Pumpkin harvest - look what our worms helped us grow!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

We harvested some huge pumpkins from the garden recently. The best part? We didn’t intentionally grow these! When we lived in Sydney we had pumpkin vines spring up randomly almost every summer but we never got pumpkins.

Harvest the pumpkins

It’s likely that these came from the worm castings that we mix in to the soil. Our busy worms in the worm farm lap up all the veggie scraps we feed them and give us … huge pumpkins! I just love the circularity of it.

This gives an indication of their size - no that is not a giant apple!

The worst thing about pumpkin - prepping the pumpkin

We’ve used up one pumpkin so far. I used about half to make ‘pumpkin gnocchi’, which my mum used to make when I was a kid and she kindly typed out the recipe for me and emailed it when I was living in London in the early noughts. It’s basically mashed pumpkin, eggs, melted butter, garlic, parmesan cheese, and semolina all mixed together and baked, then cut up into squares, served with a creamy herby sauce. After you cut the squares, you serve them in bowls with the sauce and then put back into the oven for a while to crisp up the edges a bit.

Pumpkin gnocchi

This didn’t turn out the best - I think because I didn’t have enough eggs for the amount of pumpkin we had so I substituted some of them with ‘flax eggs’ and it also needed a bit longer in the oven. I also substituted semolina with lupin flakes but I don’t think that was a problem. Anyways, it still tasted pretty good.

With the other half we made pumpkin soup - so original! It’s probably not worth it describing how I make pumpkin soup because I’m assuming everyone makes it (more or less) the same.

Good old pumpkin soup

We’re headed into winter about now and just days after I harvested the second and third pumpkins the first frost came and the vines seemed to die pretty quickly after that. There are a couple still out there that were just getting started so I’ll bring those in this weekend to add to the collection. Let’s hope we get another bumper pumpkin harvest next year.

Sort:  

These are really nice pumpkins and I would not mind having some pumpkin soup from you.

Thanks fren.

 2 years ago  

Love the pumpkin, I wish I could also harvest a pumpkin like that.

 2 years ago  

I love pumpkin and apple soup, so yummy. We are going to be planting pumpkin too (Brisbane) i have friends whose pumpkin had taken over and they keep finding pumkins in crazy places... lol

They definitely take over! I might throw in some apples next time - sounds interesting.

 2 years ago  

Yeah adds a touch of a different type of sweet. :-) definitely look it up.

 2 years ago  

Oh wow I'd really love that recipe if you have it!!!! We have heaps of pumpkin too..

Here it is - https://www.evernote.com/shard/s84/sh/6226e36e-c946-b25e-f629-1531fd3edf4e/8116df92ec049967b188199e3aa4e943

Small adjustments here and there are fine, ie if it seems
too heavy on the butter, cream or cheese ;-)

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much. Looks like a good winter feast!!

Congratulations @mrhill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 37000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 38000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!