DIY Recycled Totoro Seedling Planter

in Hive Diy3 months ago

I'm excited to say my daughter is now officially a Studio Ghibli fan. Gabby has recently taken a liking to the movie Totoro, so it has been on repeat in our house lately. We've also been watching Ponyo a lot. This prompted me to start looking up Totoro crafts on Pinterest for us to do while she's sick at home the last couple days. Since I have many paper towel rolls saved, I decided to create this recycled paper towel roll craft. I decided it would be cute to turn into a starter pot for seeds. Check out the steps below to see how I made it ⬇️


Materials:

  • Paper towel/TP Roll
  • Scissors
  • Black and white paint
  • Paintbrush
  • Black Sharpie Marker
  • Soil
  • Seeds

Materials

Step 1. I mixed the black and white paint to make a grey color.

Step 2. I painted the TP roll grey and set it down to dry.

Step 3. I cut four even slits on the bottom of the roll to fold in for the bottom.

Step 4. I folded down the first flap and created a crease.

Step 5. I rotated the roll clockwise and folded down the next flap on top of the flap from Step 4.

Step 6. I rotated the roll clockwise and folded down the next flap on top of the flap from Step 5.

Step 7. I folded half of the last flap under the first flap that was folded in Step 4. (Kind of like how boxes are folded to stay shut).

Step 8. I drew ears at the top and cut around them.

Tip: As you cut down the sides from the ears, cut at a slope to create the head.

Step 9. I used white paint to draw the stomach and eyes.

Step 10. I used black Sharpie to make the stomach and eyes more neat. I drew whiskers, nose, and mouth.

Step 11. I drew the lines on Totoro's stomach with the black Sharpie.

I filled it with some dirt and a tiny plant. You can also plant seeds

Sort:  

That is a beautiful gift for Gabby. Really thoughtful

Congratulations @littlepiggies! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery

Aww so cute, no wonder your daughter likes Totoro, I love that creature, I have two stuffed animals haha it's so adorable and the Ghibli movies are beautiful, one cuter than the other.

You made a beautiful craft, the plants will be happy with that container 🌹