That Christmas I spent camping alone

I had this crazy idea before that I would spend my Christmas alone in the mountains. I couldn't go home for Christmas that year due to time constraints, so I decided to spend it alone since most of my friends were already with their families. It might sound sad, but I didn't feel sad or sorry for myself.

GOPR0611.JPG

I started packing my stuff but I was still unsure whether I should go or not. It would be my first time camping alone in the wild, although I had tried solo camping on the beach before. Camping in the mountains was a whole different story.

But then, one camping site came to mind where I wouldn't be completely alone: the camping site of Mt. Kan-irag. It already had a caretaker checking the place from time to time, so I was sure I wouldn't be completely isolated.

I made my way to the jump-off point at the entrance of Budlaan Falls. I started after lunch, so I still had some daylight left when I arrived. I planned to slow down my pace and savor my alone time.

Originally, I had planned to follow the river trail all the way up to the main waterfall, but I ended up taking a shortcut to the last tier.

I reached a spot with a few houses and a store quickly, and I felt somewhat relieved, knowing I was still close to civilization. I continued walking until I arrived at the campsite.

GOPR0597.JPG

GOPR0593.JPG

GOPR0596.JPG

GOPR0592.JPG

GOPR0591.JPG

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived, and there wasn't a single tent in sight. I had arrived super early, so I had some time to climb a tree. Haha.

GOPR0615.JPG

GOPR0614.JPG

GOPR0616.JPG

GOPR0617.JPG

GOPR0618.JPG

As darkness slowly crept in, I realized I didn't have a headlamp or flashlight with me, so I relied on my phone's flashlight.

GOPR0613.JPG

GOPR0622.JPG

Just before the sun set, a group of young guys arrived at the campsite, making quite a bit of noise. I tried not to pay too much attention to them since it was essentially them against me. Haha.

Dinnertime came, and I had brought take-out food from a fast-food chain because I didn't know how to cook rice using a butane stove. Lol. I only knew how to cook rice using a rice cooker, and let me tell you, my attempts at cooking rice using other methods ended up either burnt or as soupy messes. But that's a story for another time. Hahahha.

As the night progressed, I stayed inside my tent, watching some movies. Surprisingly, I was able to sleep despite the noise from the other group.

GOPR0623.JPG

Morning came, and I woke up super early at 6 AM, while the other group was still sleeping. I only had a few slices of bread and water since I had not boiled any water for coffee to fuel me up for the hike home.

On my way back, I considered taking the back trail, but this time I decided to follow the river.

Along the trail, I encountered no one because, of course, it was Christmas, and people were in vacation mode in their own provinces.

GOPR0626.JPG

GOPR0625.JPG

I reached the last tier of the falls and rested there for a minute, taking pictures of the waterfall.

GOPR0627.JPG

GOPR0630.JPG

The next part of the trail made me a bit anxious. It involved descending a steep part of the waterfall's side, and the only thing to hold onto was a makeshift rope made of water tubing. I had to climb down a slippery slope, and thoughts of 'What ifs' filled my head. What if I fell and had no one to ask for help? What if I fell and no one found my body for days? Haha, those kinds of questions.

Fortunately, nothing happened to me, and I made it down safely to the main waterfall.

GOPR0639.JPG

GOPR0637.JPG

GOPR0643.JPG

GOPR0644.JPG

I continued my hike down to the heart-shaped basin, where I took a quick break since this was the last part of the river trail.

GOPR0653.JPG

GOPR0647.JPG

GOPR0646.JPG

GOPR0652.JPG

GOPR0648.JPG

The final stretch of the trail involved a gradual ascent, passing by houses. I didn't particularly enjoy this part of the hike because it was quite tiring. But taking breaks here and there helped me reach the exit point.

I've tried solo adventures before because I was curious about what it feels like to plan my own itinerary and not follow others. However, recent local news about solo hikers encountering trouble along the trail and getting held up has made me a bit cautious. Perhaps it's time to learn some self-defense skills and consider carrying a portable knife and pepper spray for protection.

GOPR0608.JPG

While I still cherish the idea of solo travel and the sense of self-discovery it brings, these recent events have reminded me of the importance of balancing adventure with caution. It's a fine line to tread, but with the right mindset, skills, and tools, I hope to continue exploring the world on my own terms while staying vigilant and safe.


28616565_2201449899869083_213856441219804692_o.jpg

About the Author

Meet Kevin de Arca, a Data Analyst by profession and an adventurous wanderer at heart. With a passion for exploring new places and cultures, he uses traveling as a way of distressing and making unforgettable memories. He is always wondering where to wander next.✈️ 🏖 🌅

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much @bhattg and @indiaunited 🙏🙏🙏

Congratulations @kev.incredible! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2023
HiveFest Meetings Contest

Thanks @hivebuzz 🙏

Stay focused @kev.incredible! You're making great progress towards your Hive goals.

BTW, we needs your help to continue bringing gamification, entertainment, and fun to the Hive community. Our funding proposal is waiting for your upvote!
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Hiya, @pinmapple here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2013.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yay thank you @choogirl and @pinmapple team! ☺️

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp and none are for your use

Wow thanks again @outdoor.life 🙏💪

Ive lived in Cebu City for like more than a decade but I havent climb its mountains.. even the closes one in guadalupe. Now that im living in carcar it will just be some wishful thinking. Ugh!

let me tell you, my attempts at cooking rice using other methods ended up either burnt or as soupy messes. But that's a story for another time. Hahahha.

Agoi new post spotted hahaha

This is such an inspiring post! We all know Christmas Day is such an important day for us Filipinos and for our culture, it feels like a requirement to be with our families. But for you, the constraints paved the way for your time for yourself and self-discovery. This was so brave of you to hike and sleep in your tent alone. Always stay safe! To many more wanders!

Hey, thanks for dropping by! 😃

I didn't know how to cook rice using a butane stove.

Come on, survivor! xDD Half a cup of rice + 2 cups of water and a pinch of salt, low fire and voila. Throw some other stuff into the same pan and there you go. I still thin pasta with tuna fish is the ultimate camping meal.

Thanks for the tip! I'll definitely give your rice recipe a try on my next camping trip. haha

It's not that bad spending Christmas day at that mountain. I wouldn't really mind doing so.It looks so serene :)

Yeah, I agree! Thank you 😊