Ice Fishing Fun!

Today started early again, but this time it was for ice fishing! My son @enak (Kane) and I met up with a couple friends at a nearby frozen over lake. There was quite a bit of snow on top of the ice, and a lot of slushy wet snow as well, but it was firm enough and thick enough. The drill powered ice auger worked great and we had a few holes down to the water in no time.

20230104_065655.jpg

20230104_071411.jpg

20230104_085055.jpg

20230104_093050.jpg

20230104_080930.jpg

20230104_091331.jpg

20230104_081007.jpg

Quite a few rainbow trout were caught but this was the prize fish of the day, below. A nicely colored brook trout which are not very common in our area, and Blake had never caught one in this lake before. He was pretty happy about it. I've been out fishing with Blake many times over the years. He always does great and is very willing to share info and techniques. He actually has a YouTube channel where he shares his fishing adventures and tips & tricks: Pisces Outdoors

20230104_092251.jpg

Another great day in the great outdoors! Thank you for looking and I hope you are all having a great day too. Cheers!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Did you cook and ate it ? Bet it tastes great! 😀

No... not this time.

Wow!! that looks really funn!! and the fish you managed to get was really pretty hahaha i want to fish too

Fun indeed! Fairly relaxing too, compared to fishing on a moving boat with down riggers and multiple lines in the water... Just a bit cold at times. Brook trout are definitely the prettiest fish in out area. Fish On!!!

Wow, what a fun and exciting adventure! Coming from a tropical country myself, I can only imagine the joys of ice fishing. Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

Cold but fun, indeed! I'm originally from LA, where it doesn't snow either. But I love it up here!

Hole freezing butts. Catches were totally worth it though.

Yup... It was cold out there. My son was more than ready to leave when we were all done.

Nice catch! our ice had a big set back with the warm temperatures this week. Pushed back opening of ice fishing season.

Bummer! We've been having some rain too. In fact, it started raining again this afternoon. But this lake is one of the higher elevation lakes so it still had enough ice. I was concerned but Blake was out on it a couple days before. I relaxed after looking down the first hole, good to go.

1% vote for the fishing, the rest for the legit beards. 😁

Ha! Thanks. Everyone can get a little scruffy looking around here in the winter. Cheers!

As a beard-wielding individual myself I think it's a perfectly legit thing to have. One of the better growths a bloke can have. (I don't mean me, I mean my other me, the dude who started this community.)

And that's a fun experience with your boy, a fun bonding too. But OMG, with the ice everywhere I feel like I will only last for a minute in there and froze to death 😆. But it's still fun experiencing it for sure.

Great fun! But yes, I had on many layers of cloths and it was still cold out there.

Wow that’s so cool, what a fun 🤩
Thanks for sharing!

Happy to share! It was cool, until it got cold. But a lot of fun indeed!

Hehehe I can imagine the cold. As long as one is well dressed and it’s lots of fun 🤩
Thanks 😎

Nice nice! I have always seen ice fishing in movies, and it's so refreshing to read about it in here in Hive 😅
Nice catch!
My hands would probably be freezing at that point 😅

Happy to share a little California ice fishing. And yes, my hands had to come out of my gloves often, and they were often freezing. Fun times though!

Your post has been curated on behalf of the outdoors and more community.

#outdoorlife footer.png

#outdoorlife

All images belong to galenkp

Congratulations @scottshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 7000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 8000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

I almost missed this cool post!
You have a very comfortable ice fishing. And the catch turned out very cool!

I also like to fish with my son. But now this happens very rarely. In general, my whole family loves fishing. But I always went on winter fishing only with my son. Wife and daughters don't like winter fishing.