Fishing Derby Season

in Outdoors and more12 days ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share some pictures of what is going to be a repeated event in this house: fishing derby's!

BDA33EFF-741A-418C-AC37-81B61EBB3057.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Fishing Derby Season

I don't proclaim to be any type of amazing fisherman but one thing I do like to do is participate in things, and get my son exposed to all kinds of people and events around us as much as we can. This is no different!

I found a local fishing event near us but it was on a workday so I asked my wife if it was something she was interested in taking the little man to, which she agreed since she had some time to kill before the appointment that had later on that day. It turned out to be quite a good thing to do, because it got us into doing things that we knew we should try, but didn't really do a whole lot until we got into the right mindset!

684D318E-1BA6-4544-96C7-EA2C31162ECC.jpeg

Fishing derby's are events, basically fishing tournaments except for the kiddos. The events are for kids usually from 2 through 14 or 16 depending on the group, and it's a really great way to get the family exposed to doing things like this, particularly for families who aren't outdoorsy. This means that most of the derby's are pretty busy with kiddos! I love it, because it's the most important thing we can do to expose the youngest generation to these things so that they can potentially find a passion for themselves, even if it's just for a few years, it's a few years well worth the time and cost!

This derby, and the others coming up that we are going to be participating in, are largely hosted by either the towns fish and game departments or they are hosted by what are called "Rod and Gun clubs" but they are basically outdoorsmen clubs, with outdoorswomen too of course! The clubs are a really great way to get the family involved in the local community, as a way to get exposure to things like hunting and fishing, but also events and dinners meant to be purely social, and a way for members to interact with and gain new friends among the club.

46E0A57F-36A2-451F-AF73-765A11E1B596.jpeg

This event that we went to had a really good crowd! There were over 125 children who signed up, adding parents to it, it's at least 250 or close to 300 people who were participating! It was amazing to see all the families and the kids who were new to fishing, or had a love for it and were looking for times to get themselves a little bit of the competitive spirit.

This event was really well organized, and one that I think I will definitely be visiting again next year and subsequent years until the little man is too old to enter it, but even then we will stop by to help support the local community. I know that we will definitely be signing up for their newsletter, although a membership is sadly out of the question as this one is pretty far away from us so it wouldn't make a lot of sense.

65AA7FE7-1D06-47CA-9DDE-E2C25CEC18EB.jpeg

Did we catch any fish?! Your damn skippy we did! Lol. The event was pretty challenging for most of the day because I was using the wrong techniques for catching the fish. Being the early part of the year, the primary fish that was stocked in the pond was trout. Apparently they put in over 1,000 trout to the pond! That's insane! The even funnier part of it, was that only 140 trout were caught, meaning they still had a thousand of the buggers swimming around the pond without being caught! Little shits hahaha.

The amazing part for the little man and I though, was that we actually caught some fish! We entered two derby's last year and didn't catch shit which was annoying. This year, we got really lucky but what was also awesome was that we caught a new species for us! A brown trout! Fucking sweet! LOL

AEB7EDC9-62E6-407A-B2DF-7990F7642D62.jpeg

It wouldn't be a fishing derby for trout without the famous rainbow trout though! We caught this fella clutch at the last second! With two minutes to spare until the derby was over, I threw my line out and got lucky with this one! I was really happy because all I wanted to do was catch some fish for the little man, and trout are one of the hardest species to catch because they are so picky! This was the biggest fish of the trip, it was 12 inches. We could've kept it if we wanted to, but sadly my wife is really against us cooking fish in the house hahaha so we would have had nowhere to put it! One of these days though, I'm going to cook one up with the little man!

BDA33EFF-741A-418C-AC37-81B61EBB3057.jpeg

The trip wasn't all fish though, we got this little wooden toad fella! This guy entertained my son for a good 30 minutes while I was struggling to try and catch some fish and keep him occupied. I was glad that I saw the little hopper trying to run away from me when I was adjusting my fishing spot.

B55F6F43-1528-4E3D-B2BC-42C8228CE68B.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI. All pictures are mine unless otherwise stated

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

It's better than roster derby though. @cmplxty

It's a lot of fun thats for sure!

Yes and I think it more better than any derby .😊 @cmplxty

What a great plan this is and your little man must have had a great time catching those fish.

Yeah it was awesome, my son has been fishing for a few years now and really enjoys it which is important! He gets to get his competitive spirit in with this which is good, though we haven't won anything yet haha.

Nice catch! I'm excited to get my son into fishing this year. I didn't like it when I was a kid (we hunted a lot then), but I definitely appreciate it now. Very relaxing. I like playing an audiobook and going at it.

That's great! Fishing is really fun, and it's indeed relaxing. Some people take it a little too seriously but I enjoy it overall. I should pop on a podcast while I fish but my son loves to just chat which is nice, taking advantage of that while I can. Eventually he won't LOL

I completely understand. It's fun being "cool" for the moment lol. I'll have plenty of time to be uncool eventually. (Hopefully the teenage years aren't too bad.)

The fact that you are exposing your little man to events like fishing and all is really amazing and I’m glad about it. Big ups to your wife for taking him there…

A day like this is special when we all go fishing like this, it's a great experience and our friends also go like this and cook them at night and it's so much fun.