Chirpily and Plant Healer Hunting | Holozing Fan Art

in Holozing Community16 days ago





More and more green for the community

Hello Holozing community! I'm back! And this time there are no rookies here. Today an expert is coming to capture new Holos. That's right, I've finally painted another professional Healer, the type of Healer you'll be able to play with when the game is ready. I hope you're excited to play with this character!

Today everything is green again, as I wanted to paint Chirpily, and the Plant-type Healer is the perfect match for it. Therefore, I wanted to depict a hunting scene to capture more Holos, with the Healer ready with his capture weapon and Chirpily dominating the sky. I imagine Chirpily making sounds to indicate to the Healer what moves to make for a successful capture.

Tools:

  • Gaomon S620
  • Photoshop
  • Brushes courtesy of Imad Awan: Download here

🔰Process🔰

-Step 1:

As usual, I started with the sketch, featuring a Healer with his capture gun in the foreground and a Chirpily accompanying him from the air. However, showing only the sketch can be boring, so I'll directly show you the color palette. Once again, I've opted for green because I love how the green Healer complements the green Chirpily. However, to create contrast between them, I've chosen a background with a light blue sky so that everything isn't saturated in green tones.

-Step 2:

Despite the Healer being in the foreground, for me, the main character is Chirpily, as I wanted to make him look fabulous dominating the air. So, I went straight to painting it first. According to the composition, I couldn't give him too many details but rather paint him with darker tones that didn't contrast too much with each other, except for the edges of his wings, which needed to be well illuminated.

-Step 3:

Now it's time to work on the Healer. The first thing I focused on was his clothing. I spent a long time working on it, trying to make the folds in the sleeve of his jacket look good. I also experimented with a default texture brush in Photoshop, only to realize later that it was barely noticeable unless you zoomed in to 300%. But it's there, so you can zoom in on the jacket to see it.

Then, I finally started painting the face. However, I had to resize the head because it looked disproportionate to the body, hence the space between the clothing and his face. For his face, I had to take some photos to use as a reference. But the hardest part was achieving the color palette I desired, so I had to use the "overlay" and "soft light" blending modes to lighten and illuminate the skin, as I had been stuck in browns and greens.

-Step 4:

Something else that held my attention for a long time was the capture gun, as it needed to have a certain angle to fit into the hand grip. However, I also wanted the design to be faithful to the original, so I had to make a box to have a visual reference of the three sides of the gun that would be shown in the illustration. Then, I sketched each side following the original design and used the "vanishing point" tool to correctly fit the shape into the perspective I desired.

-Step 5:

For the final touches of the illustration, I had two options: 1- spend many hours detailing every pixel of the illustration to make it look perfect, or 2- work on good lighting to make the illustration look beautiful and thus hide imperfections. Of course, I chose the latter option, so I got to work to add more detail to the background, creating vegetation, which I then blurred. However, I paid special attention to the large rock on the left, where I showcased my collection of textured brushes. Then, I made everything look a bit brighter with the "hard light" blending mode, and finally, the pièce de résistance was the lens flare coming from Chirpily. I loved how that turned out.



Zoom


I will leave you a GIF with the whole process on it, so you can better appreciate the illustration process.



See you in a future post!

Thank You for Supporting My Artwork

▶️ TWITTER|GHOSTMARKET|TERRA|NFT SHOWROOM|INSTAGRAM|FACEBOOK ◀️

TWITTER | GHOSTMARKET |TERRA VIRTUA |NFT SHOWROOM | INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK

⬆️ Follow ⬆️