Melee Mayhem in this weeks Battle Mage Secrets.

in Splinterlands9 months ago

image.png

The Challenge

The ruleset for this weeks Battle Mage Secrets challenge is Melee Mayhem.

In the Melee Mayhem ruleset, units that have melee attack style can attack from any positions opposed to just being able to attack from the 1st postion (Unless they had sneak, reach or opportunity)

image.png

My Battle

Setting:

  • Fire, Water & Life Splinters were available
  • 24 Manacap
  • Melee Mayhem ruleset
    image.png

Strategy:
Even though we were only given 24 mana, I still decided to spend extra 2 mana on using Franz Ruffmane as my summoner to get access to gladiator cards.

Seeing the the decently low manacap I decided I want to play a defensive game with Taunt monster in front and Healers and Repairers behind him.

Even though Melee Mayhem was the ruleset, I was still confident I could outheal my Taunt monster while chipping away at the enemy with lower dmg.

My taunt monster had +2 armor repair and +6 healing from behind for a total of +8 back every round.
Also my monsters were dealing 4 dmg to the enemies every round.

The Battle

After loading in I was instantly worried, because quick maths in my head told me that the opponent will be dealing 9 dmg to me every round and I was only healing 8 back every round.

Also he was healing +4 every round on his front monster and I was only dealing 4 dmg aswell.

Things were not looking good

image.png

By round 5 I could see that this game was going to round 20, because nothing was changing.
While the opponent did deal 9 dmg against my healing of 8, the armor repair meant that he was losing 1 attack point each round.

You see my Taunt monster gained 2 armor every round and the opponents fastest monster was the one dealing 3 dmg, every time the 3 dmg monster hit the 2 armor off my Taunt card, 1 dmg was lost into oblivion.

image.png

Normally I would just skip to the result screen, but for the sake of the challenge I wanted to see what happened past round 20
image.png

Firstly fatigue killed my repair guy
image.png

Then half of enemies team fell, but the HP points across the board were looking really bad
image.png

And finally by a miracle my Venari Crystalsmith healed herself to 4 hp and when the -3 Fatigue came, she was the only one to survive that, getting me the very close win.
image.png

Battle Replay Link

Victory!

image.png

Thanks for reading Splinterlands Challenge post.

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord