A Stylish Bow Sleeveless Flare dress

in NeedleWorkMonday26 days ago (edited)

(

Sometimes ago I posted an African kaftan dress embellished with Swarovski stones, ok there was a leftover of the fabric my client brought for me to sew
When I delivered the dress, I packaged the leftovers for her. I suggested using the remaining fabric to sew shorts for her son, she has three sons, one is a grown-up guy and her other two sons are in Primary School.

She thought for a second about it and her response was if she made shorts for the youngest, the other boy would not be happy he did not have the same shorts.
This led us to a conversation about women giving birth to girls and not only boys. She said girls have a lot of benefits than boys because the girl child helps with house chores and the like. They’re easy to control, unlike boys when you have to shout and scream before they can get things done.

My take was that for a boy child not to stress the parent there must be discipline and training at their early stage. In the long run after all the lengthy conversations. She resolved to sew the remaining fabric for a neighbour's daughter.

Since the remaining fabric is not much, I decided to sew a sleeveless flare dress for the 2-year-old girl which is so simple, easy and quick to make. When I got home, I got to my corner to quickly make the dress.

Step 1: I placed the fabric on a flat surface folded into two to mark out the chest line and the length of the dress.

After marking I cut out the front piece to cut the back piece as well.

Step 2: The blue duchess for the bow was cut as well

Step 3: I joined the front piece to the back piece through the shoulder and used blue bias tape to turn the neckline.
The tip of the armhole was stitched in with half of an inch and both sides of the dress were sewn down.
I also hem the down part all around.

Step 4: The fabric for the bow was folded into two and stitched on all sides I created a small space to be able to turn it out.
After turning it out. it was ironed and I tacked it with a needle to the front of the dress.
The dress was ironed and ready to be delivered to the owner.

I was unable to display it on a mannequin because I don’t have a kid mannequin.

Thanks for visiting my blog, feel free to comment, upvote and reblog if you find my post intriguing.

Sort:  

The dress style is beautiful, now I know what to make with a leftover ankara I just got from my most recent dress, thanks for sharing , you did a good job. Boys and girls, none are easy to take care of, let her be thankful she has energetic children 😂

Energetic children, you are very funny

The dress is beautiful, I normally love this dress, this is the flair is I love wearing my favorite outwear, so simple to wear and not being stressful, I love it

I'm elated you like it. Thanks for visiting my blog.

A simple yet classy dress, the bow is a very creative idea from you it added some perfect touch on the dress well done dear.

I'm happy you like it. Thanks for stopping by.

You welcome dear

This is a beautiful style dear