Simple Beginners Guide for Death Must Die

in Hive Gaming5 months ago

A new action roguelike called Death Must Die emerged recently and I've been absolutely hooked to it for the last week now. It takes the best from Diablo, Hades and Vampire Survivors and fuses it into a fantastic amalgamation. Since I've been enjoying it so much I decided to make a serie of videos about the game for my YouTube channel. I have a few guides and videos planned out that I'm going to produce and release over time. First out is the classic beginner guide.

I tried to mimic my most popular video with this one which is the beginner guide I made for Halls of Torment. That video has earned over 60k views in around half a year which I'm quite happy with. I don't expect to get the same amount of views for this one seeing as the competition is much higher for the game but that's how it is. It's still a very popular game on YouTube so I expect the videos I make to trickle in views for a long time.

The game is only in early access as well and there's a lot of new content coming in the next year which means the game is going to stay popular and relevant as well. This means I can keep creating content about it for at least a year or more to come like I've been doing with Halls of Torment whenever it gets major updates.


Thumbnail struggles

I was struggling a bit with the thumbnail for this video. The video started out with barely a 4% click-through rate which is ok but not very good. I copied the style to my beginners guide for Halls of Torment which started out at 15% click-through rate. It's hard to tell if this is due to the competition with other creators or if it is because of the thumbnail itself. I started with the one below and that's currently active on the video but changed it after a few hours. I didn't really see a change in the click-through rate so I changed it back.

THUMB1.jpg

I'm probable going to monitor this for a little while then settle for one of the thumbnails once I have more data on which one is actually doing better. Even if the click-through rate is just 1% better I'd rather use that one.

On this topic I'm quite excited for a feature that YouTube is rolling out in 2024. We creators will be able to add three thumbnails to our videos which will be shown to the audience. YouTube will then monitor which video gets the most clicks and watch time to help you decide which thumbnail is best. This is a huge change that I'm really excited to try out. I already create 2-3 thumbnails for each video in case one fails. This feature will just help me automate the process more and I don't have to experiment manually. YouTube will do it for me.

THUMB3.jpg

THUMB2.jpg


Up above you can see the thumbnails I created for this video. Which one is more likely that you would click?

Even if you don't play Death Must Die yourself I would appreciate any feedback on the video. Is my audio ok? Is my editing ok? Is my pacing ok? Every critique helps me improve my videos.


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog | Twitch | YouTube

Sort:  


I think they're both very good, but if I had to pick one, I'd pick this one. Your voice is great, your gameplay is great, the edits look good, and it's a good guide, man. The game in general is a genre that's been trending lately. I haven't checked this one out yet, but I'll check it out soon.

Cheers. The analytics are currently telling me the original thumbnail was the best. 1-2% better clicks on that one.

Im not too sure which would attract me more... I'm not the biggest fan of pixelated games to be honest, so to be more brutally honest I'd probably not click on either 🫠🤣 but that's more because I'm picky and full of shit😀😀

Well you're not in the target audience for this video then. Thanks for checkin git out anyways :)

Always a pleasure!! 😎😎 Happy New Year bud!!!

 5 months ago  

Great game.
I should congratulate you on that thumbnail, it really appealed to me, maybe it's a niche appeal that the reader likes.
All in all, this game is very interesting.

Thank you!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I haven't played any games like this before but this one seems interesting.
Thanks for sharing.