The Ending To A Plague Tale: Requiem Left Me In Tears

in Hive Gaminglast month

Roughly a week ago I posted about starting A Plague Tale: Requiem. I kept on playing the game throughout the week and by the end I was completely sucked into it. The game just kept on getting better and better towards the end and the immersive story massively overshadowed all the shortcomings I mentioned in that last post. The ending hit me on such a personal level that it left me completely broken for a few minutes after the credits rolled.

A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240328142027.png


General experience

My general experience with the game can be summed up as good. It had a few shortcomings early on that got ironed out as the game went on. Mainly tied to washed out graphics that felt a bit to soft around the edges. I noticed as the game went on that this varied a lot from scene to scene and how the lighting was set up. The dark and gloomy city scenes often felt better than the light and vivid city scenes. The light and vivid countryside scenes felt better than the dark and gloomy countryside scenes.

I also had a few gripes with a lot of the gameplay sequences mostly because I don't really enjoy stealth games that much. Stealth always feel so slow and drawn out to me which makes me struggle to enjoy it. Sitting behind a box and waiting for enemies to path by or sitting there for even longer to memorize their pathing is just excruciating to me. This is mainly an issue early on seeing as you can choose to just kill your way out of everything once your toolbox grows.

There's also skills that level up based on your playstyle which I really like. Since I mostly went aggressive and killed my way out of pretty much every situation I was able to grow my aggressive based skills. This made my weapons more effective and gave me less downtime between each use. A really good design decision on their part. If I was forced to stealth all the way through the game I'm not quite sure if I would have made it past the halfway point.

A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240401120133.png


A story to remember

The story in this game is just fantastic. It starts off just a little bit to slow and uninteresting during the first two or three chapters for me but after that it picks up quite a lot. I'm very happy I decided to play this game when I had a full week off work so I could finish it over a few days. It's not the kind of story that deserves to be experienced in smaller broken up segments. This is a binger for sure.

As per usual with my posts I won't spoil anything of the story outside of the pictures I'm adding to the post. It ties in directly with the first game and picks up pretty much where it left off. We get a reunion with a lot of the same characters from the last game while also meeting a few new ones. There's also quite an interesting epilogue scene worth sticking around for after the credits roll. Makes you wonder if there'll be more games made in this universe even if the story of these characters is clearly finished....

A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240401122059.png

Still some things to do...

Even though I tried to be quite thorough when playing through this I wasn't able to 100% the game on my first run. I'm not quite sure if you can as it seems unlikely to be able to max out all the skills in just one run. I also missed a few collectibles that I could easily go and pick up through the chapter selection if I wanted to.

As for now I'm not quite decided if I want to do another run of the game to pick up the missing pieces. It's of course very satisfying to get that platinum trophy but it's also very tempting to move on to another game. I can of course choose to do it after playing another game for a bit. I've been wanting to give Ghost of Tsushima another chance lately so I might just do that.

A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240401124914.png


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog | Twitch | YouTube

Reveal spoiler


A Plague Tale_ Requiem_20240401110531.png

Sort:  

with those graphics looks like a great game to play

the gameplay is more RPG or 1t/3rd Person?

will search for videos

It's a 3rd person adventure game I'd say.

I am glad that you enjoyed this game. This series is one of my all time favorites. I love the brother and sister relationship in this game.

Yes. The ending hit me a little to hard having experienced losing a younger brother myself.

I am so sorry. My condolences.

 last month  

It is an excellent game, a must experience for every player who wants to try new things. It is good that you have been able to complete the game and finish it as it should be. For my part I was always very bad with everything that is stealth hahaha but well you do what you can.

I'm glad you have the choice to speed up the stealth parts a bit by playing more aggressively in this one.

 last month  

I am trying to not spoil myself on this game. I loved Plagues Tale Innocence and want to play this in the future. All I have heard are good things from this including you!

I tried to not add any spoilers into the review. The images might have some but not to the story. Just to things that you'll get to see mostly.

Some stealth games tend to get boring because of that hiding from enemies mechanic, it can be quite annoying when you are discovered, and you have to start all over again.... XD. But, some tend to achieve a wonderful immersive experience. I tend to value the story a lot: I'm glad this one is still good! In any case, the important thing is that you enjoyed it. 💯

Yeah. Having to restart a sequence because you got spotted is so annoying especially if the stealth mechanics are slow.

 last month  

I understand you perfectly when you talk about stealth, I'm also one of those who don't have the patience for this type of video game, but this one in particular must have been so good for you to finish it and be satisfied or, as you say, with a broken soul, I guess the ending The game is a bit dramatic, and keeping you hooked on it for a whole week must be even more amazing after the stealth part starts.

I'm fine with stealth as long as it's not a slow experience. Luckily you can speed up your progress by being more aggressive in this one.

 last month  

It's a great game with beautiful graphics, I got to play a bit at a friend's house, I loved how it works and a bit I understood about the story.

note: I was fooled by the spoiler part, I thought it was some secret of the game. 😂

Got 'em.

I was really waiting for you to post again about this game. I'm happy to see that the story, as you say, is recovered and that the ending was worth it. I think that if you have been connected since the first one, you still have that motivation to continue and discover what the hell is going to happen now with Hugo after being able to control the rats.

I see that the team followed their wonderful work of photography and art direction, A Plague Tale was undoubtedly a marvel and I see that this one has been as well. Very good post friend! and thanks for sharing.

They went above and beyond with the sceneries and visuals in this game. Just wish the graphics felt a bit sharper instead of being so soft and smudgy. Still a fantastic visual experience.

I understand, the first one also has that blur-style atmosphere. I'm glad it was!