Taking a break in Puerto Rico

in Gratitude17 days ago

My father invited my to go with him to Puerto Rico. It was a chance to spend some time with him so I agreed.

Initially I felt a little hesitant, but I decided to go with the flow. I worked as much as I could, and payed all the monthly bills early this month. It was a good reminder of how my month "have to's" dictate my life. Yet I did it. I pushed through the doubt that was felt as the day got closer. On the last day I got a few more hours of dashing in, then gathered some last minute supplies before heading to my dad's house. From there we headed to Jfk airport.

In the end the doubts were proven unnecessary. Now I'm here adjusting to the heat. One of my unspoken traditions when going to the island is to get myself a cup of passion fruit juice. I unexpectedly I found myself enjoying a passion fruit tea while eating at a a Sizzler. It was my first time going to one, and though the food was unimpressive. The ingredients were fresh, and that made it decent. Yet the highlight was the passion fruit tea.

Something about being on the island rearranges my clock, and i got up at 7am. This from a night person is somewhat impressive for me. I went with my dad to a near by market and we ordered two breakfast sandwiches, and a piece of flan.

I guess the main adjustment is the lack of urgency. That and the sounds of birds and chickens everywhere. That might be why I woke up so early. Either way I'm going with the flow. I'll tackle the "have to's " when I get back. They won't be going anywhere.