Garden update - October

in HiveGarden7 months ago

Springtime.png

Flower Cover.png


The rain and cold has finally made an exit and I realised that there were some gardening chores that I needed to do to prepare some of the plants for the scorching days on the way.

Amazingly, the couple of trees that have been sitting in bags since last year are still alive and have exploded with new leaves since the days have stretched. The jasmine has been making me smile with some really pretty pink buds that are now in a massive spray of white blooms all over the plant and even my thyme is flowering. It's been so rewarding watching all the plants come back to life and pushing out new growth.


Pots.png


We went shopping for large pots and then found these - they are about half the price of plant pots but are minus the holes...I decided to sort that out quite quickly and grabbed the cordless drill. Zip zip zziippp and away we go. I enjoyed covering the floor with colourful plastic spirals and I rescued the little millipede from in between them and carried her to the garden too.

Looking at the size of these buckets I totally miscalculated the amount of soil they take. We got 10 x 30dm bags of soil thinking that each pot would probably take three. They took one and a half each, so I was very happy to have soil left over to repot all the other plants that have outgrown their space.

I spent a good couple of hours in the garden and loved every second, making sure each plant was well watered after I had repotted them. I also planted the mint I was gifted by my friend Tash. It seems to be happy and enjoying the sun. The herbs in the planter are also doing really well now. The rosemary has doubled in size, I've repotted the thyme and both oreganos as they have also just boomed in size. It's amazing to have fresh herbs on hand for cooking and in the coming weeks, the new planter box should be in and then I'll put them all in there. I also took some oregano cuttings to root which I will give to friends and family.

Since having had such a bad tomato experience recently, I'm hesitant to try that again for a while, but maybe now that it's summer I would have better results. It would be nice to have some sort of home grown fruit, but maybe for now I should just stick to strawberries and not try my luck too much.

Gardening has become such a nice part of my week, I'm looking forward to more projects soon. Even though there isn't that much space here, I'm making it work and using what I can to make it happen.


New Soil.png



𝑷𝒓𝒐𝒖𝒅𝒍𝒚 𝑨𝑰 𝒇𝒓𝒆𝒆. 𝑨𝒍𝒍 𝒊𝒎𝒂𝒈𝒆𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒘𝒓𝒊𝒕𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒂𝒓𝒆 𝒎𝒚 𝒐𝒘𝒏.


Sort:  

Fresh herbs are always amazing. I used to grow mint and basil. It was such a joy when I can make mint tea at any time 😊

I know right? The mint is going to be used for all sorts of things. I made mint and feta peas a few days back and they were great. You should try it. Mint tea for the win!

Gardening really is so rewarding! It looks like you had a great time repotting all those plants. That jasmine really is pretty! You are multitalented, gardening and power tool use!

I'm going to have to bring my more temperature sensitive peppers inside soon, they don't like the cooler temperatures. I love peppers! I hope your plants bounce back from the transplant shock quickly, beautiful pictures by the way.
!DEHEDGE

It most certainly is rewarding, especially after such a lot of rain and dreary weather. Yes, I don't mind using the simpler power tools. I won't touch a band saw though.

Your weather is cooling now so you'll be doing the opposite. I like peppers too. I've got some seeds in the ground, I'm waiting for to pop up.

Thanks for the comment.

Stay away from band saws, they're a very good way to lose a finger if you aren't careful!
!lol

What did the judge say when the skunk walked into the courtroom?
“Odor in the court!”

Credit: reddit
@emma-h2, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(4/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

I can sense your excitement from the other side of the world. I never realized but I guess you're living in ( or around ) Australia? as you're talking about Spring and Autumn just started here ;^)

You must be getting to see all the beautiful colours of Autumn, it is a lovely season, just a pity it doesn't stick around for long. I'm very excited to be getting back into the garden, it's been a stupidly long winter here. Thanks for coming by Philosoraptor 😁

It's hard to distinguish the season out here but I'm really enjoying Spring, so far, eventhough sunshine has become sparse ( lately ).

And the beautiful 'colors' are basically green and green out here but it's one of my favorites ;>)

Lol, green and green works. I like spring, it brings me out of my slumber and need to hibernate. Winter is necessary but damn, I never enjoy it. Hope you are well Vincent.

Funny that I said Spring. Meant to say: Autumn. It's Autum here. Temporarily cool and with loads of rain. Definitely green :<)
💚

I am well. More on that in yesterday's post ;<)

Sounds like a great day spent in the garden. I imagine the mint will multiply in no time. Brilliant idea on buying buckets and making holes in them yourself.

I know mint can get out of hand when it's in the ground, but I can't wait to have a solid patch of it there. The buckets seem to work well...the only drawback is that widow spiders have already infested the underside of the rim. I am not a fan to be honest. Thanks for coming by 🌿

Yes, I observed the same thing when Mom had mints some time ago. It covered a good area in their place which was kind of good because it seemed to have controlled mosquitoes.

Oh, darn spiders. I'm having the same problem with them and actually asked the husband to check if there's any spray for them, lol! They tend to be everywhere.

Control mosquitoes? Excellent, that mint better grow fast because they are everywhere here 🤣

Damn spiders drive me bonkers I tell you. I sympathize, they seem to like the rims and I want to get rid of them before they start nesting and planting egg sacks everywhere. Grrr gives me the heebie geebies! I hope you can find spray, I think I'm going to do the same.

Yes. That's what we observed anyway :)

Haha, I hear you. They really can drive one crazy. And I hope the husband finds the spray. I'm getting tired of driving them away now and then but they keep coming back, lol!

@tipu curate

Thanks Nina 😉

That's great
I don't have a garden yet but I'm hoping to have one anytime soon and I think I should get this kind of pot
Cool right?

It works well so go for it. Keep your dreams alive and you'll have that garden in no time.

Congratulations @emma-h2! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023