Exploring Square Format

in Black And Whitelast year

This is my submission for the #monomad challenge

Every few months I like to return through my catalog of recent images and look for scenes and files that would not only suite a B+W image, but a square image. 1:1 ratio introduces different considerations from other formats. Its symmetrical, so it relies on different elements to make a successful image.

These are a collection of recent shots that I felt work as 1:1 frames, cropped from their full 2:3 frames.

221105_23-01-01_DSCF2224.jpg

221105_23-01-01_DSCF2334.jpg

221126_22-11-29_DSCF0184.jpg

221105_23-01-01_DSCF2218.jpg

221126_22-11-29_DSCF0131.jpg


image.png

HIVE BANNER.png

Want to see more of my work or support me?
Follow me on HIVE or checkout my work at these links below

Website: wwww.dyptrephotography.ca
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dyptre/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dyptre


All images are owned and created by Dyptre www.dyptrephotography.ca

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @dyptre! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 41000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 42000 upvotes.
You got more than 400 replies.
Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - February 15, 2023
Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Interesting format, to tell the truth I always considered the best format to be 10x15 (2:3) but 1:1 doesn't seem bad either.
Honestly, though, this type of format is very reminiscent of Polaroid snapshots....

I can see it being reminiscent, ironically though, I think 6x6 film was around well before polaroid technology.
Personally the 1:1 and 4:5 ratio are my two favorites. 2:3 can be great for a lot of things too. Just a more panoramic look than these others I guess

Absolutely, 2:3 is especially good for panoramas, all the photos we can categorize as postcards. I see the 1:1 format as very suitable for portraits or macros.
Of course, that's my idea!
However, even if you shot landscapes, the 1:1 ratio gives a lot, probably due to the fact that the mountain "soars" the photo.
Good job!

This picture are outstanding.

Thank you :)

Oh waw, that's a very beautiful picture, the soft snow is clearly visible and cool

I like this form of photos in really practical cases.

So much unspoiled snow... so pretty! :D