New Tower Garden for Herbs - by Sunscape

in HiveGardenlast month

hivegarden-spinach.jpg

The spinach is still growing in the first garden tower I planted in mid-February. I must admit that it seems more robust than the spinach from the grocery. Perhaps because I eat it the same day it is picked.

Recently I went to the dollar store and came across tower garden sections for only $1.25 each. I purchased nine sections for $11.25 which was a great deal. I thought growing some of my herbs this season would be a great way to save some garden space for more peppers this year.

Soil Mix


hivegarden-tower-garden-herbs-1.jpg

I mix my own blend for potting in container gardens. I use an all-purpose potting mix, leaf compost, compost, and peat from Maine, and lastly, I add some Coco Koir for moisture retention.

Assembly


hivegarden-tower-garden-herbs-2.jpg

I thought about the height the tower would become and decided to have my husband drill large holes in the center of each one. I had an old handle from a rake that broke and used that to stabilize the tower. I know we can get some gusty winds and did not want to take a chance it would blow over.

hivegarden-tower-garden-herbs-3.jpg

Once all the cells were filled, I transplanted the cold-loving seedlings that I previously started.

In the bottom row, I planted white globe radish, then 2 rows of cilantro, 1 curly parsley, and two layers of mixed lettuce. I left the top two empty, as my savory and marjoram are not ready to plant out yet.

hivegarden-tower-garden-herbs-5.jpg

I placed the tower on the North side of my porch where it stays shady most of the day. This way the cool-loving plants will stay happy and last longer.

hivegarden-tower-garden-herbs-6.jpg

The towers from the greenhouse were moved outside this week and I have a lot of lettuce that needs to be picked as you can see.

Grow Bags


hivegarden-potato-growbags-1.jpg

Last year I used three of the grow bags to grow potatoes. They did very well considering the limited growing area. We enjoyed them so much that I decided to do the same this year.

This week I planted the potatoes that were growing chits in my pantry. The potatoes in the container are still in the greenhouse. I planted red potatoes in it back in late February. I will move them out in a couple weeks. We are expected to have nights dropping into the 30s yet. I don't want to take a chance and hurt the foliage.

All in all, it was a busy day planting and I will keep you all updated on the tower garden's progress throughout the season. Happy gardening!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  
 last month  

Ohh! I could put one of these towers on my tiny back porch, which is right outside my kitchen. Thanks for the idea. And for the potting soil mix recipe.

I also grew potatoes in bags last year. I was very happy with the results, and might be planting tomatoes in some of the bags this year to see if that works. What do you think?

 last month  

I think you should do a tower garden too. Potatoes in the bags saved me a lot of space but for tomatoes, I think they need serious staking or a panel to grow up and be tied to. I was thinking of using a bag just for some short carrots as well. It will be fun to see. I went and bought more sections of the towers to just grow bush beans since something always eats them when I plant them in the ground. We shall see how that works this summer.

Tower pots look great. I'll try to look for these pots if I have time. You are amazing when it comes to planting. I am learning a lot from you. 🫶

 last month  

I hope you find some tower pots, they sure save garden space. Thanks for the compliment.

I would love to see a tour of your pantry! Cool deal on the new tower!

My cold frame hasn't warmed much as it's been cloudy and cold and will continue so for the next week until the 28th. Hopefully we get enough sun to warm it and I can move stuff out on the 28th. I have another seed starting May 1...

 last month  

I bought another tower and may try planting bush beans in it. Something eats them every year so I never have beans. lol We are having the same weather dipping into the 30s again and rain off and on. I am hoping for sun during the day to keep the greenhouse warm. I wonder if this pattern is going to continue all summer. Crazy weather!

I sure hope not!

How are you dear friend @sunscape good morning
What a great idea, I love these tower pots, you will undoubtedly gain a lot of space in your garden that you can use for other vegetables.

Thank you very much for sharing this news

 last month  

I loved it so much I went back to get another set to use just for growing beans. ;-)

The tower pots are very lovely and I would love to have one or two, it will surely save a lot of space.

 last month  

They certainly save me some garden space. I am excited to have the garden towers.

My grandfather loves plants, he definitely wants to have pots like these @sunscape
Your plants look great in this type of pot

 last month  

Thank you, Abigal your grandfather is a very wise man and a great supporter of my posts. ♥

Congratulations @sunscape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 2800 posts.
Your next target is to reach 2900 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge
 last month  

Whoot! Whoot! Look at me go!

Go @sunscape, go!
👯💃👯💃👯💃

BTW, may we ask you to support our proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248

Thank you.