Lizards on the Loose! Explore Exotic Encounters in Subang Jaya

Growing up in Malaysia, my youth was sprinkled with extraordinary encounters at my grandparents' home, where my cousin and I played amid the unusual and wonderful. One of our most unique pets was a wild iguana, a stark contrast to the typical cats and dogs with their soft fur and playful antics. The iguana, with its rough, scaly skin, offered a whole new world of touch and interaction, intriguing and a bit intimidating.

Just a few days ago, nostalgia led me to an exotic pet café, a place where the wild parts of the world meet urban comfort. This wasn’t just any café—it was Fangs by DEKORI Premium Café, nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, where reptiles, snakes, and even spiders are not only displayed but can be interacted with freely.

I found myself drawn to the lizards, creatures that reminded me of those carefree days at my grandparents' place. The variety was stunning: bearded dragons, western plated lizards, leopard geckos, water dragons, and basilisks, each with their own unique allure. Holding a bearded dragon was a thrill. Popularised as pets on TikTok, their skin was rougher than I anticipated, adorned with pointy spikes that added an exotic texture. I let the lizard cling to my shirt with its sharp claws, a natural climber making use of what it could grasp.

IMG_3523.jpeg

Next was the leopard gecko, smaller and easier to handle with its smoother skin. It climbed up to my neck, perhaps enjoying the view or just feeling secure close to warmth and heartbeat, making for a humorous and endearing moment.

IMG_0701.jpeg

IMG_0696.jpeg

Each lizard had its own character, and the café visit sparked a curiosity in me about which creature might suit me best as a pet. I left Fangs by DEKORI Premium Café with plans to return, eager to explore more and perhaps make a new reptilian friend to bring home. For anyone in Malaysia or visiting, who finds the unusual as enchanting as I do, this place is a must-visit. The experience bridges the gap between the wild and the familiar, turning curiosity into affection.

IMG_3532.jpeg

IMG_3535.jpeg

IMG_3534.jpeg

IMG_3538.jpeg

IMG_3536.jpeg


Hey HIVE community!

Aaron✌🏻 here, proud member of Team Malaysia, straight from the heart of the magical Borneo Island. Now, I'm calling the vibrant concrete skyscraper cityscape of Kuala Lumpur home.

Hope you enjoyed reading on my little adventure as much as I enjoyed experiencing it! If you liked my writing, feel free to give it an upvote or reblog it with your community. Got any questions or want to know more? Just drop them in the comments below - I’d love to hear from you! Thanks so much for stopping by, and I truly appreciate all your support.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 13 days ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 13 days ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

I think the place was amazing.

Yeah, a place that allow curiosity to seek and explore more exotic animals.

Good thing you have interest in it.