No shortcut to success, Some lessons I learnt sewing a corset.

in NeedleWorkMonday9 months ago

Hello Hive

Just when I thought I was perfect with sewing corset there are just many other lessons to learn that I didn't pay attention to.
Every scrap

Screenshot_20230911-090418.png

That means that learning never ends and we have to keep practicing to get better with our skills. Corset has been the latest trend lately and I do not want to sew one that will not be fitted on a customer, I can't endure a customers drama. An unsatisfied customer can get any designer crazy.

Since I have these last scraps of fabric left, why not a little more practice. These were the last scrap of this royal blue fabric left after sewing about two outfits from it.
I am just not ready to throw away the remaining pieces.

IMG_1979.jpeg
4.jpeg]()

But if I was going to work with the remaining pieces they have become so tiny that I have to look for a design to will accommodate my bodice
And practicing a corset seem to be best idea since I get to piece the patterns to tiny pieces like this.

IMG_1986.jpeg

With the tiny paper patterns I could work with any scraps to turn it into an outfit.
After looking for a shortcut to cut and sew this thing within the shortest time possible the end justified the means, there is no shortcut to success.
I laughed at myself and how this has turned out.

I have used a stretchy fabric to sew a corset and while the normal procedure was for me to add hairstay that will make the fabric stiff instead of stretching a corset top of size 6 has stretched so much that it can fit a size 8 individual😂😂😂

IMG_1998-1.jpeg

The bust measurements has shifted from 32" to 36" with additional seam allowance,likewise the waist measurements. I was disappointed at the fabric and myself for wanting to get this done without paying proper attention.

IMG_1989.jpeg

Truly whatever is worth doing at all should be worth doing well and if I taking my time to get this done I would definitely be proud and pleased with myself by now.

IMG_1995.jpeg

Some of the lessons I have learnt and that you may find useful while sewing corsets

  • Using a stretchy fabric require that you add stay a sample of it seen below, makes a fabric stiff enough for us to sew a perfect outfit.

kool7clvhmp_1694422462867.jpg

source

  • Been mindful of the excess seam allowances and taking due diligence to follow the process.

  • Tulle next should be stretchy well, buying the right quality of fabrics and net is important.
    The tulle net has also stretched to add to the overall measurements of the outfits.

Although this bodice is still within rescue but now I have to work extra to losing the seam and sew all over again adding stay and all that is required to be done.

I love the color and fabric already and won't mind doing that but I may have to plead with my little sis to help out.
I have learnt my lesson the hard way.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 173 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @monica-ene, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

I have been seeing your posts,
You are so creative and talented
This is a beautiful one
Keep it up

Thanks dear

this is real nice artwork!

Thanks dear

Sewing corset is one thing I love but considering the different type of corset and how to go about it is my challenge, I guess I will have to come and learn from you, you've actually done a great job here dear.

It's a good thing you practice with scrap before considering sewing for a customer, I believe this can still be done in a perfect way since you've realized your mistake.

Thanks for sharing @monica-ene.

Once you are able to work with your perfect size and get it rich , it will be easy to sew for others

Just the different pattern is what is so confusing, I will surely visit you one of these days for you to put me through some of these, especially the sewing aspect.

If not for the difference in measurement, what you've sewn is really nice. I'm sure it is just a minor thing to deal with.

I can relate with you, working with stretchy fabrics is not an easy task, and concur with you, what is worth doing at all is worth doing well.

Thanks for sharing this valuable lesson with us.

Thanks for reading

You are welcome.

Congratulations @monica-ene! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 180000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 190000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The countdown to HiveFest⁸ is two weeks away - Join us and get your exclusive badge!

Sewing is one vocation that will you all type of life lessons, I can so relate with all the processes, velvet needs tough minded people, and you have done fabulously sis.

Thanks dearie 💖❤

Re: stretchy fabric meant for size 6 can fit a size 8

You made spanx! ;)

!LUV

And corsets were meant to be fitted and not this I have made 😀