OnlyVans | The Perfect Campspot on the Hill #Vanlifestories

in Outdoors and more4 months ago (edited)


Dear Hive! After last years 7 months trip I realized that I have barely shared the Vanlifestuff here and that is gonna change! This time for real. I truly believe I will do it this time

DSC08419-01.jpeg


Last week, I found a campspot on park4night (#93901) near Tossa de Mar. The reviews promised a quiet, peaceful place and a good adventurous offroad-trail to get to the viewpoint which was the campspot as well. I kinda feel really excited for some offroad trails and if one guy in the reviews said '' I did it without 4 wheel drive'' I feel like I can do it too and it sounds right away like the perfect idea on earth. Let's do it! No matter how many people advise you not to. I believe a Van can do more than people think and going off the beaten path is the perfect way to see what adventures life has to offer.

The reviews promised that the first 100 meters were the worst, which was actually true but I can't say that the road was ''perfect'' afterwards. But in fact, it was ''perfect'' in its own way. No need for a morning coffee when driving those roads. The wake up boost is guaranteed! I am always driving as slow as a snail on those roads but I guess that's legit when you are carrying a house on your back.

DSC08430-01.jpeg


Back in Holland, we don't have roads like this so Dutch people usually have 0 offroad skills. During my time in Sardinia I encountered plenty of those rough roads and the locals where driving there effortless with their Fiat Pandas my dream car whenever I quit the Vanlife

DSC08431-01.jpeg

DSC08435-01.jpeg


My Van is quite wide for this road but in the end, it fitted perfectly fine. The trees and bushes at the roadside made me think more than once '' Well, A trip to Morocco for a cheap paint job might be my next destination now'' But in the end, the scratches are very small so who cares? Not me.

When the road is actually really bad I am always apologizing to my Van, when it is steep in a curve and I lose traction, I am cheering for my Van. My Van and I are on this adventure so I gotta take care for him. I actually start to believe more and more that this Van can make it to Africa some day one of my dream journeys.

Luckily, there is no traffic on this road and I have no clue what I would have done if there was another car. No way that this road would allow another car to pass. I guess one of the two has to go backwards all the way, which would be a good practice or who knows it might make my allrisk insurance very useful. But as always, my favourite motto is ''Problems for Later!''. And usually it actually doesn't turn out as a problem when you are flexible and adapt to the situation. Often I kinda love the thrill when everything goes wrong. I might be a bit Psycho. But this day, nothing went wrong.

When I was here I did take some photos as you can see, but I had no intention of writing this blog. I was enjoying the place, the quietness like no other place I have been to. I stayed here a couple of days and I have seen just one man with a dog. It was beautiful and I definitely didn't feel like leaving. But as always on a journey: you have to move on if you don't want the journey to be over.

I spend my time largely working from ''home'', Used my breaks to do some yoga just outside my door. Usually I feel kind of shy when there are people around but there were no people at all. I was dancing outside to the music and cooked delicious meals. As I mentioned in my earlier blog I am gonna change my dieet to be more plantbased so I walked to the store 30 minutes down the hill to buy ingredients to make Hummus and Falaffel. I cooked with electricity produced by my solar setup and I cooked outside under the sun. Perfect as a simple vanlife day should be. Simple day of Doing ''nothing'' but still doing the things that matter, like cooking healthy foods and doing yoga and taking outdoor showers.. It feels just like how life should be. It was just a bliss to be here and I realize I should take more photos on days like this, on places like this.

1000039075.jpg

DSC08421-01.jpeg

IMG_20240209_15580029.jpeg

IMG_20240209_16080773.jpeg



Welcome to the viewpoint which I would like to call the shower! Guess I am the viewpoint now But nobody out here And pplease note that I always shower in Bikini when showering outdoors so not much to see

IMG_20240209_15581400.jpeg

1000039085.jpg

IMG_20240209_16073963.jpeg

This Box on Wheels is my Home, and the place I parked felt like home. Life is good when you make good decisions

DSC08428-01.jpeg

The view from the other side. Isn't is gorgeous!!

DSC08440-01.jpeg

DSC08442-01.jpeg

1000039175.jpg


Thank you for reading my VanLife Blog! Do you like these kinda Vanlife stories or should I stick with the travel blogs like I used to do? Please let me know :)

Regards,
Sascha

Sort:  

Do you like these kinda Vanlife stories

I sure do.

Not the worst kind of life, to say the least.

P.S. These roads look a lot like the dirt tracks out here :^)

Oh yeah Portugal must have amazing adventurous roads as well!

what an adventure, it's truly an exciting story to read. :-)
The variation between Vanlife stories and Travel blogs is a nice way to express your experience :-D

I will try to balance both :) thank you!

cool :-)
It is your story to tell. Apparently your doing a great job :-D

So yeah keep on going :-)

I'm what a spot to camp! Nice find. I'm definitely liking the VanLife stories. Such an interesting and unique way of traveling/living

Yeah IT was a beautiful spot! I am always incredibly happy to find places like that. It is not everyday that the places are so beautiful (except in Sardinia, Sardinia was amazing for vanlife)

Omg you're living a van life? I like watching tiktok videos of people living in a van and moving from place to place. That kind of life is so liberating and you're living your life to the fullest! Please continue writing blogs like this, we want to know more about your life in the van! 🚐🔆

Yess I am! I converted this van myself into a little home! Even though the life isn't always as magic and easy, I enjoy every minute of it! 😊

You are a brave adventurer! You got it girl! Many are dreaming of that life and the freedom of it! ❤️

Nice spot. It's good that this OnlyVans thing is starting now. Let's see when the other characters in this serie pop up :)

Wow I guess you enjoyed your adventure. It such a very gorgeous that has attractive view especially in the ocean . I love it!

Yeah it is beautiful to be able to move wherever, to the mountains, to the beach, to the sun, to the snow :)

I see you are matching outfits with your van😊😁

Yeah yellow is starting to be my new fav color haha

Your photos are beautiful and the place looks really peaceful. The humor and self-deprecation you're showing is really touching. I love this kind of Vanlife story, and it's the kind of story that a lot of people living the van life need.

For my part, I really like off-roading. My van, a 1996 Iveco 35-8, is pretty well cut out for it. But poor thing, it's really getting old and the parts give out when it moves too much.

Of course, with a good knowledge of mechanics, it's always possible to make repairs. But I don't have that kind of knowledge and I don't have a very big budget. That said, your spot looked really great! 😀

Thank you! Yeah it is better if you know how to fix up things that break, especially when you have an old van.
I am not able to fix anything mechanical on my van and I used to be scared that my van would break and nobody comes to help me, the insurance-rescue is not valid offroad. But the condition of my van seems good enough to risk it.
My dream is to quit my job and drive all the way to South Africa. I'm surely gonna go through breakdowns with my van but I guess that gives its own color to the journey

Yes indeed, your van seems to be in very good health. How old is it? And how many kilometers on the odometer?

Actually, I don't know much about mechanics either. But I do have the basics:

  • Changing a battery;
  • Changing wiper blades;
  • Repairing rust spots.

As for the rest, when I hear a strange noise, I go and see a mechanic for a diagnosis and an estimate. If I have any doubts about what he says, I go and see another one. Then I look on the Internet. There are lots of videos on everything, and sometimes the repairs look easy in some of them. So if I'm confident enough, I go for it. But it's rare ^^

South Africa must be magical! What's your current job, if you don't mind my asking?

All those Mechanical things sound a bit overwhelming to me but in the end, I guess it is just double when you get started.

My van is from 2010 with almost 180.000 KMs. So far, it has been doing great mechanically but It looked not so good when I bought it. But it got a (bit to cheap) paint job in Albania so it is good for an other round

Are you doing these adventures all by your lonesome 🤪

I like what you did with the van though, that is something to consider😀

Yeah I can't wait my whole life for people right? But honestly, on this kinda quiet places I am really happy to be alone. It's just so peacefull

Oh the serenity of it all must be amazing!!

Besides that... it's a cheap and easy method of traveling! You don't mind me asking what you do for a living??

!PIZZA
!LUV

I'm working for some kinda travel insurance. My van is my office and allows me to travel since my work is fully online :)

Ohhhhh now that's something!

You work for a travel insurance and you get to travel

Win...win

WIN

xsasj, technicalside sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thank you! 😊😊

Camping and all scenes of natural forest are amazing. i think you enjoyed a lot.

I did! Thank you! :)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@technicalside(1/5) tipped @xsasj

I remember the dirt and muddy road in Myanmar when I was using a Honda Scoopy. it really made me scared that a scoopy would fall on me if I made a mistake. Good thing, your van fits well on the dirt road in that area.

OMG... Do both.

I just loves this post. I wish I was there. Do you ever do campfires? I am a campfire guy. Me and mine just love them. Or is it too dangerous outside at night.?

Where I deliver mostly near the big cities in the "formerly united" states of america, it is not safe in the daylight sometimes. They are almost war zones here now with the crime and the killings. This country is in the toilet.

But There are places here where you can get away from the populations like you did in this post and just enjoy life. That is what i do when I go home on the weekends.

Thanks for sharing. Even your shower... 😂😅🤣😳🤣🤣😂