Smithys Bullion : Sand Casted Silver

Once a Silver Artisan masters the basic pouring of silver into re-usable molds, the next logical step is to try some Sand Cast Pours. This is where you impression sand with the object you want to pour so as to make the sand into a single use mold. It's relatively cheap way to take the next step, but there is an art to it and technique is important. As part of my short series about Smithys Bullion today I wanted to show you some of his Sand Casted Silver.

First up are these little beauties. 5.6 and 5.7 oz each these Bolts come up very nice in the finish but it took a bit of work to get them into this state.

These bolts were done with a closed cast (sand on both sides) and you can see how rough they were when they first came out. It took a lot of extra work to get these bolts looking schmick. Here's what Smithy had to say about sand casting in general :-

Not only do I lose silver with the melt but sand cast pieces leave a rough surface to the piece which has to be sanded back to leave a nice clean surface for my stamping, which loses more silver.

Next up are the Viking and the Wolf that were open cast (sand on only one side) and these bad boys look very sexy. The toning on the Wolf piece gives it a nice funky finish.

This Kombi is another open sand cast weighing in at a chunky 8 oz. If you know a nomad stacker this one would make a great gift.

Finally these Horseshoes are 4 oz each and they were also open sand casts. Horseshoes are generally lucky and if they're made of silver then they're probably even more-so. I'd be hanging these on the wall of my office for sure.

Sort:  

I could guess that it would be a challenge to make matched set of nuts to go with the bolts?

It would be very tricky to get the threads to match.

Those are really cool pieces. Yes you lose silver on every sand casted piece. My guess is about 10% of your start weight.

Great stuff! Love the horseshoes!

I'm loving the look of that wolf piece with the toning!

!BBH
!PIZZA
!LUV

buggedout, bulliontools sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@buggedout! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (1/20)

You ain't screwing around with your precious metal posts recently 🤣 !BBH !LOL !ALIVE

@buggedout! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (7/50)

@buggedout! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ bitcoinman. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I wish I could clean mirrors for a living.
It's just something I can see myself doing.

Credit: reddit
@buggedout, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bitcoinman

(5/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Nice!!!

!hiqvote

This is my first time seeing sand casted silver
It looks nice and valuable though

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@bulliontools(1/5) tipped @buggedout

@trumpman, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @buggedout gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻