Needleworkmonday: Crochet Bridal Bouquet

in NeedleWorkMonday26 days ago

1000016877.png

I used to be a big fan of parties. I like seeing people dress up, have their hair and make up done, etc. Until it was my turn to organize parties. I organized and coordinated my sister in law's 18th birthday party. I realized I have a gift for that. When I got married, I DIY-ed almost everything. The invitation, the flow and program, the coordination with the food, photography, and venue, etc. The only things I didn't do myself was being the same day coordinator and the floral arrangements.

That was such a missed opportunity to me. The floral arrangement, that is. I wish I could have created my own bridal bouquet. My sister was also married so I missed another chance at making a crochet bridal bouquet. So when I heard that one of the kids in my old neighborhood was getting married, I offered go make her bridal bouquet. She's not a kid anymore, I just still see her as that young kid who used to run around playing outside back in the day. They've all grown up already. It's making me feel so old.

1000016878.png

Anyway, since she's being the budgetarian bride and all, she was planning on making those paper flowers herself so i offered to make her crochet bridal bouquet. She can still push through with her paper flower idea with the floral arrangements in the venue. I know how it feels to be a bride and have your ideas shut down by people who aren't supposed to be involved in the planning. I didn't want her to go bridezilla on me. Luckily, she said yes.

Her motiff was blue. I already have an idea how it would look like. It's a goid thing I won kilograms of blue yarns back in 2021. I still haven't use up much of it, this is a great way of using up those yarns.

1000016880.png

Since I'll be making a lot of those rose buds, I decided I'll make the quick and easy ones. I originally thought of making the rose petal by petal, theb would stick them all up in the stem. But then the thought of having to use the glue gun over and over again already hurts my fingers so bad. So I decided on using the continuous petals design.

I made two variations. One that used trebble crochets and the other double crochets. I wanted the roses to hane ones that look abloom already, and ones that look just freshly budding.

1000016881.png

Just in case you want to make one of your own, here's the pattern:

  1. Chain a multiple of 3 then add 3 more chains if you're going to use dc's. (4 if you'll be using trc's)

  2. Dc on the 3rd chain from the hook (or trebble on the 4th chain). Chain 1, skip 1 chain, dc (or trebble) on thr next chain. Repeat until the end.

  3. This row is all dc even if you used treble crochets on the first row. Start with 3 chains turn your work. Then dc on the first chain space. Chain 1. 2dc on the same chain space. You now have 2dc, 1 ch, 2dc on the same chain space. Do that althroughout the row.

  4. This is the petal row itself. You can either use dc or trebble crochets here. Start with 1 chain, turn your work. Dc or trc 7 times on the first chain space. Chain 1, sc on the space between the 2nd and 3rd dc from the previous row. Chain 1, then 7dc again on the chain space, chain, sc. Do this until the end of the row. Fasten off.

1000016879.png

Once you're done with the crocheting part, you just have to roll the petal around the tip of the stem. Make sure that the base of the rose is flat and does not go under each time you roll it around. I had to take a lot of breaks during this part because my fingers hurt with the hot glue.

Lastly comes the most fun but really challenging part. Forming the bouquet itself. All you have to do is to form it into a ball of blue roses. I realized it was missing some accents so I decided to make those little white forget me nots and added some pearls in the middle.

When I finished the bouquet, I kept on holding it, I can't take my eyes off it. I think I'm in love, I wanna get married again. Lol. The bride will come over tomorrow to pick this up. I hope she likes it. :)

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

How cute, I would never have imagined a crocheted bridal bouquet. I loved it, and the way you put it together left me fascinated. Great job.

 25 days ago  

Thank you. I think the putting together may have consumed more time than the actual crochet itself. 😅

Not every person can do such laborious work, it takes a lot of time, a lot of hard work is done, and so many beautiful things are produced.
`___

Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!
`

 25 days ago  

Thanks for dropping by. Yep. It was challenging but seeing the outcome was so worth it.

You did a great job. Wow you’re really talented
It’s my first time seeing a crocheted bouquet and you really ate it hands down. I like it

 25 days ago  

Thank you. I saw some inspirations on pinterest and FB then I combined them all in to this one bouquet. :)

You’re welcome

 26 days ago  

oh, that is so beautiful, I really loved the blue roses. Congrats for this beautiful project.

 25 days ago  

Thank you. I was a bit skeptical with the color choice of the bride but it turned out alright. I love it too.

Crocheted bouquet for a wedding? I love the idea! So unique and the bride can keep it too! walang lanta lanta haha

 25 days ago  

Pakasal ka na ulit marse. Sabihan mo lang ako anong color. Haha

pwede nu?! pag renew namin hahaha kaka 10th lang namin last year wait tayo ulit ng 10 yrs pa hahahha

 25 days ago  

Nagrerenew pala dapat? Akala ko kasi maghaharutan na lang nang maghaharutan habambuhay. 🤣🤣🤣

huy magrenew at baka mag expire hahahaha baka kung saan na naman mapunta ung usapan na to lol

They were beautiful on you, I have always loved blue roses, but I had not seen a bouquet of blue roses crocheted like this one.❤️

😍😍😍😍
Beautiful, excellent, fantastic, I don't think I have words to describe this beauty.

back when i still didn't know crochet sis, my sister made me satin flowers for my bridal bouquet. Glad you were the one to make things in your wedding, way back in mine, I did not know a thing about it and went to the venue with just the ring. Lol. It was crazy but it was successful anyway.

Wow
I love the way you’re making me feel like having a crochet flower for my wedding😃😃
Honestly, this looks good and I really love it

What a cute wedding bouquet and i love blue color. Great job!

Me encanta, muy elegante ☺️

Wow, wow, wow, I was thinking it will become a rose flower but going through the end I discover that something more than flower and beautiful is here, I really like it and the color the most color I like, well done and more knowledge

Un precioso bouquet te felicito

They turned out extremely spectacular. The color is very vivid, and I love the design of the flowers. Thank you for sharing.

What a beautiful and original bouquet! I love that color! I think it's a great idea for making arrangements and gifts.

That's such a beautiful bouquet. I'm sure the bride would like it, especially that it's made with love and dedication. Pagawa din po kapag kinasal ako, yun lang di ko alam when, baka 10 years from now hahaha xD.

More bridal bouquet orders to come sa atin sis. hehehe. Magju June na rin at uso ang sakalan, este kasalan. 🤣 Sayang lang at nung ikinasal tayu di pa natin ito naisip gawin. Pero pwede naman magpakasal uli diba? hahaha. But I like your blue roses bridal bouquet ha, very unique talaga. And good choice rin na yang pattern sa rose ang ginamit mo sis. Pag kasi yung paisa isang petals, bumibigat kasi sya eh. LAlo na pag ganyan kadaming roses.

Anyway, job well done sis at ang galing galing mo na. 😍