The week in Wargame Crafting. Hits, misses, a second store visit, and my first 3d printed models!

in Hive Gaminglast month

When I get swept up in my hobbies it's a hell of a thing. It honestly feel like being swept away in strong waters and I have a hard time thinking of much else. So much has happened over this past week and, even having wrote a few articles, there is a ton that I'd still like to talk about. I'll move fast so we can cover it all.

This week I decided on my army list for the coming Casual Crusade deciding to opt for the path of the Dread Mob over the Bully Boys tribes. This is going to really fit armies aesthetic as a ton my my force is going to be custom crafted or customized. The story line for my force will be that they are a Deathskulls looter force scrapping together anything they can to build a mechanical force to be reckoned with.

I love that Orks are out there having a good time, don't feel pain in the way we do, just keep growing as they live and fight more, and build what they need out of what they have available. I can see myself in that. For someone who loves kitbashing Orks are the only choice.

For example, a few weeks ago a new Orks collector box came out and immediatly sold out. This box contained a Stompa, which is the biggest mech type unit that orks can build in 40k. It's a literal mouintain of armor, dakka, and green skin and ... honestly, it's always been unusable in game. That might have changed with the most recent edition and everyone is excited to try stompas. But, like I said, it sold out and a lot of folks don't wanna spend this much on a single unit.

image.png
You really gotta ask yourself: Are you really about the Stompa life?

Ork players, like Ork mechanics, have a ton of ingenuity and build with what they have on hand to create what they need. This week that has looked like a lot of folks heading to the thrift store and turning this old familiar face into custom Stompas.

image.png
What would Mad Doc Grotsnik do?

image.png
Enter WAAAAAAAGH Tato-Face!

This is a huge inspiration for me. I'm here for this much more than anything that happens at the table of play. For me mini-building is about interacting with my own creativity in a way that becomes all the more difficult in adulthood.

This week that has meant working on my first Deff Dread in about 5 years. I thought this was going to be a great time but, honestly, it was a giant chore. I set my bar high and decided I wanted to use square pegs to allow switching of whatever arm loadout you want. This is the best right? I don't even know anymore. All I know is crafting 13 arms, pegs, and holes has taken forever and been a headache.

image.png
All the options but at what cost?

At this point I honestly think, in the future, I will simply select the load outs I'm looking for the most and build them. If magnets are simple I'll keep doing that for weapon options but, this level of work does not seem worth it, especially considering I don't think I'll even be running a Deff Dread anytime soon.

My first 3d prints!

My first 3d prints came in this week and it was a mixed bag. Take a look:

image.png

The downside is the plastic seemed overly brittle and this resulted in some breaks in transit. I reached out to the seller and they were apologetic and told me they are goiong to be sending out a replacement ASAP. That's great!

Another trip to the LGS

I stopped by my local game store to say hi to some folks, check out some models I had been considering, and watch some of a Warhammer tournament. This was a great time and I know I left the store highly motivated to get home and get building to have my army ready as soon as they have events for me.

Check out these amazing pictures of a Tao on Ork 1750 point battle.

image.png
Shove in, lads!

image.png
This dudes Tao army looks amazing, especially the larger battlesuits which seem like A+ work to me!

I got home and got right to work. This article has reached a good point for me to step away but please know that, in our next communication I'll be sharing my army list, custom kitbashed units, and some lore from my overactive imagination.

Until than, stay safe lads!

Sort:  

Hehehe. Orks can look anything!

Can and will, 'umie skum!