School Garden: My Green Dream for the Learners

in HiveGarden2 months ago

1000030115.jpg

Hello gardening Fam! Let me share with you some of our gardening activities in school before El Niño struck. What are you waiting green thumbs? Let's enjoy reading.

When I entered the Department of Education, I was designated as the school NGP (National Greening Program) Coordinator. I was asked to prepare my programs and activities to be implemented within the School Year. Since I was new to the Department, I prepared and accomplished some of the programs and activities like the Garbage Bin and Garden Landscape Contests.

Every year I encouraged the grade level advisers to beautify their assigned garden. But aside its beautification, it is very important to have healthy plants in our respective area.

When the School Face to Face classes resumed after the pandemic, the Governor of Cebu launched her Sugbusog sa Eskuylahan Program to all public schools in the province. As part of our commitment to support the good Governor, we accepted the challenge to plant vegetables in our garden to strengthen the school-based feeding program for the learners.

20220830_143200.jpg

We joined the Sugbusog sa Eskuylahan Program and was evaluated by the Municipal Agriculture Department Head together with our Public Schools District Supervisor. But with or without the program, we ensured that our garden is functional in producing fresh and healthy vegetables. It is in order to augment our resources in feeding learners who don't have food for lunch. At least we have stopped the increasing number of absences of those identified learners.

Before the beginning of School Year, the parents, learners, and teachers joined together in preparing the garden. We started from mixing the soil, manure, and sandy soil to achieve a good mixture that would supply enough nutrients to the plants. After the pot preparation, we proceeded to the sanitizing of soil mixture intended for the vine seeds.

20220812_091425.jpg

We were doing these things during brigada eskwela. A one week school preparedness activity before the opening of classes. We scheduled different grade levels from Monday to Saturday to clean the classroom and school surroundings including repair of the damages and the garden preparation.

20220812_095730.jpg

Seeds for eggplant, ladies finger, tomato, and others were sown in the seed trays at the plant nursery. On the day after sanitizing the soil mixture, we planted directly the vine seeds to its assigned pots. We also beautify the garden area using recyclable materials.

I also prepared organic fertilizers like the fish amino acid, OHN (Oriental Herbal Nutrient), calcium phosphate, and fermented plant juice. It's easy to create the abovementioned fertilizers. As long as we have the budget and other resources. It will cost a lot but surely help the growth of the plants and its products.

I prepared the fish amino acid using the following; 1 kilo fish and 1 kilo muscovado sugar. I chopped the fish and placed in a jar with an alternate layers of sugar. I covered it with paper and closed the cap of the jar. I stored it for 10 days in a cool-dark place during the fermentation.

20230524_111843.jpg

After a while, I prepared the Oriental Herbal Nutrient by slicing 1 kilo ginger and placed it in a container, I added 2 big bottles of beer and stored it for 24 hours. After the storing time, I added the 1 kilo muscovado sugar and stored it for a week. After a week, I added the mallorca gin and stored it for two weeks. The process of fermentation was done and I harvested the OHN and applied it to the existing plants in our school garden.

1000030116.jpg

I had a hard time doing the fermented plant juice. I was looking for a bamboo shoot but it was not its season to grow. So I used the banana blossom or commonly known as banana heart here in the Philippines. I mixed together the following; 1 kilo of chopped banana heart, 1 kilo chopped banana trunk, 1 kilo coconut meat/flesh, and 1/2 kilo of muscovado sugar. I placed it in a container and secured it with a cap and fermented it for 7 days. I strained the particles and poured the liquid in a bottle and applied it to the existing plants.

1000030117.jpg

We applied the fish amino acid, 1 teaspoon of FAA will be added to a liter of water and poured it to the plants early in the morning. On the other days, we applied the OHN and the FPJ. We ordered a mosquito net from an online shop that serves as UV protection. With the help of some learners, we were able to attached it to the areas affected by the direct heat of the sun.

The time comes that the eggplant, ladies finger, tomato, and other leafy vegetable seedlings were ready for transplanting. We poured hot water to the soil mixture and on the next day we successfully transplanted the seedlings. We also applied the fish amino acid, OHN, and fermented plant juice to supply the needed nutrients for the plants.

20220828_152217.jpg

20220828_152818.jpg

I also took the time to monitor the vermi composting facility located near the plant nursery. I put chopped banana trunks and poured some water to maintain its humidity. With the help of some learners, they also conducted daily monitoring of the said facility. We were able to produce vermi casts and added it to the soil mixture of the plants. We were also lucky to have the 72 year old Tatay Carlos, a grade 12 learner who graduated last School Year as he shared to us his expertise in agriculture.

20220828_155424.jpg

20220914_063738.jpg

20220828_164059.jpg

My co-teachers exerted their efforts in monitoring the health of our plants. They made sure the plants were watered in the morning and in the afternoon. I also asked our School Head to support our goal in constructing a functional aquaponics system. Though we lack the resources, but we tried our best in realizing it by constructing th pond for the Tilapia and the stand intended for the growing of lettuce. I also prepared the styro cups in which I'm going to plant the lettuce using cocopeat. We purchased water pump to transport the water from the pond going up to the lettuce and it will flow back to the pond "as it is a circular food production system of both fish and plant cultivation".

I even visited the school on weekend to monitor the garden and the aquaponics system. I also checked the health status of the vegetables. Aside from the fertilizers, I also made an insect attractant using vinegar, sugar, and molasses. I placed them in a DIY container and hung it above the plants.

1000030118.jpg

The teachers together with their learners harvested their garden products. But before consuming it, they need to present it to me for proper documentation. Sometimes we directly gave the products to the learners. But oftentimes, the advisers prepared them delicious soups for lunch. At least, they reap what they have sown.

1000030113.jpg

1000030111.jpg

It's an amazing feeling seeing the fruit of our labor. Seeds were sown, vegetables were reaped, and healthy foods were served. It is my green dream to have a healthy lifestyle and a healthy school environment for everyone.


Happy planting!


💚💚💚cup-bearer💚💚💚


Lead image was edited in canva.

Sort:  

Wow, your plants are healthy. My parents also do gardening and sell it to the neighborhood.

I had a garden before in our yard. The plants were healthy and we cooked it for food. But now, because of our neighbors hens I stopped planting vegetables. The hens scratched the plants so they all died. I hope someday I could make a fenced garden in our yard. I really love planting and caring the plants.

Everyone must be glad to be able to harvest such healthy vegetables and plants. The looks of green is so calming and healthy.💗

Aside from that @rainebow0407, it's organic that's why it's safe and has lots of nutrients which nourish our body. How I wish we can plant more vegetables in our garden to supplement the feeding program of our learners.

Congratulations @cup-bearer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Thank you @hivebuzz for this another badge. I am looking forward to reach another target. Enjoy your day! 🫶

This brings back a beautiful memory during my elementary days. Students were grouped and should have their own gardens. As a kid, I thought that was very exhausting, but looking back at it now, I realized it was indeed fun and important.

I also dream of having my own gardening farm someday. ✨🙏

Planting is fun and a good way to release stress. Seeing them grow healthy could give us happiness. And when they produce vegetables, it gives us organic food, which gives nutrients to our body. Delicious and a chemical-free food. 😊