#needleworkmonday | What's inspiring me right now

in NeedleWorkMonday3 months ago (edited)

IMG_1559.png

Source WiPs for the Bluff Cuff Knit-A-Long with Tribe Yarns. I love all the variations!

This all started with @gillianpearce and #the100dayproject. At first, I just liked the idea of having a target of creating something every day and then posting about it. It didn't have to be big or ambitious, just something. It looked like fun and I wanted to follow along. I had no idea of participating myself because, well, life, and several many other things going on right now.

I was intrigued and torn. I love texture and embellishment and I was mildly jealous of @gillianpearce going into her attic every day and creating with scraps and bits of pieces. (When I was volunteering in primary school one time, I was asked what activities I liked. That was easy: cutting and sticking). At the same time, although I love ornamentation, I can't have it around me: the minimalist, shake-off-every-encumbrance aspect of me starts to rear its head.

Is this a consequence of being Pisces? Two fishes tied to each other, swimming in opposite directions?

Anyway, it wasn't a big deal, I was just swimming alongside, being supportive, engaging every now and then (because I love seeing these kinds of initiatives on Hive whether I can take part or not). Until the Day there was a trip north, a lovely landscape, a conversation about travelling with materials, and I was sucked into starting to have ideas myself. Although I was in the midst of packing ready to move, I started pulling out yarns for an idea I'd had. Fortunately, they're all in one small box that I was able to easily add to the luggage.

But ignited and inspired, I started to see it all around me.

The lovely Bluff Cuff Knit-Along above and all the variations. The Stitches pattern below. It's not so much that I would make those things, those patterns, but all the ideas that flowed from them.

IMG_1565.png

Source The Stitches Sweater pattern by Kutovakika. I like the trend for text in knitting.

Tribe Yarns are also having another Knit-A-Long for the CocoKnits (seamless) method of creating a top-down jumper or cardigan. They're using a pattern called Jesse with a shawl collar and cables - it would be fascinating to knit this and learn how to incorporate the cables into the Cocoknits method.

I was taken with a different pattern though, Ruth, which appealed to the retro style I seem to have at the moment - wide-legged, high-waisted trousers and sweaters that skim your contours:

IMG_1562.jpeg

Source Ruth by Cocoknits. I'm not sure whether the edging is garter stitch or rolled stocking stitch. I did try the Cocoknits method before - it's got potential. Like the Bluff Cuff, there's plenty of room for adding your own pattern and colourwork.

I've also enjoyed watching High Fiber Knits over the past few months where Emily, the blogger, is reviewing her experience of knitting - how it's enhancing and whether it is inhibiting her style. She does a lot of research, with mood boards and yarn ideas and how what she is knitting is going to work with other things that she owns. Good for reflecting on my knitting practice.

image.png

37BCFE6A-1297-46C2-9304-E24701F93431.jpeg

Part of Needlework Monday, the community for everything needles, fibre and fabric (FAQs).

Founded by @crosheille supported by @marblely, @kattycrochet, @lauramica, @neumannsalva and @romeskie.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

the minimalist, shake-off-every-encumbrance aspect of me starts to rear its head.

Now this really made me chuckle, I am thinking of Mrs T and her crochet and wool! I mean how can a knitter/crocheter be a minimalist!

Am teasing...

@gillianpearce really is doing great!

This post reminded me we watched a youtube of Icelandic pullover knitting and how the men have their own club and how the Chinese import the icelandic wool then export the pullovers back to Iceland to be sold to unsuspecting tourists who think they are supporting Icelandic knitters!

I love that last image, how elegant it looks!

Thanks for the mention. I'm not exactly a minimalist but I really hate clutter and that has stopped me making and painting at times. I stopped buying new crafting stuff a couple of years ago, unless it is a replacement for something I've run out of, but there's still no way I can get through my stash in my lifetime.

I signed up for the100dayproject, but so far I've only got the "really we want you to subscribe and pay money are you sure you don't want to"? Does anything further come or am I outcast forever as a cheapskate?

I didn't do the payment thing. I don't even remember signing up to be honest. I just get an email once a week which I mostly skim. If you want to be an active participant with the original group I think most of the action takes place on Instagram or in Facebook groups.

Following your progress is active enough for me 😂
I left Facebook years ago, and Instagram does my head in every time I look at it. Email suits me perfectly, I unsubscribe if anyone gets too much!

I'm exactly the same. I've been posting on Instagram because I set up an account, just for #the100daysproject, with my Thursday attic art friend. She thought it would motivate her to post every day but, so far, it's mostly me doing the posting. It does my head in too so I'm going to see if she's OK with me not posting there any more. It doesn't seem to be working for her as planned.

I haven't been on Faceboook for years but I do miss the arty, crafty type groups. There was plenty to learn and share if you were in the right group. But, even if I was still on there, I wouldn't join the 100 Day ones. Way too much action for me. 😂

Amazingly, there are so many groups down here! I've discovered a new very busy art group in a nearby village. They meet every Friday for four hours and have an exhibition in the summer.

I think Icelandic knitting has registered as the knitting equivalent of a designation of controlled origin because it is so unique to a region. The combination of the breeds of sheep, the yarn - very lofty, not tightly spun - and the techniques they use mean they can knit a jumper in ten hours. As you say, there are lots of ripoffs. I went to a presentation that showed how you could tell the genuine Icelandic article from the fakes, although I guess the average purchaser wouldn't know that (I think anyone who knows a bit about knitting would, though).

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thanks for the mention Shani. I'm glad you're finding #the100dayproject inspiring. I'm not sure I'd still be at it if I didn't have you and a couple of others following along and commenting. It'shard to believe it's Day 22 today. I don't think I've ever lasted this long with any challenge I've tried.

I'm always inspired by your posts too and find myself wanting to get my knitting needles out too. Problem I have is I want to be able to do the intersting stuff you do but without the frustration of learning how to do it. :-D

I missed my knitting group today. We get together on a Monday and mainly I listen to them nattering. I like hearing all the gossip, the trials and tribulations and the occasional snippet of useful information. The venue is free, the community room over the library, I try to support it so the village keeps its library, but also I enjoy just knitting away with not much required from me.

Sorry you missed your knitting group. I think there's one at our library too. When I've more time I might go and take a peep from behind a bookcase and she who's there. 😂

These are all very complicated stitches but it's equally good that you draw inspiration from all of these beautiful works.

!BBH

Thank you 😍

@shanibeer! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (2/5)

I am finding this really inspiring and I am so sure a lot of people also will find this inspiring

I really love the inspiration and creativity behind this

Having a daily target to me seem like a guide so you will be able to know what you want to do and the limit for the day so it is a good one

This work is the most labor intensive and everything has to be done with great care otherwise when things get damaged the fabric also has to be wasted. You have worked hard to create these beautiful designs.