Travelling Books No 7 - March 2024 | Japan - Design Sources

in NeedleWorkMonday3 months ago

Sakura_and_Moss_Pink_-_桜(さくら)と芝桜(しばざくら).jpg

By TANAKA Juuyoh (田中十洋) - Sakura and Moss Pink / 桜(さくら)と芝桜(しばざくら), CC BY 2.0

I struggled with this theme, thinking that I knew nothing about Japan. I wondered about taking inspiration from Yayoi Kusama, I like her infinity reflections, but truth be told, I find her dots and colours a little bilious.

Then, in the village, as I was running some errands, I caught a glimpse of something from the corner of my eye. I didn't see it properly, but I knew without looking it was cherry blossom, the palest pink against smooth dark bark.

1024px-Cherry-Blossom-Utagawa-Hiroshige-36-Views-of-Mount_Fuji-Series-7.jpg

By Utagawa Hiroshige - Museum of Fine Arts Boston, William Sturgis Bigelow Collection. Public Domain: Wikipedia

When I got home, I settled down with a cup of tea and starting researching cherry blossom. This was the kind of image I had in my mind of Japanese art - the muted colours, sparsely drawn lines, the tension and beauty of the blossom against the sky.

100 Yen Coin Cherry Blossom.JPG

100 Yen Coin - Cherry Blossom by Misogi - Own work. Public Domain: Wikipedia.

A stylised version of blossom with petals and stamens. The single flowers seem to have five petals, these a double version with jagged edges to the petals.

Symbolism

Cherry blossoms are a frequent topic in waka composition, where they commonly symbolize impermanence.[31] Due to their characteristic of blooming en masse, cherry blossoms and are considered an enduring metaphor for the ephemeral nature of life.[32] Cherry blossoms frequently appear in Japanese art, manga, anime, and film, as well as stage set designs for musical performances. There is at least one popular folk song, originally meant for the shakuhachi (bamboo flute), titled "Sakura", in addition to several later pop songs bearing the name. The flower is also used on all manner of historical and contemporary consumer goods, including kimonos,[33] stationery,[34] and dishware.[35] Source

Impermanence, a fleeting moment of beauty and joy, uplifting after the cold weather and dreary, rain-filled days.

Samuel_Palmer_In_a_Shoreham_Garden.jpg

In a Shoreham Garden By Samuel Palmer (1820s or early 1830s). The Yorck Project (2002) 10.000 Meisterwerke der Malerei (DVD-ROM), distributed by DIRECTMEDIA Publishing GmbH. ISBN: 3936122202. Public Domain: Wikipedia

I was reminded of another treatment of, I am guessing, cherry blossom, by Samuel Palmer, a new-to-me artist that I discovered last year at the Voices in Art group. Lush, fecund, full of promise. Interesting there is a woman in the background. Lush and fleeting, wistful.

IMG_1589.jpeg

This was the blossom that caught my peripheral vision. I love cherry blossom in the Spring, great swathes of ethereal flowers, some delicate shades, others gaudy in pink, a beautiful cloud-like vision on a Spring day heralding the new year of growth.

The Travelling Books Project
The 100 Day Project

image.png

37BCFE6A-1297-46C2-9304-E24701F93431.jpeg

Part of Needlework Monday, the community for everything needles, fibre and fabric (FAQs).

Founded by @crosheille supported by @marblely, @kattycrochet, @lauramica, @neumannsalva and @romeskie.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Loving the spring 💐💘

Gladdens the heart 🌷

The first photo is a work of art.

We used to live in a city with Japanese Cherry trees and every time they would bloom the parks with them would turn into disasters of vanity as flocks of selfie obsessed, social media addicted types would congregate near the cherry blossoms and jostle for that perfect shot. Far from anything that should be celebrated it was quite sad as they cared more about their selfish image than nature's beauty.

Are you still in Toronto?

No, I moved across the country

I'm guessing Alberta? My son is in Calgary.

Wow, I moved to Calgary a couple years ago. If you ever visit let me know.

I haven't really noticed the cherry blossoms yet this year. The tree outside my window has barely started budding. The magnolia is in flower but they are smaller than usual. And, it's raining and grey again. 😪

I'm not usually that bothered by the weather but this year the gloominess just seems endless. Yesterday was sunny with blue skies and today we're back to the grey and overcast.

But, on a more postive note - I love those contrasting colours in that top picture. Soooo beautiful.

I thought that about the rain this morning, then I thought great day to stay inside and make things! Plus, porridge!

Nice reframe. 😂

Those look like Yoshino Cherry (called someiyoshino), the most popular but shortest-lived kind. Some of the varieties of cherry blossoms have already started blooming here. The Yoshino Cherry are forecast to bloom starting next weekend. I'm looking forward to it!

Yes, they are magnificent in bloom!

 3 months ago  

Hi Shani. They are very beautiful these trees, no doubt they are a great source of inspiration for anyone and the reason why many people want to visit Japan 💕.

Hello Laura 😍 They are very inspiring!

The beautiful view of the flowers and how amazing it is really looking

During winter the leaves of such trees fall and again during summer we see that they start to be beautiful.

Wow
This shows that Japan must be a very lovely place
I love all the pictures
Japan is beautiful!

I've started #the100dayproject but I'm not sure how far I'll get.
I'm planning to set things up at the weekends so I can do a bit each day. We'll see how it goes @gillianpearce 😍

I am really longing for the day I will visit Japan. It has really been a wonderful place that I have heard a lot about it