Garden Journal: Harvesting Bananas

in HiveGardenlast month

Greetings!

It has been a while since I posted an update about my bananas. I think today is the right time to share some updates once again and I will be showing you guys the bananas that I harvested and how I harvest them.

I lost track of when I planted these bananas, what I am sure of is they were transplanted more than two years ago and every month I am reaping their fruits. That's free bananas for me almost every month.

Checking if the bananas are old enough

The first step of harvesting bananas is to check if the fruits are old enough to be harvested. Here in our town, we harvest our bananas when they are old enough, we never wait for them to ripen because birds will only destroy eat, and destroy them. Old bananas have a darker shade of green.

Here in our town, we harvest bananas by cutting off the trunk. Cutting off is also the way my father is harvesting banana when I was still young.

These bananas are exactly the dark green that I am looking for, they look lighter because of the sun

Cutting of the trunk

Here in our town, we harvest bananas by cutting off the trunk. Cutting off is also the way my father is harvesting banana when I was still young. But one must be careful in cutting the trunk so that the banana fruits will not fall hard to the ground.

Cutting off the trunk slowly

Assisting the fall of the trunk

For the fruits not to get damaged, we must provide some assistance to the trunk so that it will not fall hard to the ground.

Assisting the fall of the trunk

Separating the fruits from the trunk

In separating the fruits to the trunk I just cut off the stem of the fruit with a bolo then they are ready for storage and wait for them to ripen.

Separating the fruits from the trunk


I cut two banana trunks today, check out the gif images below for the second harvest


That is all for now guys, catch you up with the next one. Wishing you all safety, good health, and abundance.


Thank you very much to all of the Hive Ecosystem Curation Teams/Individuals, I am very grateful for the upvotes/curation/support. God bless you all!


I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, gardener, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, and farming (rice/vegetables), and I have two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Copyright © 2024 @afterglow. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

You cannot just cut the banana. There is a process to do that. And you explained and showed it very well. Nice work! Thank you for sharing this.

 last month  

Thank you very much @diyhub

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 last month  

Thank you very much @qurator

Kya bat hai daju apke toh mjee h🤪🤪