Silver Christmas Wish List Day 3 / Re-blog lottery

in FreeCompliments6 months ago

Another day to add onto my Christmas wish list! I have taken a couple days off of the list, but we're going full steam ahead into day 3. The challenge is to share 12 days of the wish list uninterrupted, but oh well!

Those who have known me for awhile now know that I love Morgan silver dollars. There's just a timeless beauty to them, and many were made during the time of the wild west in the western part of the US. To think some of the western legends like Doc Holliday and Wyatt Earp may have carried around the very coin that you can hold in your hand!

One of my favorite mints to collect coins from is Carson City, Nevada. They produced some beautiful coins while the mint was in service there from 1870 until 1893. Today's entry for my wish list was produced by this very mint in 1885.

image from eBay
About the coin:

Design: George T. Morgan
Year: 1885
Mint: Carson City, Nevada, US
Diameter: 38.1 mm
Weight: 26.73 grams
Composition: 90% silver/ 10% copper
Edge: Reeded
Grades by PCGS at MS66 DMPL
Minted: 228,000 (number graded by PCGS as MS66 DMPL: 8)

One variant of these coins I love to collect are the deep mirror proof like (DMPL) coins. What that means if you look at the field (portion of the coins without design on it) it looks extremely shiny like a mirror. These tend to be much more expensive since not all that many came out in such nice condition. This particular coin I found on eBay for sale listed for $15,225 US. That's a little high since the comparison auctions over the last couple years range from $4,000 to $12,600 US. I think the seller is wishing for the moon on this one, but it sure is a beauty that I would love to own.

The Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS) grades coins condition on a very consistent scale so people can have an idea of the coins value and rarity. So far PCGS has only graded eight coins to be MS66 DMPL from 1885 and from the Carson City Mint, not very many are out there in this condition. That's why the asking price is so high on this particular beautiful coin.

Since this one is kind of shooting for the moon price wise and there is absolutely no way this one is in my budget I thought I might throw one in that's a little more affordable, an 1883 Morgan dollar from Carson City DMPL coin:

images from eBay

This one is also a PCGS graded coin with DMPL surfaces and the price is just under $500 US. On this one I thought it might be fun to do a guessing game. The first person to correctly guess the assigned grade by PCGS will win one HSBI unit! Good luck on the guesses!

This one is more in my price range though! These are fun coins to collect because of their timeless beauty and of course they are 90% silver. I do think the design of the Peace dollar is prettier, but the details on the Morgan are amazing.

This is my day 3 pick, thanks for stopping by and taking a look. If you have any suggestions, questions or comments please feel free to leave them below. Thanks for your support everyone!

And my disclaimer:
Gold and silver stacking can be a fun hobby but isn't for everyone. You can lose money. I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

References:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carson_City_Mint
https://www.pcgs.com/coinfacts/coin/1885-cc-1-dmpl/97161

Re-blog lottery

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! Today we had 28 people re-blog my post, thank you so much! The people who re-blogged were:

@bitandi
@blitzzzz
@bulliontools
@caleb-marvel
@daddydog
@esbat
@ferod23
@florakese
@henruc
@hjrrodriguez
@irfanmustafa
@jenam
@kungfukid
@ladymisa
@maurojd
@mirroredspork
@monsterbuster
@necho41
@olaf.gui
@oskarl21
@screamheart
@stekene
@trautenberk
@vrezion
@vrezyy
@flaxz.alive
@kunschj
@vaynard86

Voluntary daily reminder list for those who request to be on it: @ganjafarmer
If you want to be added to the list as well just feel free to ask!

Thank you everyone! I have been working to improve my engagement and all of you have really helped out! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know. I'm always looking to improve my posts.

Good luck to everyone!

And the Wheel of Names results:

Congratulations @irfanmustafa !
You will receive 3 HSBI units!

Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HSBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. An upvote is not required but is always greatly appreciated. Bots aren't allowed to win the prize. Contest ends at 14:00 (2 PM) California Pacific time tomorrow. If I somehow missed your re-blog please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

What are HSBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

Sort:  

I had one of those long ago. Some guy traded me one for a cigarette. And that year. I gave him 2 cigarettes and he was still pissy. Although it was the rainbow family gathering and machine made filtered natural spirit cigarettes are a premium..

I'm still looking for what happened to that.

!DHEDGE

Good Luck Tonight!

IMG_1618.jpeg

@thebighigg has already received an upvote for this post. You still have 3.0 vote calls available today.

Reblogged..

Now I'd never thought this coin would be SO expensive! I mean, this is why I need to learn so much about silver and older coins that could possibly be so valuable that you make bank selling it. That is if someone buys it of course..

Thanks for sharing. I hope you're not only surviving but have a good weekend ahead <3

!PIMP

Condition is everything! Unless you know a lot about Morgan dollars you wouldn't think they could be so expensive. Whenever you find a good price on anything silver I would buy it. I met a fellow it Tucson, Arizona who once went to a garage sale and they had one of these for sale. The lady sold it to him for one dollar. When he got home he took it out of the box and holder only to find a gold coin right behind it! He felt guilty and brought the gold coin over to her home to return it, but she said no, you bought it fair and square! You never know...

!PIMP

Yes for now that's the best approach, anything good deal is appealing. I managed to get 2 silver coins (the same ones) in auction now for a good price, even with the shipping costs (higher than I normally would like to pay) it was still a good deal. I don't even remember what's on the coins now that I think about it, haha. I was just browsing for solid deals where they weren't raising the price and this was a bit of the underdog in the auction.

That's an amazing story. I think my conscious would have bothered me if I didn't try to give it back in his situation. He tried, so more power to him! That's exactly why I like strolling on flea markets, there's always something missed/overlooked and you have to look well enough to find it. It's a sport in a way.

I don't think we'll end up at the market again this week but if so, I hope we find a nice coin.

Have a great weekend!

I can't wait to see what you found!

I just checked and they are two coins from Malta, that's all I will say now :)
And as I just added some BBH tokens to my wallet, I can now at least hand out a few more tips, it's not as valuable as PIMP tokens but it's a token of appreciation ...

!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thisismylife. (2/5)

How many did you pick up? I only have around 1K, but I've been thinking about buying another 9K just for tips.

I got the tip from @bulliontools that if you hold 5k you can tip 5x and get some hive drips. As they are so cheap, I swapped my 1.6 liquid hbd into Hive and was just a little short (4968 lol) .. swapped something more and now I have 5k..

I don't know if holding more than 5k gives more tips, but if so, I will most likely soon add some more.


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thisismylife.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Wave Media

Thank you!
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Damn that is one !PIMP coin!

Pretty damn sweet isn't it?
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thebighigg just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @summertooth.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

!HUG

Dear @thebighigg, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @thehockeyfan-at.
(1/3)

Thanks!
!PIZZA
!HUG
!LUV
!LOL
!MEME

My girlfriend left me because of my obsession with storytelling.
I wonder how the next chapter in my life will go.

Credit: reddit
@hug.bot, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(1/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

@thebighigg sent you LUV 🙂 (1/10)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

That seems like a lovely coin my friend.
!LUV !PIZZA !VSC

@ekavieka has sent VSC to @thebighigg

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@ekavieka ha enviado VSC a @thebighigg

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 1/5

Thanks my friend! I wish I could afford it!
!PIZZA
!LUV
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 0

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@thebighigg sent you LUV 🙂 (2/10)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@ekavieka sent you LUV 🙂 (2/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Reblogged!
About the guessing game, I would go for: PCGS MS64+ CAC
Not sure if that is indeed a guess, as I know nothing about it. Just went on a hunt to be able to do a guess :D

So far you're the only guess, so it's looking good on your odds!

Looks like you win @stekene ! The real grade was MS63.

1883 cc pcgs ms63 dmpl.jpg
from eBay.com

I'll send you over one HSBI unit!

Tyvm! :D
Guess I found another one on ebay 😅

You had me at Carson City Lol!🤗
MS66 …..I can see the mirror finish on this Morgan, dollar now!😀
Put one of these on my wish list as well!😇

When I saw this one I almost started to drool! I love Carson City coins and the mirrors on this one look amazing. If our crypto investments work out well we can probably both afford one!

That wound so nice!🤗
You are so correct it’s hard to beat a Carson City Morgan silver dollar!😀
I wish I had picked up more when the GSA was offering bagged marked C.C.’s as a kid!😇

I think we can all attest to wishing for the moon on some of our possessions. I've got some NFTs up for a pretty penny on one of the auction sites. Beautiful coin!

Thanks! Way outside my price range unless some of my altcoins shoot to the moon! I hope some of your NFT's do sell for a fortune, you could retire early!

I've only got a couple more years anyway, so retiring early isn't as big of a deal as it is for some people! I'd probably still keep working anyway. At least until my wife is done!

I'm the same, they'll carry me out in pine box. I'll keep working at least some otherwise I'll end up on a pier fishing and drinking beer all day!
!lol

Why didn’t the mathematician travel?
He could never reach the city limit.

Credit: reddit
@bozz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(2/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

I'll still be pretty young when I can retire, so I don't think I could get away with not working. Unless crypto does something crazy for us here. Even then, I'll still finish my time. Fishing and disc golf every day would be the life for me!

I'm right there with you on the Morgans and DMPL!

I'll settle for GSA Morgans. They're more within my budget. 😆

!BBH
!DHEDGE

I know that feeling! I've been collecting Morgans for a long time, but some of the ones I really want just cost too much money!
!lol

I invented a new word today.
Plagiarism.

Credit: reddit
@bulliontools, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(7/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

I have the 1888, hehehe!
!LOL

Hot singles in your area?
You need someone to fix their air conditioner.

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of silversaver888

(4/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Unfortunately Carson City wasn't producing in 1888! They were closed for a few years and that just happened to be one of them.
!BBH

@silversaver888! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (1/1)

You received an upvote of 31% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you ssg-community!

I never did find a Carson City Morgan Silver Dollard in Circulating...

Most never circulated much, the Morgan just wasn't a real popular coin because it was heavy. Most ended up in vaults inside the original mint bags. That's good for us because coins in this condition still exist!

I do have some Carson City Trade Dollars, along with some rare Morgan and Peace Dollars... I even have rare Ike Dollars...

Now Trade Dollars are awesome, they are expensive but sooo cool! Morgan and Peace are my favorites to pick up as a general rule. I love Ike dollars too, they were the first one's I collected as a kid.

Fresh from the San Francisco Mint, I bought 5 of the 1971-S Proof and 5 of the 1971-S Uncirculated Ike Dollars... I gave one of the Proofs away, but I still have all the rest...

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @bulliontools! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.cent
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv
- @dhedge.alive

@bulliontools has 2 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
ekavieka tipped thebighigg
@thebighigg(2/5) tipped @ekavieka
thebighigg tipped hug.bot

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/2) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !WEED from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/2) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !LOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

OH NO!
You are out of jokes for the day!

@hiq.smartbot you can call @lolzbot a maximum of 8 times per day.
Level up by buying more $LOLZ so you can share more jokes per day!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @thebighigg.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more