Use the Forcefield

in Splinterlands16 days ago

The next Wagon Card dropped last night, and it really is pretty vile. Venka the Vile has a pretty interesting ability called "Charge" which means it is able to use Melee attack from any position, and still aim for the tank.

image.png

At L2 it gets Oppress, which can be devastating on Grimbardun Smith, and at Max, it also gets Trample, which can make the Lily GS combo look like paper, especially if leading with Akane giving Venka an Ambush, Kei with an Ambush and a shield break, and possibly a third. And then, since Kei and Venka a quite fast, it is likely they will get another hit in before any more shields go up with a repair anyway.

image.png

image.png

I got lucky with the drop this time, as I was able to score two gold foil versions out of the 21 guarantees. This gives me an L3 in gold, a max, and some extras. I would like to get a max in gold, but I think that these are going to be quite expensive for some time to come. A Max regular is renting for just under 1000 DEC at the moment.

This is a "Meta Changer" card, as while I haven't played that much today, I have used it a fair amount and it is hard to counter with regular lineups, so it takes a little more adjusting. Of course, the main counter for it is going to be Forcefield, but the cards with that ability (other than the Bear) are also not played that much, but are going to get far more play in the coming weeks across all the splinters, as Venka is a neutral. So, because of a single card, the lineups are going to get a shakeup.

The next card to come us going to be another meta shifter card, as it is the first of the Legendary Conflict Summoners, Lorkus.

image.png

It seems overpowered, with both +1 to melee and magic, plus choosing between a set of two abilities, either Life Leech + Affliction or Trample + Fury. And, as a dual splinter summoner, it can be played across Death and Fire.

I don't even know where to start thinking about the options for this card.

To secure a guarantee, it is going to take 300 chances to get one in your corner, which means that quite a lot has to go onto a wagon. As this is only the fourth card, and it looks like going incrementally up in lots of 25+ more points, which makes sense, the final print numbers might be a bit thin unless there are more Rebellion buyers coming in. Of course, the longer the Conflict runs, the less incentive there is to buy for the conflict reward cards, as both the price goes up for chances, and there are less cards to collect. However, these conflict cards do appear in packs I think.

so, with that said, Venka is on the loose and doing some damage already, and I am learning new ways that I can get trampled. I think that while not everyone is taking part in the conflicts, making sure to know what cards are out there and how they will be used, is pretty vital. I suppose that those playing more in the lower leagues without, are meeting Venka quite a lot at the moment - and wishing they had got her number instead.

Experiences so far?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I've been playing in Wild Diamond 3, and haven't faced it yet. Although I do think that it will be more common in Modern, or in Champ Wild. The Akane combo you mentioned sounds troublesome, and I can see it definitely changing the meta. I think even the level 1 card is still viable in lower leagues, so I can see it wreaking havoc there as well.

Was just having a look - the highest level for rent is an L3 at the moment - no max. Have you seen it yet?

Yeah, the yROA is at 100% though, so I doubt they will be rented at those prices.

No luck so far for me... Even got it against Smith but the other team had a triple heal which made it take too long for me to take down while my frontline was destroyed... Hope for better chances...

I think the "weirdest" way I have played it so far was in this set up - but it is very niche.

https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_66a562725cda285305f3d2485d1add67

Weird indeed! Smith still holds on until the against it!

I thought I was going to get one this time after adding another wagon, but I got nothing. I feel like I am just chasing shadows at this point.

I think the chance of getting one outside of guarantees is very slim

What's the number of points you need to be guaranteed one?

Peace
Splinterlands mid-season has impacted win rates of many Splinters. I have been negatively affected, but I am in Diamond league I so early in the season. Are you closer to your targeted League in this season?
Thank you for your publication and important tips shared in the community.
Conflict Wagon Cards rewards are out, successful mining if you entered the Lorkus Special summoner challenge.
!PIZZA
#freecompliments
Regards

Are you closer to your targeted League in this season?

Closer, but not there yet. I don't know why I can't keep a decent winrate.

The opponents are getting better
Perhaps our strategies need an upgrade
Peace

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@oadissin(11/15) tipped @tarazkp