A Serendipitous Wednesday Hike in Cebu City's Highlands

Hello, fellow outdoor lovers!

It's the middle of the week, and I can't wait for the weekend. Yay! It's crazy how, even as an unemployed and bored individual like me, when Wednesday arrives, Thursday and Friday seem to pass by in a flash.

Being unemployed gives me the time to do the things that I couldn't do when I was working from Mondays to Fridays. One of those things is going on spontaneous weekday hikes. It's such a joy to explore the great outdoors on a Wednesday, away from the crowded trails and weekend rush.

On Monday, my hiking friend James messaged me and invited me on a hike. At first, I hesitated because I knew they were planning to hike the 6 Towers Trail to Manggapar. I'm not really fond of this trail when ascending since it's steep, and I won't lie, I'm getting older and my knees can't handle it anymore. HAHA

Luckily, we didn't end up taking that trail. Instead, we opted for a different route to Manggapar.

IMG_4959.JPG

On Wednesday, I woke up at 4 AM to prepare for the hike. Our meeting time was from 5:30 AM to 6:00 AM at Guadalupe Church. I arrived there at 5:20 AM and had breakfast at the nearest karenderia while waiting for James and @ybanezkim26 to arrive. By the way, it was just the three of us hiking on a Wednesday.

photo_2023-07-19_12-41-02.jpg

Afterwards, we departed and hailed a motorcycle taxi to Sitio Napo, Brgy. Sapangdaku, Cebu.

Napo to Kahugan

This Wednesday adventure started at Sitio Napo Chapel, which is also the usual jump-off point when we hike to Babag. Our goal was to find the trail leading to one of the towers in the 6 Towers Trail that is near Camp Adela.

While walking on a slippery cemented road towards Kahugan Chapel, I suddenly remembered that there was a nearby waterfall. We approached some locals and asked for directions, and they kindly pointed out a trail that led to one of the tiers.

IMG_4986.JPG

IMG_4988.JPG

IMG_4984.JPG

IMG_4981.JPG

Going down was not a walk in the park. We had to duck and squat, but it was worth it. We were amazed at how clear and strong the water in the waterfalls was.

IMG_4980.JPG

IMG_4978.JPG

IMG_4979.JPG

We stayed for a couple of minutes to take some pictures, and then we continued our hike to the chapel.

IMG_4977.JPG

We rested a little bit on the bamboo benches outside the chapel and then proceeded with the hike, looking for the trail that would lead us to the tower. However, we found a dead-end on the trail where there was a house. We asked one of the locals for the right trail going to the tower, so we had to go back a few steps to where a small trail on the left was located.

IMG_4976.JPG

IMG_4974.JPG

The local instructed us to follow the trail, which would cross a small stream, and to keep left and follow the direction of the tower.

Kahugan to Plateau de Laborte

True enough, we followed the direction of the tower and passed a hamlet that sells plants.

IMG_4973.JPG

We also passed by a local herder tending to his cows. After a few more meters, the tower came into sight. However, we realized it wasn't the tower that led directly to Camp Adela. We still had to ascend on an open trail to reach the next tower.

IMG_4972.JPG

IMG_4971.JPG

IMG_4968.JPG

IMG_4969.JPG

IMG_4970.JPG

I could already feel my knees shaking, which was the result of the long rest we took while talking to the herder. Haha.

James was already sprinting ahead, searching for some shade, while Kim and I were already whining about our aching bodies—well, maybe it was just me. Haha.

IMG_4967.JPG

We passed Camp Adela and continued walking to Plateau de Laborte. We stopped there to take pictures on top of a mango tree that had a platform, offering a great view of the city.

Plateau de Laborte to Bagsakan Outpost

I decided not to climb the platform because I was afraid the tree might be uprooted due to my weight. HAHA.

IMG_4962.JPG

IMG_4960.JPG

IMG_4961.JPG

IMG_4963.JPG

IMG_4964.JPG

IMG_4958.JPG

We were already craving something cold to drink, so we decided to continue walking to Bagsakan Outpost in Pamutan. However, we stopped by a store near the road to buy cold soft drinks first.

IMG_4957.JPG

Bagsakan Outpost to Paseo Arcenas, Banawa

Afterwards, we proceeded to Bagsakan Outpost, hoping we could buy our lunch there. Thankfully, there was some food on display, and we managed to buy pancit bihon. We decided to have our lunch somewhere along the Spartan Trail.

IMG_4954.JPG

IMG_4956.JPG

IMG_4955.JPG

It has been months since the last time I was on the Spartan Trail, and during my previous visit, the trail was still challenging due to fallen trees caused by Typhoon Odette in December 2021.

I can only count the times I have been on the Spartan Trail in reverse, from Bagsakan to Banawa. I prefer this direction because it has more descending parts than ascending.

IMG_4952.JPG

IMG_4951.JPG

However, going down was still not as easy as we had thought. We expected the fallen trees to have been cleared by now, but we were wrong. It felt like a parkour trail going down, but fortunately, the weather wasn't too hot.

As we neared the river, we were shocked to see a newly constructed set of cemented steps that wasn't there before. We continued our hike towards the waterfalls, where we planned to have our lunch.

IMG_4950.JPG

IMG_4949.JPG

James couldn't resist taking a dip in the falls, which made me envious, but I tried to suppress the temptation as I didn't want to get wet for the journey back home. We had our lunch there and stayed only for a few minutes before continuing our hike towards Banawa.

IMG_4946.JPG

IMG_4948.JPG

IMG_4944.JPG

We had thought the river trail would be as calm as before, but once again, we were mistaken. Due to ongoing dike construction along the river, we faced difficulties crossing without getting our shoes wet. We also noticed an unpleasant smell and bubbles on the surface of the water near the dike.

IMG_4942.JPG

IMG_4943.JPG

photo_2023-07-19_12-18-54.jpg

photo_2023-07-19_12-18-57.jpg

Finally, we reached the part of the trail where we had to ascend to the water source. I enjoy this section when going downhill, but going up was a different story. I took my time, resting whenever I felt tired, until we finally reached the water source.

photo_2023-07-19_12-18-59.jpg

Just one more ascending part, and we'll be done. The more I realize we're almost there, the more my body aches and the more tired I feel. I keep cursing with every step until we finally reached BossKafe sa Huya. However, since they didn't have any cold drinks available, we decided to head to Kofi Ben instead.

BossKafe sa Huya

Kofi Ben

At Kofi Ben, I indulged in my third soft drink of the day. NYAHAHAH. This is probably why I never lose weight. We reached Paseo Arcenas just before the rain started pouring.

IMG_4938.JPG

IMG_4937.JPG

IMG_4936.JPG

IMG_4939.JPG

I've missed this kind of hike, the spontaneous ones. The excitement of discussing with friends where to exit, the sense of adventure in exploring new trails and discovering new camping spots, and engaging in meaningful conversations with locals. Until my next adventure! 😉🍃


28616565_2201449899869083_213856441219804692_o.jpg

About the Author

Meet Kevin de Arca, a Data Analyst by profession and an adventurous wanderer at heart. With a passion for exploring new places and cultures, he uses traveling as a way of distressing and making unforgettable memories. He is always wondering where to wander next.✈️ 🏖 🌅

Sort:  

Wow. The first photo of you in the tree is awesome. Maybe I must resign my job also and do these hikes. Thanks for sharing.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You did an amazing time with Nature. Thank you for Sharing.

Thanks for dropping by 😄

I always love hiking in remote areas, especially mountainous and forested places. Thank you for sharing the wonderful sights of the place you visited.

Yep, me too! As long as the weather isn't crazy hot, I'm totally up for anything!

What a fun read! Over rapod ning ma-uproot kay sa kabug-at nimo ser arc! Hahahaha! Para asa diay ng dike sa spartan trail woi?

Haha nauyog gani nga nisaka si kim samot nako. para pugong sa kusug nga water man siguro na if uwan2x

Dili man jud ni nako madala ug saka ba bisan bata pako huhu. Anyway, thank you for getting us here sir through you virtual trip.

hahah mao sad na ako pagtoo saona nga wala pako kasuway. maong suway na ahah

Next time nasad ser Arc! Kanang manakit nasad atong tuhod. 😆

Wala rajud ning mga trail dri cebu sa Pangasugan man ahahha

Love the waterfall, and I think I would not have gone up on the platform either I am sure it would not handle my weight

the scenery is gorgeous an amazing hike but one my knees for sure would not do well on I to am not s young as I used to be

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Yay! Thanks for takin' the time to read my post.😄

Laban lang jud ta sa soft drinks. Haha but bitaw, kasagaran mao baya nay inspiration nato para mo push through. Nice ser arc!

lsge ay, magsuway kaha ta nga mag hike nga wala juy softdrinksay hahaha

Ma brenda ta anang way soft drinks ser arc! Hahaa

Kahit mainit sa pinas nakakapaghike parin kyo ..ako kaya kela ulit haha .pero maganda talaga may co-Hivean sa pagtravel...

haha laban parin kahit mainit.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1944.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

!LOL

Have you heard about the guy who said he had the heart of a lion?
He was banned from the zoo.

Credit: reddit
@kev.incredible, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of gameexp

(4/6)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Cebu is really a great place to go. One can have both sides of life. I had my adventure there 20 years ago somewhere in Toledo mountains and spent the weekend in the marvelous heart of the city. Amping always. !PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 6

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Indeed! Amping too!

Happy hiking my friend but I suggest that you carry or get a water when hiking, that is good lalo na sobrang init dito pinas..bad for the health ang softdrinks friend..hehe

Yes, of course. I always have my flask whenever I go hiking. Thanks! 😊

Wow!! This was an adventure like from another time!! You look like real explorers in that jungle! The first picture is the best!! You in that tree and the intensity in front of you!! Thanks a lot for sharing this high and shiny vibes!!

Wow the place is great, the waterfalls is amazing. I also noticed someone who do the laundry near the river. People in the province used to wash their clothes in the river. Sana all tipid sa water ehhehe.

You mentioned you are unemployed, you mean sa hive ka naka focus?

Haha di po ako full time sa hive. Nagpapahinga lang po ko ng isang buwan bago mag apply ulit hehe

Ah okay, kaya go with nature while you have a lot of time.