Stubborn & Furious

in Splinterlands15 days ago

Ferocity doesn't bother me much; it's a ruleset I tend to overlook, as I don't draft monsters with Taunt often. Yet, there's one exception - a set I dub my ultimate Earth pack. It's a resource-heavy setup, requiring a minimum of 46 mana, so it doesn't march to a battle as frequently as I'd like. This setup relies on a Taunting monster capable of absorbing magic blows, shielding my other creatures for a round or two. However, Ferocity renders this ultimate Earth pack vulnerable. Or does it? Can I defy reality, or at least the ruleset, and make the strategy work anyway? Perhaps in a game of skill rather than one where gameplay is immutable once your cards are submitted? Well, let's find out! Enter a taunting monster-led set that dominates the battlefield under the Ferocity ruleset.

Passing up the opportunity to draft a Gladiator when mana isn't scarce would be folly. And between the two available summoners to lead my pack, Helios Matriarch is a tad better.

Terraceus Grunt is my favored unconventional tank. Once it gets speed buffs, hitting it becomes quite the challenge. Plus, it boasts respectable HP stats, especially if I can heal it, although that wasn't the case in this battle.

Terraceus Hulk demonstrates my stubbornness. With its Taunt ability, this monster appears vulnerable under this ruleset. However, Void Armor grants it at least some chance of surviving the initial round or two.

The king of sneakers, Ketrelba Gobson, is the pivotal monster in my set. When played strategically, this monster becomes nearly invincible, cutting one throat by another, craving its way to the summoner, and, if possible, slaying them too.

Now, onto the three cards that often catch my opponents off guard. Thane Newsong buffs my melee fighters, while weapons training turns it into an elite ranged monster.

Ava the Undaunted trains my unarmed rear cards into Splinterlands' equivalents of Robin Hoods. Her stats aside, granting +3 ranged attack to surrounding monsters is even more priceless than Mastercard.

Clockwork Aide typically serves as a solid rear monster due to its armor stats. When buffed by Ava, it becomes a formidable rear tank while also speeding up my monsters.

The Battle

Deploying my ultimate Earth pack, I anticipated my opponent siding the same Splinter, likely with Obsidian in the lead. As predicted, they drafted a conventional magic-based Earth set, with Moxian Rebel buffing Ulundin Overseer as a secondary tank behind Endless Ape. A solid combination when buffed by Obsidian! However, the low-HP and slow rear monsters spelled doom for my opponent before the battle commenced.

As an experienced battle mage could tell from the initial snapshot, Ketrelba Gobson swiftly eliminated Goblin Psychic and Venari Spellsmith before they could even move. This effectively means that my opponent wasted 10 mana points on monsters that scarcely impacted the game. Besides, I rendered 5 attack points useless. From there, the battle turned into a massacre. With robust support from my ranged monsters and superior speed, I soon achieved victory, with only my taunting tank falling. A decisive triumph in just three rounds. That's somewhat uncommon for high mana cap games.

See the battle here!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I go crazy with so many cards and characters... but they are so nice to see. Congratulations. Fiercely the last shall be first. Because many are called, but few are chosen. I really like this biblical statement. 😅

Nice battle! ! !PIMP !BBH


You must be killin' it out here!
@michupa just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @godfish.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

I'm not really sure what that is, but thanks anyway :)

@godfish! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @michupa. (1/5)

Thanks :)


This post has been supported by @fallen.angels guild!
Delegate Tokens and HP to Fallen Angels to earn weekly rewards!
Delegate | Join to the guild

Thanks, guys :)

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 5% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121