Getting close to planting time for these seed trays

in HiveGarden13 days ago (edited)

The seedlings have had a few weeks to emerge and get big under fluorescent lights. And soon they will go out to the green house to grow there until ready to put in the ground. This year I am doing things a differently in the raised bed garden. From last years mistakes I think I have a better idea of how to go about doing better. Along with a good tip from @myjob about using shade cloth. And @livinguktaiwan pointing out there is not enough actual dirt in the raised garden beds to grow some of these plants, as I used mostly wood chips and hay. So this year I am adding shade cloth and using garden soil around the seedlings to help them retain moisture better, and have some protection from the afternoon sun.

The Swiss chard above is doing great. I bet the roots are growing out the bottom of the tray right now.

A mix of Nasturtium, Wild Pea vine and Mini cantaloupes. Really excited to see how these mini fruits form. I had some more seedlings in here like Sweet Peas, but they grew so fast I had to move them outside already. Some of the Nasturtium I have also planting in boxes around the house.

Many spices are being grown in the above tray, only three of each are grown since spices are used less than vegetable type plants such as Lettuce or Carrots.

Cauliflower and Trinidad Scorpion peppers. Looks like the light was interfering with my camera sensor, that happens with these florescent lights.

Carrots are doing well, probably ready to go in the ground too.. Hopefully its okay to grow them in trays at first.

Cucamelon and more peppers. With sweet and spicy there will be much to pick from.

A few kinds of tomato being grown like Beefsteak, Roma and Cherry.

More kinds of Lettuce and Broccoli. Will want to set up shade cloth over those.

Onions and Raddish.

The Lavender seeds have been strange, about 10% of the planted seeds emerged within a few days. And then the rest are slowing showing up weeks later now.

That Swiss chard looks so happy.

Last year it was one of the few plants that partially survived. So hopefully with a scoop of garden soil around the seedlings and some shade cloth they will succeed this year.

The Lettuces are doing great as well. At this point we could technically eat the leaves. But would rather leave them to make sure the plant gets all the resources it needs to grow.

Two kinds of Lettuce in this tray, hopefully they will do well.

They look ready to go as well, so a few plants like the spices need longer I think in their seedling trays. But many of the vegetables are ready to be put in the ground. My planting start date is around May 1st, so very soon they will get to go in the ground and start their adventure growing outside. I have some 40% shade cloth ready to go and will cover them as I plant. Will be my first time working with the stuff so should be interesting.

I am really thankful for everyone's advise on these plants and how to grow them. I think without the help of the Hive community I would be making many more mistakes and would take longer to learn from them. So thanks much for all the tips given along the way. Hopefully this year will go much better with the changes suggested.

Sort:  

carrots and raddish: direct-seed. transplanting them is... crazy.

good luck growing onions from seed... not worth the hastle imo.

lavender: I had one bush and just kept digging up some of its rootlings and transplanting and now I got like 10. Never even thought about raising them from seed (didn't even know they sold seeds, lol)... works great with thyme, too (proof in my latest post)

anyways, good luck with it all.

Ah I should have read the directions better on the seed packs. Usually I just look at the depth and go from there. Okay will if they do not transplant well I will keep that in mind next year.

I was going to buy some lavender plants and do root cuttings but I did not have any established. So figured trying by seed, but maybe they will grow very slow.

Thanks man, appreciate the tips.

That Swiss Chard does look really nice. We still have a couple more frosts in store here, so I am not sure it would be smart for me to put anything out. Besides my garlic that was in the ground from last year. I am hoping I can get something out of that this year. I'm still on the fence if I will put a tomato plant in towards the end of May.

Yeah that Swiss Chard is quite happy. We just got a frost a few days ago but I think by May 1st around here we will be done with it.

Best of luck with your garlic and whatever else you plant this year.

Thanks, I appreciate it!

very fertile vegetables, my favorite vegetable is carrots, I like carrot juice, because it tastes very good.
I really enjoyed your post

I love carrots too.. they make great dipping snacks.

Not sure if I have ever tried carrot juice, I should.

I actually eat a lot of greens and have been thinking for a few years now to try hydroponics since I don't have a garden space, people think it's simple because they see the YouTube videos 😅🤣 now that I see you grow seedlings inside have you ever try growing veggies fully indoors? Any takes on hydroponics? ✌️

Ah gotcha, I do not know much about hydroponics. I know people that really like it. But I have stuck with the dirt method.

Yep I have grown leafy greens for eating last year.. they did very well: https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@solominer/growing-greens-in-my-basement

Good morning dear friend @solominer
How great it is to see the growth of your plants, the varieties of chard have developed very well, just like the lettuce and tomatoes, they will soon be ready to go outside
It is a very good idea to paint a half shade cloth, it will protect you from the sun and rain, plastic could also work very well, especially if you live in an area where the temperature is cold

I wish you many successes

They are doing great.

Ah thanks for sharing those, I need to figure out how I want to hang the shade cloth. But yeah they sure do well protecting from the sun.

Wow, what a nice seedlings, you made a nice plantation, they are so growing so healthy and nice, well done, you really give out a nice post

Much appreciated... glad you liked the post.

Looks like an awesome start to the garden season coming up! The chard is the boss of the group haha but hopefully the lavender will catch up!

We are going to cut some corners this year and get plants already started from one of the local farms to reduce some of the time it takes on our side. A little lazy, but hoping to get a decent little garden going out on the deck!

Hah yeah that Chard is quite the dominant plant in the group.

Oh nice, nothing wrong with getting some already established plants.

Hello @solominer, my grandfather had a huge garden at the back of the house, and on the weekends I helped him plant, we didn't make seedlings, we planted directly outside.

Your plants will look beautiful, especially tomatoes, lettuce and chard.

I hope that when sowing outside it is very good and you have many vegetable plants

Oh very cool, sounds like fun.

Thanks, I hope they do well too.

You have a lot of veggies, bro. Some of them look so healthy, especially the Chard. Good luck with the replanting

Hah yeah man I sure do, its gonna take a few hours to get them all planted in a few days.

Thanks bro

Yeah, you have a lot of work now

Every time I try to plant something like this, it goes wrong. I find it amazing to see from the seeds to the harvest! I hope it goes very well there. They look beautiful!

Hehe well hopefully you can figure out where you went wrong. My mistake last year was too much sunlight and not enough actual soil to retain water.

I do love seeing them go from seed to harvest, indeed.

Lots of green veggies and it is nice to see that you have worked hard to grow these greens. You are doing great farming

Thanks, I think all the hard work is paying off.

absolutely. the outcome shows that you are working hard sir

Looking forward for your harvest @solominer .

Thank you, will do another update post when I have some fruits or veggies to show.

I'm excited to see the fruit of your labor too. ☺️ @solominer

I'm particularly excited to see how those mini cantaloupes turn out too. It's a fun and unique addition to the garden in my opinion. And the mix of Nasturtium, Wild Pea vine, and spices sounds like it's going to make for a really vibrant and flavorful growing space.

Yeah those mini cantaloupes should be a fun one to watch grow.

Will be so cool to get some of them to eat.. Hope they taste like normal cantaloupes.

Wow the seeding is really doing good. It grow well.

They sure are happy.

Looking like a great start to a healthy bit of produce in the future!

Yeah man I think so, hopefully they do as well outside as they are doing inside.

Your veggies are looking great, how we choose when to transplant is when we see the roots coming out the bottom of the tray they are in but we are in Florida and winter has been over for a couple of months, and we only leave the shade cloth over them for a couple of weeks when we first put them out in the sun, this is to keep the sun from burning them.

I agree with @livinguktaiwan that you need plenty of soil and carrots like loose soil. Good luck, it looks like you are on the right track to having plenty of veggies to eat.

Thank you, ah good point. I think many roots are poking through the bottom. I have not checked yet.. Just waiting for the risk of frost to be over. Just a few days away from that now.

Oh okay, I was not sure how long to leave the shade cloth on them. Last year they never got a chance to get established. So maybe this year they will do better with a little protection.

Yeah she made a good point, I was using mostly mulch and wood chips. And indeed it was not fine enough for the plants.

The plants are so cute, especially those two kinds of lettuce. I love lettuce, and that's awesome. I'll try to plant those kinds of lettuce tho. Thanks!

Hehe thanks, I cannot wait to harvest some outside. I must wait though and not steal their leaves before they are ready.

Sadly we don't realize how many important aspects need to be taken note of when playing around with plants. I figured that out the hard way after most of my plants transferred in the wrong period of the year died... lesson learned!

Ah yeah, you must be careful not to plant too early.. or too late. Last year I planted late as I was barely finished building their raised beds by June. Luckily this year I will get started a month early and hopefully they will not get so cooked.

Hope you get to try again and learn from what you did wrong with the last plants.

There's nothing like growing your own lettuce, man, everything natural is so much better. I see you are growing so many different varieties, I hope you get great harvests from all of them.

So true, fresh lettuce is the best. We used to buy some from a local farmers market that was picked the morning of the market.. so tasty, so looking forward to pulling it right off the plant and having some.

thanks man.

Most taproot plants absolutely hating transplanted. They do far better direct seeded. It looks like the seedlings by and large would benefit from having the light a good bit closer…

I did wonder how things would do in wood chips and hay. Generally plants need the biology found in soil to be healthy.

Ah okay, well I will keep that in mind for next season. If I still have some seeds left I may try planting them now, but I may have used them all up. The lights are just a few inches away from the seedlings. I think any closer they may get burned.

Well this year I am not just using wood chips and hay. Each spot I put a plant, I scoop out a hole in the wood chips and hay and add a shovel full of garden soil. Then I place the plant on top and fill it in with more garden soil. Then cover with the wood chips and hay. So I hope this year they do better.

Before reading your post I only know about green lettuce leaf. But I know about light red colour of lettuce leaf.

Ah yeah there are all kinds of lettuce, I have tried many kinds and each is quite nice in its own way.