting A friend and teaching her how to make her first ever corset Dress.. Blessing others with our knowledge gifts and talents

in NeedleWorkMonday29 days ago (edited)
It should be a thing of joy if we are in a position to lift others up. We are all not born with the same capacity and ability, but if we make an effort to reach out, we may as well be lifting them out of their financial burden and needs.

Screenshot_20240520-125940.jpg

As a fashion designer in business, my friend @yuslove was in desperate need of how to cut and sew the recent styles in vogue. It will be one way to boost her business and draw the attention of more customers.

Screenshot_20240520-113042.jpg

But because she has not been to a fashion school before, mastering the act of corset making requires some school knowledge. This has placed a limitation on her business, and for almost two months she hasn't had anyone come to make clothes for her.

Upgrade classes for fashion school can be really expensive and some as high as a million naira if you want to learn some designing and embellishing, she cannot afford an upgrade class hence I offered to help her learn it in the simplest way possible.

I told her to get some fabrics for me to both sew and teach her how to make the simplest corset and some easy hacks to make some trendy designs. She has to acquire this knowledge if she wants to remain in the fashion business.
So today I assisted my friend and neighbor to make her first ever corset dress.


There are various unique ways to sew corsets, and she had to select from the multiple options the one that would be easy for her to replicate.

This design of corset is shown using the ready-made bra cup method.

Screenshot_20240520-112145.jpg


Screenshot_20240520-111838.jpg

For this method, we bought a ready-made bra cup in size 32 and cut the fabric piece to cover the cup with it.

Screenshot_20240520-111812.jpg

Screenshot_20240520-111911.jpg

Next, we used a different fabric to draft the remaining bodice pattern in order not to make mistakes. I had taught her how to measure the round bust circumference in the perfect way that would make it sit on the Screenshot_20240520-112043.jpg

Screenshot_20240520-112029.jpg
bra.

Screenshot_20240520-112043.jpg


Screenshot_20240520-112029.jpg

After that, the back bodice needs some lacing that will be used to create a snacking effect on the bodice. I created that and also sewed a long rope that will be used for the lacing.

Screenshot_20240520-111737.jpg

After covering the bra cup, I stitched in the side bodice occasionally, giving her some tasks to do. The lower part of the dress was a gather, which was easy to make.

Screenshot_20240520-111753.jpg

Screenshot_20240520-111548.jpg

Screenshot_20240520-111724.jpg

Then I suggested that we make a straight sleeve with an elastic band on the arms; that was done, and she was happy that at least she can now make her very own corset.

Screenshot_20240520-113149.jpg

Screenshot_20240520-113216.jpg

Then it was time to display the outfits for people passing by to see. We placed it right in front of her shop, and friends complimented the dress. After we finished sewing the dress, she told me that she had used a customer fabric for the project.

Well, I'm glad that there was not much of an error in this project, and the owner of the fabric can now have a beautiful corset dress.
But I advised her to desist from using customers fabric for practical purposes.
Some mistakes can happen to damage the cloth, and complaints from customers can place a negative reputation on her business.

Screenshot_20240520-113100.jpg

I feel fulfilled that I can help lift other people's businesses with the little skills I have learned in fashion school, which have not only been a blessing to myself but to everyone around me.

Screenshot_20240520-113042.jpg

Now I feel like having a virtual tutorial class where I can make short and simple videos for people in her category. It will help them stay abreast of the latest fashion and keep their businesses afloat.

Screenshot_20240520-113025.jpg

I love the corset dress myself, even though it doesn't fit into the big bust size of the Mannequin.

Sort:  

That’s a really cool idea to think of
I’m sure there are people who would benefit from the virtual class, should you start it.

Anyway, the dress is beautiful and I love how you took your time to explain to her and show her the best method to use as and when.

Thanks dear.
Alot of people are in dare need of an upgrade in their skills and the classes can be really expensive.

That’s really a nice idea

 29 days ago  

How nice of you to share your sewing knowledge Monica :) This dress is very, very beautiful. I love this fabric, black background and flowers is my favorite print. How nice that you managed to have a suitable design, it will surely attract interested customers. Congratulations ❣️.

Fashion upgrade classes are so damn expensive, especially when learning from very talented designers, you my friend have done well filling that want and also raising a fellow designer up. keep doing good, you are the best!

This is a beautiful model, it's good that your friend has your help and teaching, I need you to teach me🤭, well thank you for giving us the tutorial I want to try to make a corset, I hope you have a happy sewing Monday 🥰

This is so beautiful! I love the fabric, style, and skilled sewing. !BBH

@monica-ene! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (5/5)

aha the dress looks great, thanks for sharing keep up the good work.

What a pretty corset dress @monica-ene!

Thanks dear

You're most welcome :)

Precioso vestido hermoso trabajo amiga felicidades me encantó el diseño 😍🥰