๐Ÿ“š Monkey-B's Khmer Literacy Is Improving ๐Ÿ”– & The @KidSisters Gear Up For Their Hive Re-Introductions ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐ŸŽจ

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY โ€ข 2 years ago

MONKEYREAD.png

Monkey-B is having a major breakthrough with her Khmer literacy, now able to read a bit and attempt to pronounce new words.

Monkey-B Is Feeling Better ๐Ÿคธโ€โ™€๏ธ

fre.png

ย  ย  ย Yesterday Monkey-B was not feeling well, but today she is back to normal and back to sweeping the house and helping with some household chores. Being sick here is no joke, we're in a remote village with the nearest primitive medical care almost an hour away. I used to have a Wilderness E.M.T. certification back in my wilderness guiding days and can manage most medical situations, so I would rather attempt an emergency border crossing to Thailand or a three-hour drive to the provincial capital if something serious happened.

Srey-Yuu Getting Ready ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐ŸŽจ

srey.png

ย  ย  ย Srey-Yuu is getting content ready for her new solo @srey-yuu blog, and she's also been working on a new #introduceyourself post for this new profile. She seems excited about this new Hive adventure, so I hope she stays motivated and continues to post and be active as I step back and begin to focus on teaching Monkey-B Hive and computer skills.

Cursive Handwriting Woes โœ๏ธ

readeng.png

ย  ย  ย I still do some rather informal homeschooling, and one of the things I've been working with Monkey-B on is a 3rd Grade workbook. Cursive handwriting has been a big part of it, and although it's frustrating, she's beginning to write and read cursive quite well.

Pov's Phone Repair ๐Ÿ“ฑ

phone.png

ย  ย  ย My wife noticed her screen protector was cracked, so she decided to install a spare she had previously purchased. It went well minus the three air bubbles that got trapped between the surfaces, but still functional ๐Ÿ˜ฉ.

Hive Intro Papers โœ๏ธ

trace.png

ย  ย  ย Srey-Yuu has mostly finished her Hive username paper that she'll hold for her new profile selfie. She helped little sister get started on her own paper, and now Monkey-B is asking for screen time to write her own intro post. I'd like to guide her as little as possible with her intro post because I'm curious how she'll re-introduce herself.

Mom Teacher ๐Ÿ“’

tress.png

ย  ย  ย My wife doesn't have the patience to do homeschooling, but I am illiterate in Khmer, I only speak it fluently and use a phonetic writing system to write things down when I need to. She's already more advanced with reading and writing than I am, so I can no longer help her, it's all up to big sister and mom now.

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
๐Ÿ™ GIVE THANKS ๐Ÿ™
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters
Sort: ย 

She's already more advanced with reading and writing than I am, so I can no longer help her, it's all up to big sister and mom now.

I think part of homeschooling is acknowledging when they are beyond what you can teach and letting someone else take over or even letting them take the initiative to continue learning themselves, whether online or from books.

Gosh these girls have grown so fast!

ย 2 years agoย ย 

She's got the books and the tools, plug big sister and mom are literate, so I just have to work on keeping them motivated to work with Monkey-B on her reading and writing, and I can help with everything else. Srey-Yuu is a young lady and Monkey-B has giraffe legs, and it all happened on Hive, crazy to imagine I've been here this long.

It doesn't seem like it was more than a year ago I started reading about your life in Cambodia yet you've had 3 years in Suriname and finally made it back again! So crazy to think it's really been this long!!

ย 2 years agoย ย 

When I do the math I am always in disbelief. Even though we weren't crazy about being stranded in Suriname during a world crisis, we spent so much time there that it became a home of sorts whether we liked it or not.

Those were formative years for the girls, and there's not a day that goes by where something to do with our time in Suriname is brought up in conversation. We have one friend there that is also a Hiver, now one of our best friends, and we're trying to get him to move here.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Congratulations to monkey B! Keep it up with your learning.

Air bubbles really suck when putting on a protector hehe.

Hope that you guys are having a wonderful weekend.

!PIZZA

ย 2 years agoย ย 

My wife laughs at me when I replace my screen protectors, I take it way too seriously with the prep and technique to avoid air bubbles ๐Ÿ˜. All is well, glad to see Monkey-B finally having her breakthrough with Khmer literacy. I can no longer help with that part of her education because I only speak Khmer fluently, can't read or write. Funny though, I know the names of the alphabet characters, their sounds, and can even spell words, just can't read Khmer characters. I used phonetic symbols when learning, very similar to the way Vietnamese is written, and that was how I taught myself Khmer and took notes on the street.

๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

ย 2 years agoย ย 

We act the same when putting screen protectors, gotta do it perfectly so it would look good.

Oh wow, at least you a fluent with Khmer, maybe if you try to study with her, you'll be able to start reading and writing also if you're not to busy hehe.

Anyway, Hope that you week is going well. Take care always!

!PIZZA

ย 2 years agoย ย 

You're right, I wish had kept up with her studies so I could've learned a bit. She's already doing phonics and knows too many letters, no chance for me to catch up with her. She studies 4 hours a day and I have hardly any freetime ๐Ÿ˜‰.

Hope you are enjoying your work. Your new job has landed you in the Middle East somewhere, correct? Your posts look like Qatar, UAE, Bahrain, Saudi area. If you're in that part of the world you are sure to find lots of friends from your country, perhaps even a fellow Hiver ๐Ÿ˜.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Oh okay, but at least you know a bit so that's already an advantage. Oh wow! I'm glad that she is that dedicated to studying. Must be really difficult to be the breadwinner of the family also.

Thanks! Right now, I'm just having a positive attitude towards everything. Oh yeah, currently I'm in Dubai. There are actually a lot of Filipinos in this country, and the nice thing is, that I've been meeting different cultures also. I hope that I'd meet a fellow Hiver here.

Hope that everything is well!

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Dubai, wow, I've only ever passed through the airport there. I look forward to seeing some adventures from over there when you have a little freetime. Surely you must sit on a camel at some point ๐Ÿช๐Ÿคณwhile you're there.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

I hope that you'll be able to visit this place one day. I sure will post in the future,

hahahaha, I wonder when will I be able to sit on the Camel. But I'll sure tag you when I do ride one hehehe. Keep safe always and have a great weekend!

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Each of your family always has good activities. It looks great to me.
Monkey-B is sick, but she should get better soon.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

We try our best to stay entertained with educational things, but some goofy fun is welcome too. Monkey-B is all better now and working on her intro post, thanks.

Excited to read srey-yuu's hive intro and to her future blogs using her solo account.

Oh sorry to hear that Monkey-B was not feeling well on the past days that maybe the reason she looks sad on the 2nd photo.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Monkey-B is a naturally hot inside person, so when she gets a fever she's like a human oven. Luckily her fevers are usually over quickly too, and after a night of rest she was 100% again.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Glad everything went well. I'm now scratching my head pretty hard as the boy at 4 Grade and still can't read and write properly in the Chinese school.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Hmmm....did he start at a young age with Chinese reading/writing? I can imagine it's very difficult because it's not phonetic like Khmer. A Khmer student can learn another language without learning how to read or write it, simply using Khmer letters to approximate the sounds.

I once taught a Korean student who wanted to learn how to speak more English, but didn't care about reading and writing. He wrote everything in Korean characters, and I didn't know until then that Korean was a phonetic system. I can't even how a Chinese person could learn another language without learning their alphabet first ๐Ÿค”. Is learning pinyin common there in the Chinese schools?

I'm sure little man will get it, after all, you Malaysians tend to be gifted with languages. I know you speak English/Mandarin in the home, right? Do you also speak Malay in your home with each other?

ย 2 years agoย ย 

The challenge being, the mother is not Chinese literate. And when we talk about mother tongue, it literally follows the mother. Therefore, I'm having trouble to even trying to communicate with him. I can speak to him in Chinese, but he will reply me in English.

Pinyin can only do a small portion in helping the pronunciation. You can't put a row of Pinyin on a paper and ask another person to read the Pinyin and understand what it said.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

Oh man, sounds like a similar situation in my house, except you are dealing with many more languages. Your wife is a Malay/English speaker right? Well, even though I am a stepdad and didn't even speak English to my stepdaughters for the first two years, they now prefer to speak English with each other when alone, and even when I speak Khmer to them, they often answer in English. When they have some serious emotional things to work through, English is the only language they will use.

ย 2 years agoย ย 

I'm not commenting at length this time,,, I just want to ask something that I don't have the Asian community logo yet... that's all...

ย 2 years agoย ย 

I didn't realize you still don't have one, I recently posted with an opportunity for VIPs to claim a banner in the comments section. No problem though, the markdown code is easiest to copy, already complete with hyperlink to your blog. one sec.....

<center>[![](https://files.peakd.com/file/peakd-hive/asean.hive/23wCJWPYrPFNqETP9Msu7cQTWy8QU3umhHGVxePAaQKXYV1nKNX2WEFoWLLTxbL95D35h.png)](https://peakd.com/@alvonsohiver/posts)</center>

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@sgbonus(2/5) tipped @justinparke (x2)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!