Werschetz/Versec/Vršac

I had forgotten about my own community. I can't blame others for not joining.

Have you ever visited Vrsac? I believe I have already presented a few photographs in some communities, but I have never put together a story about this place nor I had show everything I saw, and how I ended up on the streets of this lovely city.

When I was still living in the capital and needed to get away from it, I frequently traveled to the same well-known and within time dull place. But one day I woke up with the realization that I REALLY needed to go someplace; the bus was out of the question, but that's why the train is always the best idea.

One of them is Vrsac, which I only know about because of a friend who visits the Vrsac grape harvest every year.

An hour and a half on the train was enough time for me to explore everything intriguing that was within reach of my "feet."

I grabbed a cab from the station, not knowing how far it was to the city, and my first stop was the Hotel Srbija, from whose balcony you can overlook a long street lined with lovely facades.

The colors made the first impression.

Vrsac is one of the oldest cities in the South Banat region, and if you want to learn more, I can point you to Wikipedia.

There is a fountain in front of the townhouse where I noticed several people stopping for a refreshment on a hot day.

As I went away from the hotel, a majestic cathedral loomed behind me. Cathedral was, in some ways, the purpose for my visit (for some reason I adore them.)

When I found myself in front of the entryway, I almost peed.😂
(excitement, not a weak bladder)

The St. Gerhard Bishop and Martyr Catholic Church

Instantly turned myself around and headed back in the direction of this majestic beauty. The structure is so tall that it can be seen from practically every city corner.
High domes in the Gothic style dominated.

Aside from the stunning architecture, the city was formerly home to many important figures, like the famous painter Paja Jovanovic, comedian Jovan Steria Popovic, NBA player Boban Marjanovic, and many more, making it a genuinely culturally rich city.

Vrsac is actually my first contact with the Vojvodina plains, that was my first reaction during the tour. And because of everything I saw, I wanted to definitely leave the capital, I even looked at the accommodation at one moment but ended up more, more northerly.

The Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas and the nearby school share the same courtyard. The children's voices forced me to slow down, despite the fact that I was in fifth gear, trying to catch up on everything possible.

The bishop's castle is opposite the church, a majestic structure whose green roof dazzles with its brilliance, and wide, well-kept courtyards transport you to a bygone era.
Vrsac, on the other hand, reminds of a royal town.

Wines from the surrounding vineyards were served at Austrian court's tables.

Unfortunately lack of time to explore the interior of each of these attractions, so I walked in the direction of the famous city on stairs pharmacy.

Right behind the bend, I was greeted by the Romanian Orthodox Church.In addition to Serbs, Vrsac is also home for Romanians and Hungarians. I guess you could say that it is a multicultural city.

Unfortunately, I was unable to photograph the famous first city pharmacy on the stairs since it is placed on a very sharp bend, which was extremely traffic frequent at that time and every attempt I made ended in failure. The most exciting things, though, are on the inside (old small glass bottles in which medicines are packed, test tubes...). This city is also home to "Hemopharm," the nation's biggest pharmaceutical company.

What is still lacking in this post is the municipal park where I sought refuge from the sun. The notice "do not enter in case of severe wind" welcomed me at the very entrance.

I learned that the world is small a long time ago.

So, thanks to someone I met here on Hive, I learned that the wind in Vrsac can reach a speed of 150 km/h, and kids aren't going to school those days. :D

@desro ovo je za tebe ;)

Sort:  

One of the cities I have never visited... I guess the wind would make me avoid it :)

But, wow, so cool this last photo, the green house. And the bishop's castle with its green roof 💚

I would whole-heartedly recommemd, it's perfect destination fornthe daily trip and there are places I couldn't reach like Vršački breg, it offer magnificent panorama view. :)

A perfect destination for a daily trip. Hmm, I think I need a teleport or something to get there for one day :P
ok, ok , you mean when someone lives there around or comes to spend the summer ;)☀️

Exactly, when you have summer vacay tour it's worth of visiting, you can stay for longer. :D

Thank you very much for this walk through my beautiful town all the way to the Vuk Karadzic school.💨

You are most welcome, that's btw mine favorite photo from Vršac. (:

Hahhaha!

Seems like cathedral has its own 'prettier ' side for photographing. 😂

It's hard to frame it from near.
Thanks for sharing your perspective (:

Those are definitely pants-pissing cathedral towers.
Here in the states the Mormons sometimes build huge cathedrals like this but they are lacking in old world charm.

I would need a diaper there :D

I can arrange it. Just make sure you soil yourself INSIDE the church cuz that would be funnier.

You are mean girl. 😂😂😂😂

Shhhhhhh don't tell anybody!!