Sort:  

As I understand it, Twitter has never really made money. I don't know how much providing this access for free cost Twitter so I don't know if this really hurts them or not from a financial perspective.

Considering just the Musk era as we have a solid starting point on the financial records we can go off of (though horribly inadequate overall) it is certainly not turning a profit yet.

The actual service is probably cheap to offer, the real cost is in initial development, continued development, maintaining cyber security aspects, etc. Those are all expensive things that require highly skilled programmers to handle.

Now, is it worth $42 to $210k per month? I am not sure. That seems exorbitent to me considering how many companies they could have signed up with a more modest monthly fee.

On a personal note, all the companies (mostly small game developers and smaller movie studios) are still on the platform releasing news and interacting with fans just like before Musk came along. Similarly on TikTok (people talking about leaving over audios being muted), Facebook or Instagram (people claiming they are leaving over whatever change Meta made recently) - 99% of them never leave regardless of the corporate behavior.

Where I see companies (like X) messing up is charging end users. It is proven that if you can bring in a certain amount of end users, companies will pay to access those users.

I personally think, honestly, Twitter integration was a smaller niche of things used on the three major consoles out right now. I don't think it is as popular as a small minority on Twitter that are mad at Nintendo over dropping support want us to believe.

In all the years I have been on Twitter, I have never seen any video or pic shared directly from a game console. I am all over these social media platforms looking for news and article ideas.