Sort:  

Communities are a 2nd layer function, so they can't perform 1st layer functionality such as account creation.

So, communities aren't just another account with special function?

I mean there should be an account on HIVE @hive-(insert community ID) that allows you to both manage the community and hypothetically create accounts with account claim tokens too.

Example https://hiveblocks.com/@hive-135001

I created a community, @hive-104940, with this account, but did not see an option to claim it with a claim token.
I used peakd's interface.
Did I miss something?

I think it might be a UI thing then. Afaik and what I can see on hiveblocks it looks like a normal account. Maybe there is a 3 Hive fee for other parts of the community not just the account itself for it to be active.

image.png

Normal looking hive account creation ^ just using liquid hive.

Yes, that is what I thought.
I'll ask peakd about it.

Sorry, I misunderstood your question, didn't realize you were only talking about creating a community with an account token, I thought you wanted community members to be able to use account tokens in some shared way (for example, having a pool of them that could be used by community members to create new accounts).

vaultec is correct, it's just a UI issue.

No, communities are more like special "tags" that one or more accounts create and can control.