Culling Poultry: My Homemade Chicken Caldereta

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 months ago (edited)

1000030124.jpg

Hi there ASEAN food enthusiasts! I hope you are doing well right now as I share with you my simple way of cooking chicken caldereta.

It was a holiday here in the Philippines last Tuesday, April 09. A day to commemorate the bravery of the Filipino and American soldiers in the battle of Bataan. Aside from that, it was a special day for my wife, it's her birthday. We were not able to celebrate it with lots of food and a cake because we wanted to save money to maintain the existence of our small business.

Culling and Scalding

I culled and scalded five chickens from our poultry farm with the help of our neighbor's kids. They volunteered to help so that they could eat with us for the dinner. They had plenty of time to remove the feathers from its follicles through picking. After doing it, we eviscerated the chickens. I chopped the meat into cuts while my wife prepared the cooking pot and the open fire.

1000030093.jpg

1000030091.jpg

1000030094.jpg

1000030095.jpg

Chopping and cutting the chicken meat after its evisceration.

Simmering the Tough Meat

I washed the meat after chopping to ensure its cleanliness before cooking. I was not wearing an apron and hairnet while doing these processes because we're not used to it while cooking at home. I only wear them if I'm preparing commercial foods and at school. I put the meat into a simmer to tenderize its toughness. It's been two years since these chickens arrived at our farm, so it has tough meat that would take several hours to achieve tenderness.

1000030108.jpg

Maintained a medium heat of the open fire.

1000030097.jpg

Pouring an estimated 2 pitchers of water for its soup.

(

Waiting For Its Tenderness

I asked one of the neighbor kids, Kentoy, to buy the other ingredients. My wife listed carrots, potatoes, green peas, capsicum or bell pepper, tomato paste, hunts pork and beans, onion, garlic, and monosodium glutamate. Kentoy went to the nearest store in our Barangay. As he came back, he prepared the ingredients that needed to be proportionally cut. I monitored the tenderness of the meat while the other kid, Vincent maintained the heat of the open fire.

Sharing of Thoughts and the Making of a Barbecue Sauce

While waiting for the tenderness of the meat, I helped make a special barbecue sauce for my in-law's business. I was supposed to give instructions because I was not wearing any hygienic clothing. But it would be better if I demonstrated the process for them to easily remember. I sautèed the spices in a small amount of oil. I poured a pouch of vinegar and added 2 glasses of water. When it simmered I added a cup of brown sugar and a cup of banana catsup. Lastly, I poured the dissolved starch. And then it's done and ready for their barbecue business.

20240409_145105.jpg

We also had a short conversation about how to boost their barbecue business. We agreed that aside from the sauce, the meat should be marinated well. People would surely love and patronize their product. Good customer service would also be a factor in providing good service. A good and pleasing personality is also an edge in assisting the needs of the buyer.

The kids shared their experience at one of the tourist attractions in the town, the Banyan Cold Spring. They went there in the morning and took a short dip in the cold spring. They were amazed at the number of tourists who entered the spring. Maybe it's just normal in this summer season to see a lot of people going to different beaches and resorts and one of them is our very own cold spring. We also talked about their studies and how they managed to pass all their subjects. I advised them to study well to achieve their dreams in life.

Flavoring and Seasoning

After 4 hours of waiting for the meat's tenderness, I sautèed the spices in a separate pan and added the carrots and potato cuts. After a few minutes, I poured and mixed it into the cooking pot where I simmered the meat. I added the paste and seasoned it with MSG and salt to taste. The remaining ingredients were added and after a minute it was completely done. We removed it from the open fire and we prepared for the cooking of the corn grits.

Cooking of Corn Grits

We put water in a cooking pot which was estimated enough to cook the corn grits. We waited minutes for the water to boil. The kids grab a handload of firewood and put it on the open fire. When it was boiling, my mother-in-law poured the corn grits into it. She stirred it well until the grits absorbed the water. We let it stay for 10 minutes in low heat. When it was done, Kentoy removed it from the burner and prepared themselves before partaking in the food.

1000030110.jpg

1000030109.jpg

Dinner Time

At 6 p.m., we had our dinner. We gathered at my in-law's house as we celebrated my wife's birthday. It is our way of nurturing our fellowship together as a family. My daughter doesn't want to eat corn grits, but when she tasted the chicken caldereta, she filled her small tummy with the grits. They commended the tenderness of the meat. Especially those who have an average number of remaining teeth. They were able to savor the delicious taste of the chicken caldereta.

Cherishing Moments

Happiness is not just about grand celebrations. It's about the contentment of everything we have. Sharing the blessings with the people we love. Valuing their presence and making moments that we would cherish for the rest of our lives.

We had a simple thanksgiving for the goodness of God. We celebrated the life He has given to us. I hope you enjoyed reading about this new important event of our journey here on earth.


Thank you for your time. ❤️❤️❤️


🫶🫶🫶cup-bearer🫶🫶🫶

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Wow! Well, I sometimes try to help my wife while cooking at home. I try to help especially when watering the vegetables in the garden. Today's recipe looks really delicious to me, looks very tempting, but I'm quite greedy when it comes to food, ha ha ha.

Oh! It feels fulfilling when we help our wife doing the house work. It will also nurture our relationship with them. When it comes to food, she wants me to do the cooking especially for occasions. Thank you for your buddy-buddy comment. 😊

Congratulations @cup-bearer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD
You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you, @hivebuzz for rewarding me with new badges. See you at my next achievement. 😅🫶

Two badges in a row, that's awesome @cup-bearer! 🎉

 2 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Thank you @asean.hive for allowing my content to be published in your community. It is a pleasure to engage with its members and to learn more by reading other blogs. 😊

Naglaway ko sa chicken caldereta! Panghatag mo dinha, sir! hehe.

Puhon @itravelrox suroy nya diris Tabogon. 🫶

Og mauli ko Cebu puhon, sir! :D

You had a full day preparing the chickens for a meal with your family. I have never done that, but I know many know how to. It is wonderful that the entire family participates in the preparation. Happy Birthday to your wife.

Thank you so much. We need to prepare it for a longer time due to the toughness of the meat. The chickens were laying eggs for two years. It's a nice feeling to share the blessings with all the family members. 😊

Wow it looks so yummy sir @cup-bearer my father always cook that one po and it taste so good and for sure your chicken caldereta is very delicious in the picture and how much more in the personal😊

Thank you, @memwuai for the commendable words on my blog. I'm pretty sure you missed the cooking of your dad. 😊

The foods look so good and delicious, thank you for sharing that with us here in Hive @cup-bearer 🫶🏻

I'm glad to have your kind words on my blog. It somehow resembles the palatability of this chicken caldereta. 😅 Enjoy your day and take care! 🫶

Home raised chickens taste magical.I knew it

Thank you for your genial comment @inshalicious. Indeed, you are right. That is why it is good to have it in our yard.

Yummy!!!😋 I miss eating caldereta

Thank you, @queeniemary for dropping by. I guess it's time for you to cook and enjoy eating chicken caldereta. 😊

Looks delicious sir, You and your wife cook so well po.

Thank you, @mariejeijeim for taking time to read. I was not in good condition at that time due to work stress. But I was able to prepare it for my wife's day. 😊

Your family celebration with homemade chicken caldereta sounds heartwarming sir @cup-bearer ! I can almost taste the savory dish from your description🤤🤤. I also love eating caldereta!

Thank you, @keith-allen15. It was indeed a memorable one. Presence is the most wonderful present in every occasion. You make your chicken caldereta now and serve it to your loved ones. 😊🫶

Makagutom mani oy hehe

😅 Let's cook for it sometime. 🫶