Buying Gold is it worth it? My Gold Buffalo purchase

I will start off by saying that I am no expert when it comes to investing. Over time I have purchase gold, silver, and platnium. Most are coins but I also have purchased a few silver ten ounce bars.

In this post I will talk about one of my favorite purchases which is a 2006 Gold Buffalo graded by NGC as MS70.

As a child I loved the Indian head buffalo nickels which were produced by the United States Mints from 1913-1938 with the exception of 1922, 1932, and 1933 when no nickels were produced. I collected many over the years but all of them seemed to be very worn and the design hard to see. In 2006 I heard the United States government was going to release a 24 karat gold $50 gold piece that weighed one troy ounce, and used a desin similar to the original buffalo nickels. The release finally came and I was so excited about seeing the design, I had to have one.

2006 was important to me as I was graduating from a trade school and figured I would purchase one of these beautiful coins for myself as a graduation gift. I watched as the coins where released and found this first strike ms-70 coin for sale for about $610. At the time it seemed a little steep but gold prices were about $575 an ounce at the time. They always say gold goes up and in this case almost 20 years later these coins are going for about $2,400 so I would say that it was a good investment and gold did seem to keep going up.

I have recently purchased Goldback bills and here are a few of the one Goldback bills I have.

I tried getting a few different angles of the Goldbacks because they are beautiful and so shiny but the pictures don't do them justice.

I learned about Goldbacks from a post I read from @bulliontools where he gives them away in a lottery. His pictures are a little better of how nice these really are.

Goldbacks are a bill that is printed with gold instead of having the gold back the money as United States Money used to be these have the gold backing them in each bill.

If you interested in theses go to goldback.com or check your favorite bullion site. The one thing I like about these is that to buy a gold coin will cost over $100 for the smallest of coins. The Goldbacks can be purchase as a single Goldback for under $5. You can purchase Goldbacks in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25, or 50.

So if your interested in buying gold and worried that it will not go up in value I felt the same way buying my first gold coins. If the gold coins seem a little to expensive to start out maybe the Goldback bills are the way to go. The Goldbacks are new and have only been around a few years so we will have to see how the return on them is over the coming years.

Thanks for reading and hope you have a great holiday season.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I started (big) in 2014 with a ot of gold and some silver. The gold doubled and the silver did nothing.............

yes but in early 2000's I was buying silver eagles for $12-$15 a piece and now they are in the $30's. So in time I would expect silver to keep going so don't lose hope.

!PGM
!BBH

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


I'd be happy with just a BU gold Buffalo. I love the Goldbacks and I have only one as they are not common up here in Canada but I know what you mean. Welcome to #silvergoldstackers @scoutroc

Thank you
!BBH
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@kerrislravenhill! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @scoutroc. (1/1)

I love goldbacks. As far as an investment they are not great but I just love the artwork and the thin sheet of gold is amazing!

Yeah I'm not sure about them yet but looking at the chart of how much one Goldback is going for compared to when they first came out it has gone up. I do agree right now they are not that great of an investment but over time who knows.


image from goldbacks.com

!PGM
!BEER
!BBH

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 3

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444



Hey @summertooth, here is a little bit of BEER from @scoutroc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations on all that gold! Yeah, it's hard to get the right lighting on those goldbacks. They're amazing to look at in-person!

!DHEDGE
!BBH

Love gold buffaloes nice pick up.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @bulliontools! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo

@bulliontools has 3 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Congratulations @scoutroc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024