Remembering Why I Don't Buy Early Access Games | Wild West Dynasty

in Hive Gaminglast year

Welcome to my review of Wild West Dynasty, the latest addition to the Dynasty series from Toplitz Productions. As a big fan of the survival genre, I was eagerly anticipating this open-world game set in the Wild West. However, after getting my hands on it, I must admit that I'm a bit disappointed.

Jank West Dynasty.png

First off, let's talk about the game's current state. Wild West Dynasty is still in early access, and it shows. The game is rough around the edges, with stuttering, lag, and long distances between points of interest. Early quests that are meant to introduce players to the mechanics are frustrating to complete, and the constant need to stop sprinting while running to the next objective because of the lack of stamina is a real buzzkill.

Screenshot 2023-02-17 001859.png

The lack of sound effects is also a problem. While I didn't mind the absence of NPC voices during dialogue, I missed the sounds of a busy Western town. There's no bustle of activity, no distant farm animals, wagons, or people talking in the distance. In fact, there's no sound at all, except for my character's footsteps. This lack of immersion broke the game for me.

The story is decent, but the lack of voice actors means a lot of reading is required when interacting with NPCs. Coupled with the absence of sound effects, this made it hard to follow the plot. It's not uncommon for small-budget games to have limited voice acting, but the large amount of reading required, combined with the lack of sound effects, made me want to skip to the end and move on.

Screenshot 2023-02-17 001931.png

Comparing Wild West Dynasty to its predecessor, Medieval Dynasty, is a bit of a disappointment. While Medieval Dynasty was an enjoyable game, Wild West Dynasty falls short in terms of entertainment value. However, it's still in early access, and there's room for improvement. With time, the developers will undoubtedly iron out the issues, add more sound effects, and smooth out the rough edges. But at the moment the game feels very unpolished.

Screenshot 2023-02-17 001947.png

If you're considering playing Wild West Dynasty, my recommendation is to wait for a few updates. While I believe the game has the potential to be great, it needs some work before it's worth investing your time and money in. Overall, I give this game a thumbs down. I'm Lacks, and I would love to hear your thoughts on the game in the comments of my youtube video. Please like and subscribe. Doesn't cost anything on YouTube.



Find my artwork for sale exclusively on NFTShowroom.com
Find my photographs of Nunavut scenery and Wildlife on my website, Midnight Sunsets
Follow me on twitter here: @MidnightSunsets
I am also on Instagram: But only Photography

FxX5caie56ynwsjysm2XuNozdMysq1YNDRbt9X9VeerNm1981Q9QbBMDAvYrEjJ67Z3EpbrLRdsnBevZ2F6H5WcoSPwRUixeZ8mPnXPDCwCS.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @lacking! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 28000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 29000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!