Planting Starts - July 5, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden10 months ago

Front porch - view in shade crop July 2023.jpg

After all the rain we got, 2” on Tuesday alone, the humidity was through the roof. A heat wave was rolling in also. I went out to start planting the New Herb garden, but spent a good amount of time in the shade on the front porch, cooling off. This was the view.

New Herb - working on Row 1 crop July 2023.jpg

I started down by the wormwood and did each bed separately. I’d put down amendment after moving the mulch, then put the mulch back and add more if needed.

New Herb - Row 1 finished2 crop July 2023.jpg

The wormwood is behind me. I planted balsam and pyrethrum in the first bed. Then the woad got deadheaded, fed, and mulched. Next was the tiny astragalus and then the huge elecampane. By the time I got here, I was really struggling with the humidity.

New Herb - Row 1, butterflyweed flowers crop July 2023.jpg

Next to the elecampane was the butterflyweed. The flowers are just starting to open.

New Herb - Row 1 finished1 crop July 2023.jpg

I planted some of my Tulsi basil next and then I came to the Roman wormwood. It has done very well and is moving into other beds. I dug up some and put it back in its own bed. The last plant was Joe Pye weed. I didn’t expect that to make it but it’s doing very well.

I had mulched as I went along, taking the extra bales out of the Small garden and going to the barn to bring back the last 3 up there.

I had lasted til 9:30AM after a 7AM start and had to quit. I didn’t get much else done the rest of the day, just trying to cope with the humidity.

On Thursday my new helper comes at 6AM and I hope to get at least 1 more row done. I am running out of mulch so I hope there’s enough to finish this row.

My helper friend will also be here at 11:30 and we will be working inside where it’s slightly cooler.

Sort:  

What neat lines. I also like to work in the garden.