A really strange battle!

in Splinterlands7 months ago

No Melee, and only 14 Mana... what to do?

"Units with the Opportunity ability may attack from any position and will target the enemy unit with the lowest health." So of course I thought that meant any unit, from any position. Like... Great, then I can put Lira the Dark up front, and she'll target the small stuff!

Nope. A ranged unit put at front without the Close Range ability will apparently not attack anything at all, despite what other abilities it may have.

My opponent had summoned up a scary 12 health Wave Brood backed up by a Merdali Guardian with Tank Heal. If the Opportunity rule had worked as I thought, that healer would have been gone quite soon, an then I would have been able to slowly chip away the Wave Brood's health. But I'm not sure that would have been enough.

I wasn't even thinking about Lira's high speed helping to avoid attacks when I put her there, but that made her survive long enough for my Venari Bonesmith to score some damage and raise his health with Life Leech, while my opponent's front unit kept losing 1 health, and get healed the same 1 health, every round.

And then... Fatigue. I'm not sure I ever encountered that before, but it was really helpful! First it eliminated the healer, and of course also my Furious Chicken who'd done nothing useful at all anyway. Then it slowly wore down the Wave Brood. Close call!

https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_dcba74783daefc3e97ae813ec8876780&ref=treefrognada

Sort:  

Congratulations @treefrognada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the November edition of the Hive Power Up Month!