From Sunlit Hike To Unearthing Cave's Beauty!

in Outdoors and more10 months ago

Every day's discovery of nature’s splendor and beauty is like eye candy. It captivates your attention, and like candy, you want to indulge it right away just by looking at its wrapper, and once you have the taste of it, it gives you that sweet unexplainable satisfaction. This is the very same feeling I had when we explored the Cave that my co-teacher had been talking and boasting about.

Picsart_23-07-23_20-41-36-015.jpg

This cave, according to him is the hidden gem of their place. When he speaks about it I can see stalactites and stalagmites in his eyes. hehe! He is beaming with excitement telling us about the cave, which made me anticipate and raise my excitement as well to discover the cave's beauty!

At the back of my mind, I was wondering about the cave’s size, I had questions and doubts about its brilliance. Stalactites? Stalagmites? It's rare to find those sights in our hometown, and what if the cave was only beautiful to the eyes of a high school boy who skipped classes to stay at this cave instead? (My co-teacher was in his high school days when he used to visit the cave during class hours!)

I believe beauty is in the eye of the beholder. What if the cave is not beautful
at all? What ifs. Let's find out. But hey, when was nature ever disappointing? Having my doubts still, I found myself skipping and prancing going to our special destination, to nature’s mouth, the Somosa’s Cave.

IMG20230708090044.jpg

Lezzz go!

The hike begins.

The sun was up when we started hiking going to our destination yet the walk was never tiring, indeed it was refreshing and the whole environment looked vibrant because of the radiant sunlight. We walked along fields of sugarcane and corn. Everything was glowing green!

IMG20230708075746.jpg

IMG20230708074854.jpg

IMG20230708092344.jpg

After the fields, Sir K., my co-teacher, brought us the way to the Mahogany trees where he recalled the place where they ate lunch during his high school days. While guiding us the way, Sir K was also entertaining us with his funny and memorable moments way back then. So the walk was not only refreshing but a funny one.

IMG20230708075218.jpg

IMG20230708075406.jpg

We passed lush vegetation and some of the local's livelihood such as morning grazing and raising chickens and cows. As we were nearing the cave, we came across lush bushes and vines. Good thing Sir K was bringing Bolo with him to clean the way. Well, he didn't have a choice! He admitted that he forgot the path going there because it's been a long time since he last visited the cave. So he was not just our tour guide but also cleans the way for us. Sorry sir K. but we greatly appreciate it.

IMG20230708073429.jpg

IMG20230708075603.jpg

IMG20230708074934.jpg

How about some wild guava for our sancks?

IMG20230708080731.jpg

After Sir K. had cleared the trail and successfully traced the route through the terrain, we discovered the path going to the cave's entrance. Finally, we were closer to the paradise that we were looking for!

IMG20230708082459.jpg

IMG20230708082538.jpg

IMG20230708082508.jpg

Lucky enough to have Sir K. in this adventure of ours! Hope he wouldn't regret that he came with us! Hehe.

IMG20230708090805.jpg

Charaaaan!!! The Chambers of Wonder!

We were greeted by the Cave's narrow entrance. Only one person could get in at a time and needed to crawl. It was so dark and I felt uncertain about entering the cave. I was nervous yet my excitement to see what's inside was killing me. Sir K. entered the cave first and I bravely followed.

IMG20230708082802.jpg

IMG20230708082623.jpg

Could I get in?

However, the moment I set foot in the cave, my uncertainty turned into sheer amazement. The interior of the cave was a breathtaking display of wonderful rock formations which I believe had been meticulously shaped over countless years! And I could only smell the earthy scent of the cave and felt its cold atmosphere. We were all silent, I knew we were all feeling the cave's embrace.

IMG20230708083106.jpg

IMG20230708090429.jpg

I saw stalactites and stalagmites in various sizes and shapes. They look like frozen ice-creams slowly melting from the ceiling. Each one is a work of art!

IMG20230708082958.jpg

IMG20230708083209.jpg

IMG20230708083542.jpg

IMG20230708083011.jpg

I was speechless looking at these magnificent art!

Can you guess how old the cave is? This made me wonder of astonishment because as far as I knew, it takes centuries for a stalactite and stalagmites to grow for an inch. Please correct me if I'm wrong and I'll correct my Science teacher too in my High School. Hehe!

IMG20230708085720.jpg

The cave was dark yet the chamber appeared white and the rocks sparkled and glimmered as soon as our flashlight hit them. They are hidden gems!

IMG20230708083725.jpg

I could also see the dripping water and the droplets that fell into the ground. There were also rock formations resembling a cascade of water. The whole beauty I saw was captivating and enchanting.

IMG20230708083358.jpg

Can you see those water about to drop?

IMG20230708083613.jpg

IMG20230708084251.jpg

This one looks like a waterfall.

I was in awe of this natural wonder before my eyes. It is clear that the cave is untouched! Either the locals are ignoring the cave or not minding it at all, or preserving it. I'm happy that this paradise is left untouched and unspoiled by humans' hands.

IMG20230708085325.jpg

IMG20230708083313.jpg

IMG20230708083408.jpg

I looked at Sir K. and saw the happiness in his eyes that finally he is back to the place where he used to enjoy being together with his childhood friends. I knew he is also proud and happy to see the cave in its virgin beauty.

"See?" I knew he wanted to tell me this.

On the other hand, he told us, there is another chamber below that will lead us to another exit but we refused to explore deeper as we knew we lack the pieces of equipment to fully explore the cave.

IMG20230708084712.jpg

When we had enough of the cave, we decided to emerge from the cave. As soon as I got out, I carried with me a deep appreciation for nature's artistry and a thought that not all grand beauty is on the surface, some are hidden, glimmering, untouched, and lying beneath.

Once again, I had a deeper connection to the natural world and also had another opportunity to strengthen the bonds of friendship with my colleagues.

It was such a fulfilling adventure and full of discovery!


That's it for our adventurous hike and cave exploration. Thank you so much for reading guys. I wish you all safe and well always.

Don't forget to smile often! 🤗😍
And here's mine!

IMG20230708090038.jpg

Sort:  

Fields of sugarcane and corns are looking freshly green

Do you also have this in your hometown Sir?😊

The scenery is absolutely stunning! 😍

thank you. 😍

Nindota diha sa sud ma'am ba pero hadlok2 man guro gamay mura mag naay magtingog2 sa ako imagination haha pero klaro kaayo na you really enjoy exploring the cave and that is the important thing ra jud. 💚

If you have noisy friends together , there's nothing to be scared of.Haha. You should try this dai Kyra.

What a majestic hidden place. Sir K must be so proud of this place. He went an extra mile just to show you the hidden beauty of the cave.

Yes, I also hope this place stay hidden so will preserve its pristine beauty.

His eyes speaks of pride of how the cave was still majestic and left untouched over the years. And I am thankful that he shared the beauty of the cave to us.

Thanks Maam for dropping by. 😍

Beautiful place, I really liked the setting of the cave, congratulations on the photos. 😀

Thank you farmatrader. The cave is pristine and beautiful.😍

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

There is beauty within gyud! How I wish I could witness these things in my naked eyes. Mura na kog na evict sa Somosa da. Wa jud ko kataak diri.🤦

Never did I expect there's a beautiful cave hidden in Somosa.

Naypang tga Libjo nkasuroy ug Somosa, ang tga Somosa kay wala. 😄

We had a great time hiking and exploring the cave Nenetz. Hope you can join next time!

Haha. Paita. Abog rajud kos Somosa ani smi.😂

Puhon paabuton.

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Check your ranking!
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the third day

Thank you hivebuzz.🤗

You're welcome @callmesmile! Have a nice day 😊👍🌹

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1948.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you Maam @livinguktaiwan and @pinmapple team for the support. I am very grateful for this.🙏😍

Maypa nagpadala ko ug bayabas mam Smile. haha. You really had a nice adventure mam.

Maam Ler, knus-a mn ka mkakuyog sa amua Maam?

Waaah. kalaagan ba ani nila, teacher na, mama pa, travelers pa!

Nice kaayo ang cave. thrilling cguro tong part na nisulod namo sa entrance.

Salamat sa Hive Miss!😃😍

You said it Miss, ang pagsulod maoy thrilling ky ngitgit jd ang cave. Hehe

The cave is unique. But it is scary to get inside. Haha kay mahadlok man ko mosulod og cave @callmesmile .