Garden Story : The time I was bitten...

It was a crisp, clear summer afternoon. I watched the sunset as a gentle breeze began to blow. This , in my mind , was the ideal time to water and tend to my plants.

IMG_20230501_154010.jpg

The flowers appeared to stand more pridefully on this day , in its natural display of seasonal beauty. Everything has a time and place. I felt a serene, calming feeling in the thought that one cannot hasten the bloom of a flower.

I took a moment to observe the plants present in the garden, the time and the patience it took to grow. The process, with consistency, felt worthwhile.

IMG_20230315_103244.jpg

The potatoes stood tall in particular, already beginning to produce small white petal flowers with a yellow stigma. Experience taught me that this meant the time for harvest is nearing. "But wait a second..." I thought to myself. "Better to have generations of potatoes, than one harvest's worth."

IMG_20230315_103225.jpg

Over time Ive Observed that pumpkin always tends to display genetic resilience, with the ability to germinate anywhere in the garden.

I reached down to run my hand through the intertwined network of leaves. The garden is tranquil, green and serene. Closer I moved to the bright yellow flower that the crawling pumpkin plant produces to reproduce.

I closed my eyes and took the moment to just feel...
I felt flying presence nearing but paid it no heed. I continued to immerse myself in my own world...

Gasp! Back to reality I snapped...
A rapid stabbing sensation struck my forearm.
My eyes immediately shot open as shock ran through my entire body.

It was a pollinator. A wasp in particular. This was more like "the time I got stung"

Mentions
Thanks for the writing prompt The Creative Garden Challenge
@hivegardenleo

Sort:  
 last year  

What a beautifully written post. You describe the garden beautifully, evoking the peace and calm before the sting! I would have liked more detail about the wasp and the after effects too! Ouch. Thanks for joining in!

❤ Thank you so much. That means a lot to me 🙂

Congratulations @aiden.space.bar! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 30 posts.
Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!