Top Dressing Gardens with Compost - by Sunscape

in HiveGardenlast month

hivegarden-mulch-raspberries.jpg

After receiving 7 yards of leaf compost, it was time to top dress all the garden beds. I had already put down horse manure in late February to let it break down, I like to do that before I plant all the seedlings from the greenhouse.

The raspberries are leafing out nicely and that bed has been fertilized and composted. I thinned out the plants last season and shared them with my cousin. Now it will be easier to pick berries and I should have a nice harvest this year.

hivegarden-flowers-mulch-1.jpg

The candytuft draping over the rocks looks nice with the fresh layer of compost. It really stands out now that everything is spruced up.

hivegarden-coldframe-veggies-3.jpg

The scallions I planted are standing up nice and strong and the garlic is too.

hivegarden-coldframe-veggies-4.jpg

I planted the garlic last November along the fencing where I grow the cucumbers and tomatoes. Once they are harvested I can plant a row of beans or beets. I am never sure of which one I will plant until I do. I am not as organized as Pam @goldenoakfarm she is a master at planning the layout of her gardens. ;-)

hivegarden-coldframe-veggies-5.jpg

As you can see, I don't have one particular spot for garlic. I tend to scatter it all around to help deter the deer from eating my plants.

hivegarden-mulch-spring-a (1).jpg

The peonies are all up and setting buds. I have a nice variety of different ones that I will share once they bloom. This is another area that was top dressed this week in between the rainy days.

14.jpg

14 (1).jpg

This is the area around my porch and pond. It rained hard for three straight days flooding everything. The water was over the top of the rocks and caused the liner of the pond to shift. The water literally got underneath the liner pushing it upwards, this in turn pushed the water out of the pond.

Even the lawn has an inch of water on top of the grass. It took days for it to finally soak all in. By then, it needed cutting so the lawn mover had its spring debut.

hivegarden-mulch-lettuce.jpg

Once this bed was topped I planted a few of the Buttercrunch lettuce and some Cilantro seedlings underneath one of the Lilac trees. The tree offers shade from the afternoon sun and keeps the plants cooler.

hivegarden-mulch-1.jpg

The back bank needed freshening up this year. My husband went and purchased 30 bags of large pine bark nuggets. This area is only landscaped and is underlined with a heavy black fabric.

hivegarden-mulch-2.jpg

Topping it with the nuggets prevents seeds from germinating. I never put compost in this area just for that reason. It is one less garden that needs weeding, which simplifies life.

hivegarden-mika.jpg

Mika was a constant companion during the entire process. Of course, she also wanted to play off and on. The day is always about her!

dpet-2.jpg

Playtime is a must and a good excuse to take a break now and then. Next week, I am certain I will be able to plant a few more seedlings out after this cold snap passes. Happy Gardening Everyone!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg


Sort:  

You wanna come do my raspberry bed?? Yours looks so nice now! If I planted things here and there, unless I had a written plan, I’d forget what was where!

With the deer so close these days I might have to do as you do… That water under the liner won’t ruin the pond will it? Mika is sooo cute!

 last month  

Your raspberries should be ready to leaf out too I imagine. Hahaha, I tend to forget where some things are too, but I walk around a lot to check on things. Plus I don't have the size gardens you do, thank goodness. A few years back, behind my butterfly garden and I had a huge vegetable garden. It was the entire length of my yard. It was a lot for me at the time as I needed 4 surgeries in a row, so we eliminated it. Now, I wish I had it back but then I would have to process so much more, lol.

The pond will be fine, the water under the liner will soon drain and the liner will settle back down. If it needs readjusting my husband will move some of the rocks and put it back in place. Mika is a good garden buddy, although she thinks what I plant she should take right back out. Thus, the fencing.

Yes, the raspberries have lots of leaves! These supervisors, sometimes I wonder about them. Here was mine this morning when I was trying to sort out recycling and shredding:

Helping with recycle crop April 2024.jpg

 last month  

I love it! Pets are the best medicine next to growing, just saying!

My God, so nice and how diligent you are!

 last month  

Diligent I am, there is much to do to get all the gardens in tip-top shape for planting. The plants I am growing in the greenhouse are getting very big. Have a wonderful day.

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 last month  

thank you very much, @ewkaw for the support.