Monomad: Visit to the Sahaf

in Black And White3 months ago (edited)

ISO:8000, exp:1/160, f/2.8

For today's #monomad contest

Yesterday afternoon, I went to the second-hand bookstore in my neighborhood with a list of books to buy. First of all, I would like to show you two mural artworks that I like very much and see very often on my way (in the parking lot at the junction of Reşitefendi Street and Talimhane Street in Kadıköy, Istanbul).

ISO:1000, exp:1/160, f/2.8

I really like this mural called UFO Attack and its rough line style. Artwork is in black and white, which I think looks nice in a black and white photo. The dystopian apocalyptic mural was named one of the 20 best murals in the world in 2014. It made by M-City. If you want to take a look at other works of the Polish artist and get more information, you can click on the instagram link: https://www.instagram.com/m_city_mariusz_waras/

ISO:1000, exp:1/160, f/2.8

The name of this mural artwork on the west facade of the apartment building in the same area is Crossroad. A bit realistic and a bit cubist in style, this work is the product of a 2-person collobration: Michal Sepe and Daniel Chazme
https://www.instagram.com/s_e_p_e_
https://www.instagram.com/chazme718

At the door of Yolda Sahaf, which I had visited a few times before, I was greeted by a decoration of books - which I guessed were from the Christmas season - and Santa Claus.

ISO:8000, exp:1/160, f/2.8

ISO:1600, exp:1/160, f/2.8

I bought seven books in total. The most important one for me was Truman Capote's book, which is no longer available in Turkish :) I think it is surprising that a book like Summer Crossing is not published again in Turkish. So I am a bit lucky. The seven books I listed below cost me three and a half dollars

Girlfriend in a Coma - Douglas Coupland
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest - Ken Kesey
Summer Crossing - Truman Capote
The Body - Hanif Kureishi
Pigs and Elephants - Helmur Krauser
Familiarity Is the Kingdom of the Lost - Dugmore Boetie
Equations of Life - Simon Morden

I took all the photos with Sony A7SIII and Samyang 24mm f/2.8 lens and edited them in Adobe Lightroom.
I hope you enjoy it.
With love

Sort:  

Sahaf ziyaretleri çok sürprizli oluyor, baktığınız yerde birçok hazineye rastlayabiliyorsunuz. O yüzden arada gidip dolaşırım. Aldığınız kitaplardan bende sadece Guguk Kuşu var ama henüz okumadım. İyi okumalar size.
Bu arada duvar resimleri çok güzelmiş, özellikle UFO temalı olan. :)

nazik yorumun için teşekkürler. ben de henüz okumadım guguk kuşu'nu lakin 1975 yapımı uyarlama filmine bayılırım.

That UFO mural is really cool!!

yeah, i think it's awesome too :) there are about 15 big mural artworks of this size in my neighborhood. yesterday while i was taking this photo it occurred to me, i should photograph all the mural art in the neighborhood soon and write a nice post :)

You definitely should! :D

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

thank you, I'm glad you like it