Welcoming 6 New Huskies To The World!

in Malamutes & Huskies7 months ago (edited)

CF1742EC-B887-48D1-AC11-752A266A48DD.jpeg

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Just as my beautiful Laika was about to have puppies, my Mrs decides to bugger off on holiday leaving me all alone to play midwife...brilliant.

Armed with a welping kit, a large durable treat to keep Milo out of the way during the birth, and a shit-ton of towels, I prepared myself for a long night (which turned out to be a long night and a day!).

Fortunately, I'm friends with a lady who breeds huskies, otherwise this experience would have been absolutely terrifying. I mean, seriously, my hands where built for fixing trucks, not birthing babies! But what the heck, it can't be that hard, can it...

As you'll see, there were some scary moments during the pregnancy and by the end of it we'd both been awake for around 36hrs! It was gruelling to say the least but having the opportunity to assist in such a beautiful part of life was incredible and something I'll never forget.

We're not dog breeders but always wanted for our dogs to have at least one litter of pups. Unfortunately for my Mrs, she didnt get to witness this awesome event, which is why I tried to document and record so much of it. However, it does mean that I get to share it with you all. And if I have to see the gory bits then so do you!

So buckle folks and get ready for creation in all its beautiful and not-so-beautiful forms...


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hi @article61,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Just as my beautiful Laika was about to have puppies, my Mrs decides to bugger off on holiday leaving me all alone to play midwife...brilliant.

Ha! This made me laugh out loud :) I watched the video and it seemed you did a wonderful job as a midwife, congrats on all the new babies :) Laika seems like a wonderful mom!

Too bad one got stuck along the way, good to see that after that, things went smooth.

Reminds me of the time that my shepherd had babies and there were 11 pups. What an intense, but beautiful time that was. Also when my cats had babies btw, lovely memories and so good to see how these animals deliver those little ones, isn't it?

sending lots of good vibes your way and maybe hoping to see an update on the progress when you find time :)

Thanks! It was such a great experience, even with the added dramas. Laika is continuing to be an amazing mum and it's going to be awful to separate them when the time comes.

11 pups! Omg that must have taken a long time and I can't imagine what you'd do with them all once the next was being born 🤯

I'll make sure to post an update in a week or so once they're a bit more mobile 😌

Thanks for stopping by and sending much love to you and yours ❤️

I can imagine, and how lovely to see she continues being a great mum! <3

The 11 pups were born in two badges lol, I remember 6 or so came out in several hours total, the rest took until the night. I went to bed and woke up seeing a few more, and when I was awake the last came. One was a stillborn, much smaller than the rest and one was not accepted by the mother at first, I handfed it for a few days and then mum took over, until 10 days she didn't want to feed him anymore. That day the pup died in my arms. A good reminder that nature always knows when something is not ok..

I'm hoping not to miss the post, you can also tag me if you like, as I love looking at these pups :)

I hope all is well over on your end of the world, much love! <3

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @article61.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District