My First Roll with my new Bronica SQA | Shot on Trix400 w/Zenzanon 80mm f2.8

in Black And White2 years ago

INTRO - Welcome Back

PS: Skip down if you just want to see the photos

Well, it's been a busy few months. I've had to step away from most of my social media interactions to deal with real life. But, excitingly I finally get to share some images from the new camera I hinted at...checks post history... NEARLY 4 MONTHS AGO!

Back in April of 2022 I posted this article I Just Bought A New Camera - Welcome to the Bronica SQA about the new film camera I had bought.

To refresh your memory, this is a camera I'd been eyeing for over 2 years thanks to a photographer who goes by AOWS. He used this camera exclusively for a few years to help him master the art of black and white. Inspired, I wanted to do the same.

After shipping the camera in from Japan I cleaned and tested the camera. Bought a battery, picked up some film, and planned my first shoot.

The First Roll Of Film

It was a late winter locally so I decided I'd try to photograph a local marshland area partially covered in snow. I decided to buy a fancy roll of Ektar100, a beautiful film emulsion known for its rich colors and great use with landscapes. After hiking around the area and finding a scene I liked I loaded the camera and proceeded to...fail. I loaded the film wrong!

UGH!!!

After attempting a field fix I gave up and lost the roll. Almost $30 down the drain. I went home defeated and determined to understand what went wrong. It turns out, a small pin connecting the film back was bent, thus the camera didn't know it had a backing on and would not shoot. After some tinkering I figured that out, fixed it, and loaded my second roll.

The ACTUAL First Roll

The second roll was a cheaper roll of Kodak TriX400 I had acquired. I've come to quite enjoy B+W and TriX400 has been a great all around film for exploring that medium. Loaded with a new roll I headed off to the mountains to shoot. And the results were wonderful.

22-07-24_Social Media 22.jpg

This camera shoots like a dream. Sometimes referred to as the budget Hasselblad the body of this camera is beyond enjoyable. Solidly built, a loud clunk whenever you fire the shutter. The viewfinder renders scenes in almost 3D when looking through it. Its truly fantastic.

22-07-24_Social Media 23.jpg

I'd also like to note the wonderful grain texture of the Kodak TriX400, specifically noticeable in the less detailed areas of the images like water or clouds... its part of what I think makes film so organic and enjoyable.

22-07-24_Social Media 21.jpg

Without raving too much about the actual camera, I must say I am absolutely thrilled to be able to shoot this piece of history, and I am also very thrilled with how well it shoots and feels. I couldn't be happier with my purchase at the moment.

22-07-24_Social Media 20.jpg

22-07-24_Social Media 18.jpg

22-07-24_Social Media 17.jpg

22-07-24_Social Media 16.jpg

Did you have a favorite photo here? Personally I am still trying to decide which are my favorites. I'm struggling to decide between this last image, and the 2nd image I shared in this post... let me know in the comments if you have a favorite and more importantly why!

This is my submission for the #monomad challenge


image.png

HIVE BANNER.png

Want to see more of my work or support me?
Follow me on HIVE or checkout my work at these links below

Website: wwww.dyptrephotography.ca
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dyptre/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dyptre


All images are owned and created by Dyptre www.dyptrephotography.ca

Sort:  

Congratulations @dyptre! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks @brumest
I appreciate the support and am glad you enjoyed the post.

Great stuff as per usual.
And it's good to see you back posting too.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

I would love to join the community. Thanks for the invite Victor! I'll see you there.

The 500CM would be a dream camera to try out! Maybe someday I'll be fortunate enough to try it. But for now, I will have my Bronica which I am most happy with

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment