Some projects are better with professionals. (DIY gone wrong)

in Hive Diy20 days ago

There's this fulfillment in using an object you crafted yourself or even earning from a particular skill you are blessed with. Some of the DIY projects I have done in the past have been for personal use. Take, for instance, this yellow bag you can see in my profile picture here on Hive. I did it myself. Each time I bring it out for use, I will stare at it and just feel happy within.

There are a couple of things I have crafted myself in the past, such as a pencil holder that my kids use to date, a teddy bear, my jewelry box that serves me anytime, etc. There was a time that I didn't go a week without expressing my little creativity on one DIY project or another, but most times, I felt lazy. Some of the time I am in the mood of unleashing my creativity, I will feel like trying out everything, including the ones meant for just professionals. One such diy was a pom-pom rug I made, which lasted for only two days in my home and got scattered.

I looked at my foot mat at home and it appeared so beautiful and fluffy but quite expensive, and then I thought that my kids room needs an extra foot mat in their room, so instead of spending that much on footmat, I can get some yarn 🧶 and get to work, I thought to myself. I should have thought of how strong mine would be since I don't have a machine to sew it but just a needle and a thread before starting the project, but, I was only concerned about how to do it myself and save money. You needed to see how I was thinking of different things to use as improvise to get a pom- pom foot mat done. The first thing I did was visit the market and bought some yarn


And then, I thought of what could serve as the base of my foot mat. There's one piece of baby foam that is no longer in use in my home. I quickly grabbed it and cut it into a luv shape. Then, I realized that I couldn't sew the yarn directly on the foam but on a material. I started thinking of another improvise. This time, I visited a furniture workshop close by, and the man was kind enough to give me a little leather material after I explained to him the kind of project I was trying.


The above image is of the foam and leather material I got from the furniture workshop. At this point, I felt that I was set to produce a fluffy pom-pom foot mat, and I kicked off.

Overall, the materials I used are:
yarn🧶
cushion leather material
foam
thread
needle
scissors

I started by rolling the yarn to get different poms. At first, I did the rolling using my hand, counting 100 in each round for uniformity sake,but later I tried the rolling using an empty container.



Once I got a complete round, I tied it and kept it aside. This process continued until I got the quantity of poms I felt would be fluffy on a match. I had them cut and trimmed, ready to be fixed to my improvised base—the foam with the leather material.


Here, I started sewing the pom on the leather material.



After which, I attached the sewed pom to the improvised base and sewn it round. Actually, it was fluffy when I matched it. I was like, wow, this is it—a pom-pom rug done and dusted with my hands. Even my baby loved how soft it was when he matched it.


But then, it was the most disastrous project I have ever tried my hands on. Within two days of being used at home, the whole thing was scattered. The pom started removing one after the other until I disposed of it completely.

It was a little bit stressful to get the wrong project done. I would have saved myself the stress of doing it myself and just bought one foot mat at the market. I felt unfulfilled and lost interest in the DIY project for a long time. But on a second thought,some DIY projects are best done with a professional. For this project, a machine would have been used and by professionals instead of a needle and a thread. Overall, I got it all wrong, but I learned from my mistake.

All images are mine


This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to the #mayinleo monthly topic Day 7.Please check out the announcement post to get involved.

Thanks for reading ❤️❤️❤️

Screenshot_20240508-135522.jpg

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Wow, It's looking beautiful and I think it wasn't easy to make and you have put a lot of effort into it. I have never tried to do such kind of thing as I feel it's very difficult for me.

It wasn't easy to make and the annoying part is that I got it all wrong. Imagine spending much time on a such project, I would have saved my time instead, lolz

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

Many thanks @bhattg

@nkemakonam89, you are most welcome!

Here is !ALIVE token gift for you

I think you did a good job using your hands to this the foot mat. I dont think I would be able to do this currently. Lol, sorry it scattered but you did a good job

Haha, it scattered 🥺
Really annoying but it's fine
Thanks for visiting

You’re welcome
!BBH

@nkemakonam89! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (3/5)

A lot of wonderful art has been created. Which is a good way to keep the house clean

Indeed
Thanks for stopping by

Wow! This is beautiful...I wish I could have all the space in my head to be this creative 😂 but no, my head keeps shouting money, money, money 😂

Haha 😆😆😂
Money woman
LOLZ

indeed some diy projects are just to be done by professionals but your attempt is looking good although this was wasted after two days of use 😢.

Good to hear that it is looking good at least.. just lacked durability
Thanks for coming around

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Thanks for the curation

Asombroso trabajo, aunque en ocasiones tengamos dificultades en el proceso, podemos aprender de cada uno de los errores y seguir mejorando.

Amazing job, even if we sometimes have difficulties in the process, we can learn from each of the mistakes and keep improving.

Tu comunidad artesana ahora es testigo
Copia de Creadora de contenido.gif

That's one thing about our mistakes, it gives us an opportunity to learn
Thanks for your kind words
Gracias!!

The pom pom looks so beautiful if only it lasted, I could have tried to do mine but now I learned from your lesson as well.

Don't feel bad about it so much, sometimes we gain and other times we learn.