DIY Recycled Cozy Cabin Craft Area

in Hive Diy5 months ago

Since Christmas, I've had a large narrow box taking up space in the living room. It was the box from the bike I bought Gabby for Christmas and I knew I wanted to use the box for a DIY craft. For the last couple weeks, I've pondered what to do with the box as it got in the way while I walked through the living room.

Yesterday, school was out because of the storm and high winds. It wasn't a good day to go outside, so we needed something to do inside. I decided it was time to use the box, but was still unsure what to do with it. This project was slightly impromptu, and the ideas formed as I started creating it. I started with the idea of the table and fireplace, then the ideas began to flow. We ended up creating a cozy cabin space; one you might find in the forest. The bookshelf door also gives it a whimsical and curious quality that keeps Gabby entertained.

It's an interactive place for her to color and do crafts and I'm hoping to eventually add more elements to this project. Check out the materials and steps below:


Materials:

  • Large narrow bike box
  • Other flattened cardboard boxes (medium size)
  • 4 Paper towel rolls
  • Glue gun
  • Scissors/Knife
  • Black permanent marker
  • Pencil
  • Colorful construction paper
  • Plaid tissue paper (table cloth)
  • 1 page from a coloring book

The box

1.) I cut the two sides so the front would fold down.

Materials to make the table

2.) Table: I cut out a section of the medium cardboard box and glued the four paper towel rolls to the bottom. I used the natural flaps in the box as the folded down parts of the table.

3.) I made three cuts with the knife to create a flap for the cabinet door.

4.) I used used the knife to cut off the front side of this this smaller box that looked like it had natural "shelves" built into it.

5.) Fireplace: I used the natural folds in another section of the medium box to create a fireplace. I cut out a rectangle in the front for where the fire would be and glued the cardboard down so it pretruded out.

6.) I used pencil and then black marker to draw logs on cardboard and fire on orange construction paper. I glued them in the fireplace.

7.) Picture frame: I thought this cozy and crafty image from our Berenstain Bears coloring book matched the vibe we were trying to create, so I glued this to the wall. The edges were uneven, so I drew sticks on construction paper to frame it.

8.) I had some plaid tissue paper from a gift, so I glued it on the table for a tablecloth.

I drew books on the bookshelf, but didn't think they popped enough. So I decided to draw the books on different colors of construction paper.

9.) Garland: I drew acorns and hearts with pencil first and then traced them in marker. I punched two holes on each side to string through the twine.

10.) Candle: I traced a circle with the paper towel roll to create the top of the candle. Then I glued it onto the top and glued an orange flame to the top.

I wasn't sure what to put in the secret bookshelf 🤔

...But Gabby seemed to enjoy when I put a bunch of colorful ball-pit balls in it. They would tumble out when she opened the shelf.

My favorite thing about this is that once you take the table away, it can be folded back up so that it doesn't take up much space.

Thank you for reading my DIY blog ✂️✏️

₊˚⊹♡ Laura

Sort:  

Amazing craft i really like so much, your diy idea is great for childrens

Thank you ૮ ˶ᵔ ᵕ ᵔ˶ ა ♡

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for sharing on Twitter ⸜( ^ ᵕ ^ )⸝♡

Looks wonderful, that's a great idea !

Thank you ⸜( ^ ᵕ ^ )⸝♡

Congratulations @littlepiggies! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024