A Fairytale Ancient City: Agora - Masal Gibi Bir Antik Kent: Agora [EN-TR]

in Trliste8 months ago

Hello fellow readers, I hope you are having a wonderful day. Today I will share with you the Agora Ancient City, one of the most beautiful places I have visited in Izmir. You will see why I wrote a place like a fairy tale in the title.


As soon as we enter, we are greeted by a huge sign telling us about Alexander the Great's dream. The foundation of this place is described in the travel book written by Pauasanias. While Alexander was sleeping under a tree on his return from a hunt, he had a dream that he had to build a city here, so the people of Izmir asked Apollo whether a new city should be built here. Apollo said that the people living here would be 4 times happier than those living in Izmir. So they started to build this new city.


The ancient city looks very imposing both from outside and inside. I got excited as soon as I entered because it has the air of a kingdom. Don't look at the fact that it looks closed and impenetrable, we will soon enter this kingdom.


When I went down the stairs and went inside, I admired the architecture. People in ancient times were as successful in architecture as they are today. They built incredible buildings with huge stones. Like everywhere I go, I could not stop thinking: How long did it take them to build this place?


Think of it as a grand hall. The king and queen pass through here to go to eat. The person in the photo is my brother :P Ever since I posted him on Hive people have been saying he doesn't look like me, but I guess he got the blonde gene in our family. Anyway, let's keep imagining, the little prince drinking from the flowing fountain...


Another picture of him, yes I swear he is my brother haha. I loved spending time with him here and since there were very few people we could explore everywhere very easily. I don't know why there were so few people, I expected there to be more because after a few photos you will be shocked by the sights you see. I know I am raising expectations but it will be worth it.


This is how water is distributed in this building, through this water channel. I hope you like this photo because it took me a few minutes to take it. When we searched the Agora on the internet we saw this exact photo and I claimed I could take a better one but my brother said I couldn't. In the end he agreed that I had taken a better shot. What do you think 📸


We'll be with you in a bit buddy. Just keep waiting, like you have been doing for 2000 years!


There was a place like this that we couldn't get into. I took a picture of it, I understand there are sculptures inside, but we can't see it at the moment because they are still working on it.


By the way, it's like a maze inside, if you're not careful you can get lost. I'm not kidding, my brother left me for a while and couldn't find where to go. Luckily he called out to me and I found him because he didn't go far. As you can see, there are little windows next to the ceilings but they are covered. I don't know why they did that.


And here we are up there! You can watch the people walking around down here and you can see what a labyrinth it is inside. Just be careful and don't fall down, so you better not get too close to the edge. If you noticed the rainbow in this photo, write about it in the comments.


The view from up there was perfect, I took some great photos between this huge pillar. I liked them so much that I shared them on Instagram. I had to do the same for my brother. This is the duty of every brother. However, while I take great pictures of him, he is not really very good at it. Look at the great photo I took of him with his sunglasses between the columns!


See how beautiful the view looks from here. I know we weren't very high up, but it felt like we were really high up. The clouds and the sky were also great for taking pictures. And I realized that there were more people here. The gentleman on the right in the photo was trying to take a picture of his wife. Then they asked me and I took a photo of them together. I hope they didn't delete the photo when they got home.


The place with the Turkish flag and the castle you see above is formerly known as Pagos, the place where Apollo told people to build a city at the beginning of my post. Its current name is Kadifekale. I captured a perfect view by framing that place too. I am proud of myself.


My brother wanted to pose like this while I was walking among the statues in the previous photo. Normally this statue is held by the columns on its side but from my angle it looks like my brother is lifting it haha. I did the same pose but it didn't turn out very well so I'll keep it to myself.


Let's take a closer look at the statues. A lot of columns were lying on the ground. They will probably be exhibited in a museum later. I saw and examined a lot of statues. They have great carvings. Some of them are whole pieces, but some are parts of other statues.


There were tombstones and graves at the back. You might think that the graves are old, but strangely they are graves from the Ottoman period. Most of them belong to important people.


I also saw this cat there, he looked very angry. I wanted to pet it and take some pictures of it. It ignored me and kept walking towards what it was focused on. There were a lot of bees there, maybe it was following one of them. I watched it for a while but it just walked straight ahead 😅


We couldn't leave without taking some pictures on the lion road next to us. We got some great pictures. Have you seen the one of me in sunglasses? This photo actually has a funny story. The glasses belong to my brother and they are for him because he is both nearsighted and astigmatic. I put them on and as soon as I opened my eyes, I felt nauseous because everything was so blurry. So I had my eyes closed while my brother was taking the photo. But he didn't know what I looked like because he didn't have glasses and I was looking at random places in the photos instead of the camera. It doesn't look too bad, fortunately 🤣


I took a few more pictures of the view before I left. It was absolutely stunning.


And this sweetie was sleeping there while I was taking the photo. I couldn't miss it, I took the photo very quietly and carefully because a dog was sleeping very close by. I wouldn't want it to wake up and chase the cat.


On my way out I saw an old friend of mine there and I took a photo. After a friendly chat I got up from him. We missed each other 😂 Joking aside, he was important but I can't remember who he was now.


Just as we were leaving, we decided to take a look at the souvenir shop at the request of my brother. There are some nice things inside. Sculptures, weavings, cups and more. I didn't prefer it because the prices were a bit expensive for me but people were really interested.

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you liked it. I think Agora is a place that everyone should visit in Izmir. If you have been here before, you can share your thoughts in the comments. Take care and have a great day!

TR

Merhabalar dostlarım, umarım harika bir gün geçiriyorsunuzdur. Bugün sizlerle İzmir'de gittiğim en güzel birkaç yerden biri olan Agora Antik Kenti'ni paylaşacağım. Neden başlıkta masal gibi bir yer yazdığımı göreceksiniz.


İçeri girer girmez bizi Büyük İskender'in rüyasını anlatan devasa bir tabela karşılıyor. Pauasanias'ın yazdığı gezi kitabında buranın kuruluşu anlatılmış. İskender bir av dönüşünde bir ağacın altında uyurken buraya bir şehir kurması gerektiğine dair bir rüya görüyor ve bunun üzerine İzmir'liler Apollon'a buraya yeni bir şehir kurulup kurulmaması gerektiğini soruyor. Apollon da burada yaşayan insanların İzmir'de yaşayanlardan 4 kat daha mutlu olacağını söylüyor. Böylece burayı inşa etmeye başlıyorlar.


Antik kent dışarıdan da içeriden de çok heybetli görünüyor. İçeri girer girmez heyecanlandım çünkü bir krallık havası var. Etrafının kapalı ve girilemez gibi göründüğüne bakmayın, birazdan bu krallığın içine gireceğiz.


Merdivenlerden inip içeri girince mimariye hayran kaldım. Eski çağlarda insanlar mimari konusunda en az günümüzdeki kadar başarılılar. Devasa taşlarla inanılmaz binalar inşa etmişler. Gittiğim her yerde olduğu gibi burada da düşünmeden edemedim. Acaba burayı inşa etmeleri ne kadar sürdü?


Burayı görkemli bir hol olarak düşünün. Kral ve kraliçe yemek yemeye gitmek için buradan geçiyor. Fotoğraftaki kişi benim kardeşim :P Onu Hive'da paylaştığımdan beri insanlar bana benzemediğini söylüyor ama sanırım ailemizdeki sarışın geni o kapmış. Neyse hayal etmeye devam edelim, küçük prens akan çeşmeden kana kana su içiyor...


Bir başka fotoğrafı, evet yemin ederim benim kardeşim haha. Burada onunla zaman geçirmeyi çok sevdim. Üstelik çok az insan olduğu için her yeri çok rahat inceleyebildik. Neden bu kadar az insan vardı bilmiyorum, daha çok olmasını beklerdim çünkü birkaç fotoğraf sonra gördüğünüz manzaralar sizi şok edecek. Beklentileri yükselttiğimi biliyorum ama buna değecek.


İşte bu binada su bu şekilde dağıtılıyormuş, bu su kanalı sayesinde. Umarım bu fotoğrafı beğenmişsinizdir çünkü bunu çekmem birkaç dakikamı aldı. Agora'yı internetten araştırdığımızda bu fotoğrafın aynısını gördük ve ben daha iyisini çekebileceğimi iddia ettim ama kardeşim yapamayacağımı söyledi. Son noktada benim daha iyi bir çekim yaptığımı kabul etti. Siz ne düşünüyorsunuz 📸


Birazdan yanına geleceğiz dostum. Sadece beklemeye devam et, 2000 yıldır yaptığın gibi!


İçeri giremediğimiz böyle bir yer vardı. Bir fotoğrafını çektim, anladığım kadarıyla içeride heykeller var ama üzerinde çalışmaya devam ettikleri için şu anda orayı göremiyoruz.


Bu arada içerisi labirent gibi, eğer dikkatli olmazsanız kaybolabilirsiniz. Şaka yapmıyorum kardeşim bir süreliğine yanımdan ayrıldı ve nereye gideceğini bulamadı. Neyse ki bana seslendi ve çok uzaklaşmadığı için onu buldum. Gördüğünüz gibi tavanların yanında ufak pencere gibi şeyler var ancak kapatılmışlar. Bunu neden yaptıklarını bilmiyorum.


Ve işte yukarıdayız! Aşağıda dolaşan insanları buradan seyredebilirsiniz ve içerinin nasıl bir labirent gibi olduğunu da. Sadece dikkatli olun ve aşağıya düşmeyin, bu yüzden kenara çok yaklaşmasanız iyi olur. Bu fotoğraftaki gök kuşağını fark edebildiyseniz yoruma bunu yazın.


Yukarıda manzara mükemmeldi, bu devasa sütunun arasında birkaç harika fotoğraf çektim. Fotoğrafları o kadar beğendim ki İnstagram'da paylaştım. Kardeşim için de aynısını yapmam gerekiyordu. Bu her abinin görevidir. Ne var ki ben onun harika fotoğraflarını çekerken o bu konuda gerçekten çok da başarılı değil. Sütunların arasında güneş gözlüğüyle çektiğim harika fotoğrafına bakın!


Manzaranın ne kadar güzel göründüğüne bir de buradan bakın. Çok yüksekte olmadığımızı biliyorum ama gerçekten yüksekteymiş gibi hissediyordum. Bulutlar ve gökyüzü de fotoğraf çekmek için harikaydı. Ve fark ettim ki burada daha çok insan vardı. Fotoğrafta sağda duran beyefendi eşinin fotoğrafını çekmeye çalışıyordu. Daha sonra benden rica ettiler ve ikisinin birlikte fotoğrafını çektim. Umarım eve gidince fotoğrafı silmemişlerdir.


Yukarıda gördüğünüz Türk bayrağı ve kale olan yer eski adıyla Pagos. Yani postumun başında Apollon'un insanlara şehir kurmasını söylediği yer. Şimdiki adı ise Kadifekale. Orayı da kadraja alarak mükemmel bir manzara yakalamışım. Kendimle gurur duyuyorum.


Bir önceki fotoğraftaki heykellerin arasında dolaşırken kardeşim böyle bir poz vermek istedi. Normalde bu heykel yan tarafındaki sütunlar tarafından tutuluyor ama çekim açımdan sanki kardeşim onu kaldırıyormuş gibi haha. Aynı pozu ben de verdim ama pek iyi çıkmamışım bu yüzden onu kendime saklayacağım.


Hadi heykellere yakından bakalım. Bir sürü sütun yerde yatıyordu. Muhtemelen bunlar daha sonra bir müzede sergilenecekler. Bir sürü heykeli gördüm ve inceledim. Harika işlemelere sahipler. Bazıları bütün bir parça ama bazıları da başka heykellerin parçaları.


Arka tarafta mezar taşları ve mezarlar vardı. Mezarların eski olduğunu düşünüyor olabilirsiniz ama garip bir şekilde Osmanlı döneminden kalma mezarlar. Birçoğu önemli kişilere ait.


Bu kediyi de orada gördüm, çok sinirli görünüyordu. Onu sevmek ve birkaç fotoğrafını çekmek istedim. Beni hiç umursamadı ve odaklandığı şeye doğru yürümeye devam etti. Orada çok fazla arı vardı, belki de onlardan birini takip ediyordu. Bir süre onu izledim ama sadece dümdüz yürüdü 😅


Yan tarafımızdaki aslanlı yolda fotoğraf çekmeden oradan ayrılamazdık. Birkaç tane harika fotoğrafımız var. Benim güneş gözlüklü fotoğrafımı gördünüz mü? Bu fotoğrafın aslında komik bir hikayesi var. Gözlük kardeşime ait ve hem miyop hem de astigmat olduğu için ona göre bir gözlük. Ben gözlüğü taktım ve gözlerimi açtığım anda midem bulandı çünkü her şey çok bulanıktı. Bu yüzden kardeşim fotoğrafı çekerken gözlerim kapalıydı. Ama o da gözlükleri olmadığı için benim nasıl göründüğümü bilmiyordu ve ben fotoğraflarda kamera yerine rastgele bir yerlere bakmışım. Çok kötü görünmüyor neyse ki 🤣


Çıkmadan önce manzaranın birkaç fotoğrafını daha çektim. Kesinlikle çok etkileyiciydi.


Ve bu tatlılık da fotoğraf çekerken orada uyuyordu. Bunu kaçıramazdım, fotoğrafı çok sessiz ve dikkatli bir şekilde çektim çünkü bir köpek çok yakında uyuyordu. Uyanıp kediyi kovalamasını istemem.


Çıkarken orada eski bir dostumu gördüm ve fotoğraf çektim. Samimi bir sohbetten sonra yanından kalktım. Birbirimizi özlemişiz 😂 Şaka bir yana önemli biriydi ama kim olduğunu şu anda hatırlayamıyorum.


Tam ayrılırken kardeşimin isteğiyle hediyelik eşya dükkanına da bir göz atmaya karar verdik. İçeride güzel şeyler var. Heykeller, dokumalar, bardaklar ve daha fazlası. Fiyatları bana biraz pahalı geldiği için ben tercih etmedim ama insanlar gerçekten ilgi gösteriyordu.

Okuduğunuz için çok teşekkür ederim, umarım beğenmişsinizdir. Agora bence İzmir'de herkesin ziyaret etmesi gereken bir yer. Buraya daha önce geldiyseniz yorumlarda düşüncelerinizi paylaşabilirsiniz. Kendinize iyi bakın ve harika bir gün geçirin!

Sort:  

Dude Woaaah! What beautiful pictures, 😱 I love those places that hold so much history, it must be incredible to be there, unfortunately on this side of the world we don't have ruins of that kind, only some castles that I assume have less age than that.

I must tell you that I died laughing with that picture you describe where neither you see your brother, because of the magnifying glasses, he doesnt see you either hahaha, how funny you are, all for looking interesting with the glasses, men and their stuff! 😅

Certainly you and yu brother look almost nothing alike, but in dress you do look a bit alike, so you probably share personalities and tastes and that is harder to share between siblings.

I loved the pictures so much, I can barely photograph my dog 🥹, but lately I'm making more of an effort to learn, I hope I can go on a tour of Agora sometime.

Keep having fun and taking beautiful pictures. Best regards.💞

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment, it was really beautiful, one of my favorite places to visit. I would even say the best. I hope you can visit one day.

Yes, my brother and I are nothing alike, everyone talks about it but he really is my brother :D We enjoy traveling and having fun as much as we can and I hope we can continue like this.

I think photography is something that can be improved with practice and you can improve yourself in this way.

Son noktada benim daha iyi bir çekim yaptığımı kabul etti. Siz ne düşünüyorsunuz 📸

Kesinlikle bayıldım. Eğer ben de orada olsaydım tıpatıp aynı pozlama ile birlikte fotoğraf çekerdim ki bütün antik kent içerisinde çektiğin fotoğraflar ile tekrar gitmiş kadar oldum.

Gördüğünüz gibi tavanların yanında ufak pencere gibi şeyler var ancak kapatılmışlar. Bunu neden yaptıklarını bilmiyorum.

Büyük ihtimalle hayvanlar girmesin diyedir fakat restorasyon ekipleri genelde yeterince bilgili olmadığından dolayı "Burası da esiyor ya! Belim tutuldu." diyerek kapatılmak istenilene de şahit oldum. (bknz; Ayasofya)

Bu fotoğraftaki gök kuşağını fark edebildiyseniz yoruma bunu yazın.

Güzel bir mercek yansıması olmuş gerçekten. Bayılıyorum çektiğim fotoğraflarda bu tarz kaymalar olunca. Bir de "exposure" ile oynarken çok oluyor bu.

Bence harika bir gezi olmuş, elbette kardeşler arası tartışmalar çıkmıştır diye düşünüyorum 🤣 ama buradan harika görünüyor. Detaylı çekimlerin sağ olsun harika bilgiler edindim ve hatırladım. Kendimi bir anda ders işliyormuş gibi hissettim ki bu da çok güzel geldi. Ellerine, ayaklarına sağlık 🌠

Beğenmenize çok sevindim, tarihi yerlere gitmeye bayılıyorum ve sadece görmeyi değil okuyup öğrenmeyi ve bunu sizlerle paylaşmayı da çok seviyorum. Hive'da en sevdiğim birkaç şeyden biri olabilir. Kardeşimle tartışmalarımız sadece fotoğrafımı güzel çekemediği için oldu.

Restorasyon konusunda kötü bir ülkeyiz ve umarım tekrar üst seviyeye gelebiliriz. Türkiye tarih boyunca mimaride hep başarılı oldu.

Gerçekten çok büyüleyici bir çarşı yeri. Normalde antik kentlerde bir agora bölümü olur, burası başlı başına kocaman bir ticaret merkezi. Kimbilir ne ticaretler dönmüş, ne köleler, gladyatörler satılmış buralarda.

Etkileyici yapılar ve kemerler. Onca depremden sonra bile ne kadar güzeller. Romalılar bu işi biliyordu gerçekten. Sadece fotoğraf çekmek için bile gidilir bu kentlere. Fotoğraflar çok güzel. Kardeşinin taşı kaldırdığı fotoğraf çok güzel çıkmış. 😀Kemerli bölüm ve portikonun sütunu da güzel çıkmış. İnternetteki fotoğrafını bilmiyorum ama ayrı bir havası var.

Bunun birebir aynısı internetteki fotoğraf 😀 Bundan yola çıkabilirsin yani :D

Ben de buraları gezdikçe aynı hayalleri kuruyorum. Burada ne ticaretler dönmüştür neler yapılmıştır neler. Kesinlikle herkese bir kere de olsa gidip görmesini tavsiye ederim. Umarım Türkiye'deki bütün tarihi yerleri bu şekilde gezebilirim.

Very nice ancient city!
!PIMP
!discovery 35


You must be killin' it out here!
@libertycrypto27 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @incublus.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thanks for your support man, yeah it was very nice to visit there. I guess discovery didn't work but no problem :)

Great photos, I would like to one day be able to visit some abandoned ruins or something similar to that, maybe what I have at my disposal are abandoned houses, or visited by rats haha.

Yours sounds interesting too, I hope you visit a place like this one day my friend. It's great to live history.

Those are some amazing places in your pictures. And your whole article just makes me regret the fact that I have finished 9 months of a job contract in Europe and came back to the US, but didn't manage to have some free time to visit more of it...

Come visit us next time you're here, my friend! Time goes by really fast and years go by before you know it.

Indeed, time is so sneaky. I shall pass by if I will have the possibility to come to Europe again. Thank you for the invitation!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2032.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hey @ybanezkim26 Thank you so much for choosing my post. Have a nice day :)

Agora Antik Kenti en çok gitmek istediğim yerlerden birisi. O kadar çok fotoğraf var ki gezmiş kadar oldum diyebilirim.
Çok güzel ve yaratıcı bir içerik olmuş fotoğraf pozları açısından. 😀

Buradaki fotoğraflar benim şaheserim olabilir. İyi iş çıkardığımı düşünüyorum, manzara olarak da kardeşimin fotoğrafını çekme konusunda da. Sanırım kendimi geliştiriyorum.

Hmm düşündüm de fotoğraf çekmek konusunda zaten iyiydin ama şimdi çok daha iyi olmuşsun 😀

Posted via D.Buzz

Wow, your visit to this Ancient City sounds like a remarkable adventure and the way you've described it, makes it feel like a fairy tale come to life.

It's nice to see you travel with your brother and its nice to meet you brother. Do tell him I said Hi.
You really did great on capturing your brothers pic and I get the feeling when you can't be happy with what others captures for you. I also live with this hahah.

Thank you so much man. He already shared some of these photos in Instagram like me :D

We have nothing to do, let's just hope to find someone who knows taking photos XD

let's just hope to find someone who knows taking photos

Sad Pokemon GIF

What a beautiful old architecture, it's a magical place that old city, I can't imagine how great you had a great time walking under those aged rock arches, thanks for sharing with us such a wonderful moment!

Glad you liked it dude, yeah it was sooo great times for me with my bro. Thanks for stopping by

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hey thanks for adding it to map 🍍